We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay, a few improvements possible”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Trinco Blu by Cinnamon
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Trincomalee
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 August 2014

The Chaaya Blu has a lot going for it, namely:
+outstanding location on the very nice Uppuveli beach – quiet, perfect sand, perfect ocean temperature…
+Very professionally organized / managed
+Vast, impressive buffet choice (we were on half board). Kudos in particular to the baker, delicious choice of breads and pastries!
+Large pool, impeccably tended, perfect temperature
+Nice, vast garden area with many areas of (tree)shade, making that you can maintain some sense of privacy even in a busy hotel
+They’re trying hard (but not too hard) to create atmosphere and propose activities (BBQ, beach volley, yoga…)
Contrary to some other comments, in our experienced the crows were no more than a slight sound nuisance and the few stray dogs on the beach didn’t bother guests at all.

Still, a couple of improvements are possible. We stayed for 4 nights and, although the buffet looks great, we quickly experienced some buffet fatigue – it wasn’t as tasty as it looked like. The shops with daily “food specials” were sometimes a hit (children adored the breakfast waffles) but more often a miss. All in all food seemed not much more than “fair” in spite of all the choice offered.

Also (and knowing that this is very subjective) we felt the hotel was overall lacking some atmosphere. It is hard to put a finger on it, it may just be the chemistry between guests at the time of our stay. Staff was generally quite/very professional but felt a touch less friendly than the average of our trip around SL. The tone was maybe given by the bag boy who very loudly huffed and puffed when handling our luggage to signal his tip expectations (which of course had the opposite effect on my generosity). In fairness the remainder of our trip was mainly in boutique hotels were it was easier to have an impression of “personalized service” than in the largeish (but not too large) Chaaya Blu.

A more concrete suggestion: the bar area felt a little small / cramped / not very comfortable; maybe they could revisit it into a place where people would hang around before and after meals, creating that missing touch of atmosphere?

On a side note, one of my children had a strange experience of finding signs of someone's presence in his bedroom. He was scared and left the room; we assume the stranger was intent on stealing but eventually the few valuable items were moved but not stolen. This happened on our last day; we informed the reception desk on our departure and they seemed to take matters seriously. The lesson is probably a straightforward one - it is very advisable to put all your valuables in the room safes at all times; especially at the Chaaya, as the hotel is easy to access through the public beach.

Room Tip: Would definitely recommend the the ground floor rooms in the beach bungalows. Upper floor bungalow o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Olivier S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lankesha, Manager at Trinco Blu by Cinnamon, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2014

We are grateful and honored for your taking time to share your experience in detail during your stay at Chaaya Blu.

We are happy that we have been able to meet your expectations.

Your pointers in improvement areas are noted and we will work on it in order to better ourselves and provide our cherished customers memories worth repeating.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,384)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

652 - 658 of 1,384 reviews

Reviewed 21 August 2014

We stayed at this hotel for three nights on our tour of Sri Lanka and couldn't fault anything. The room was lovely, the sea view even better. All of the staff were so friendly, the boy that handled our luggage, Riva I think his name, the housekeepers, in fact we didn't come across any one that wasn't lovely to us.My husband went scuba diving with the dive shop at the hotel and enjoyed it very much and couldnt speak highly enough of Mike and the staff there.

We ate lunch most days at the Crab restaurant, great food, great service and great staff, it just needs to be a bit bigger as so many people wanted tables but there was often quite a long wait. We also had a wonderful seafood barbecue on the beach (they lit a small bonfire just for us and the other couple that were also eating there) so much food that we couldn't eat it all. We had a buffet at the restaurant and the breakfast buffet, great choices and again the staff were very friendly.
Would definately recommend this hotel and hope one day to go back.

Room Tip: Sea front chalets
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Sheila1147
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lankesha, Manager at Trinco Blu by Cinnamon, responded to this reviewResponded 24 August 2014

Thank you for your encouraging comments on your recent visit to Chaaya Blu.
We are grateful to your for sharing your experience.
Our vision is to ensure that we satisfy all our customers and are happy to have met your expectations.
We hope you tried out our signature dish at the Crab the "Jaffna Crab Curry"
Your comments on pricing will be considered.
Hope to see you during the next season.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2014

The service was awesome, the rooms were beautiful, the breakfast was really good, the view was gorgeous, the pool was clean and refreshing, the sea was amazing. Breakfast was included or we wouldnt have purchased food because it was quite spendy! It was very romantic, with a sea view/patio. I have nothing but compliments for this place! The only "heads up" was this was very expensive compared to other places we visited in this amazing country but we had been staying in hostels and really wanted to be fancy for a couple days :) ! Trincomalee was a really great town to visit and find some meals!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank surfingduck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lankesha, Manager at Trinco Blu by Cinnamon, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2014

Thank you for sharing your experiences of your stay at Chaaya Blu during your last visit.
We are happy we were able to meet your expectations.
You visited us during the busiest period at which time the prices are the highest.
May I recommend you repeat your visit between March and May when we have good offers as well as Whales are out in their numbers.
Hoping to see you next year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2014

we found this hotel on line and we booked for 2 two nights....maybe too less! fantastic stay, fantastic staff and fantastic bar and restaurant. beach in front of the room. very very beautiful! we had a couple of meals there and the food is quality as well.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank stefano m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lankesha, Manager at Trinco Blu by Cinnamon, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2014

Thank you for the encouragement and sharing your experiences during your stay at Chaaya Blu.
Especially being the busiest period we are committed to ensure all our guests are attended to and satisfied.
We hope you will come back for an extended stay on your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2014

A wonderful hotel for a relaxing beach stay. Beach chalets (ground floor) are perfect - 2 person day bed on the verandah and you can step straight out onto the beach - sea views are beautiful. Beach chalet rooms are large, comfortable and well equipped - quirky decor but grew to like it. Wifi excellent.
Restaurant meals were very good with one of the best buffets of the trip. Service generally excellent although at times the restaurant seemed a little short staffed (our expectations of restaurant service were really high by this stage of the trip). Pool area, lobby and bar all well kept with excellent service.

Room Tip: Ground floor beach chalets worth the extra. Maybe specify quiet end or near the pool/crab restaurant...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Robert H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lankesha, Manager at Trinco Blu by Cinnamon, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2014

Thank you for choosing to stay at Chaaya Blu. We are delighted that we have been able to meet your expectations.
Development of speed in service will be further emphasized in our training. We are continuously training staff to ensure that we meet expectations.
We hope to see you back on your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2014

Awesome location, awesome food, awesome staff, awesome experience!!
A special thanks to Kenneth and Philip Sampath (chef) for their warm, friendly hospitality and that extra touch of finesse that helped make our holiday a memorable one.

Room Tip: a room with a view of the beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Warren S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lankesha, Manager at Trinco Blu by Cinnamon, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2014

Thank you for your kind comments and sharing your experience during your recent stay at Chaaya Blu.
We are happy the we were able to meet your expectations.
Thank you for sharing some great photos.
Hope to see you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2014

The staff goes out of their way to 'Delight'! Trincomalee is amazing and this Hotel ensures that the Stay is also worthwhile. The location is perfect and there are Water Biking, Dolphin / Whale watching opportunities nearby. Snorkelling & Scuba Diving arranged by Hotel and other Operators at a small distance from the Hotel

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RiSh38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lankesha, Manager at Trinco Blu by Cinnamon, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2014

Thank you for sharing your experience during your stay with us.
We are happy that we were able to meet your expectations.
Your recommendation of our signature dish is encouraging.
May We recommend that you revisit Trincomalee in March so you would have the experience of seeing the Blu & Sperm whales just off the shoes of the hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Trincomalee
0.1 mi away
Amaranthe Bay Resort
Amaranthe Bay Resort
#1 of 11 in Trincomalee
394 reviews
6.5 mi away
Anilana Nilaveli
Anilana Nilaveli
#2 of 6 in Nilaveli
476 reviews
7.5 mi away
Nilaveli Beach Resort
Nilaveli Beach Resort
#1 of 6 in Nilaveli
182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7 mi away
Pigeon Island Beach Resort
3.8 mi away
Blue Ocean Hotel
Blue Ocean Hotel
#5 of 11 in Trincomalee
9 reviews
8.5 mi away
C Beyond
C Beyond
#4 of 6 in Nilaveli
22 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Trinco Blu by Cinnamon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Trinco Blu by Cinnamon

Address: Sampative Post, Upuvali, Trincomalee 31000, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Eastern Province > Trincomalee
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Trincomalee
Price Range: £42 - £153 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Trinco Blu by Cinnamon 4*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Once a 70s resort, Trinco Blu by Cinnamon was transformed to a retro-chic design decorated with bleached wooden decks, cut cement floors, rattan furniture and denim trimmings with a splash of orange to contrast the Blue and White hues. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Holiday Gems, Expedia, LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Trinco Blu by Cinnamon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chaaya Blu Trincomalee Hotel Trincomalee

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing