We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Suggest you walk 200 yards o the beach”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Pigeon Island View Beach Guest House
Ranked #63 of 93 Trincomalee B&B and Inns
Reviewed 4 September 2013

We stayed here two nights. We originally planned to stay for four but checked out early, we were that unimpressed. The hotel is completely chaotic and in spite of having myriad staff, everything takes an eternity. Food is cheap but pretty uninspiring. The rooms were clean but without views and not worth the 5000 we paid for a double with a/c. We walked up the beach to white sands hotel and for the same price checked into a room with as view veranda and a/c. Wish we'd looked at the reviews before we checked in here! Don't make the same mistake we did.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Stephen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (57)
There are newer reviews for Pigeon Island View Beach Guest House
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

23 - 29 of 57 reviews

Reviewed 22 August 2013

Bad quality accommodation for its cost (nearly 30 USD for a low standard srilankan guesthouse it's crazy!). But worst thing is the complete lack of hospitality and friendliness of the so called manager and owner. He really knows how to make you feel an enemy in its own place. Made us wonder why he has a guesthouse for a living.
Moreover, despite reservation, our room was not available on the day we arrived. We've put in a dirty little room in a private house for a night and later the Pigeon View Guesthouse owner also tried to make us pay that nightmare night full price.
Would never reccomend it.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sofia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2013 via mobile

I would rather say this is a refugee camp. we arrived on a rainy day and the situation was depressing. of the 2 AC rooms we requested there was only 1, all guests packed in a small porch outside to cover up from the rain, the kitchen produced smells all over. the staff is quite rude and doesnt speak good english. I would never suggest you spend anytime here

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank clauz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2013

If your alternative is sleeping under the stars this could be an option..
Staff does not speak any English, the food is not great (if it comes at all), you don't feel welcome but rather in the way and don't open the windows facing the dump next door.
I would explore all other options before choosing this guest house

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HenrikGamborg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2013

We are an Indian family of three & visited / stayed for 2 nights (18th & 19th of this month). The rate published on the website is about USD $ 50 for a/c triple occupancy ($40 for an a/c double). Room only. Actually works out to about Rs.5,000 or 5,500 LKR if booked directly. Travel agents could hike that up & charge higher, so may be worthwhile to pay the slightly higher USD $ rate & book through the website / payment gateway. We were in touch with Poseidon Dive Center which is located on the property through the divesrilanka website & they offered us accom options in the vicinity at different price levels. We choose to stay at this guest house since it would be convenient for diving, snorkelling & had direct access to the secluded beach. Rooms are basic but clean & neat. Some level of completion required (doors need painting, beds are under 6 ft long, unpolished etc). Food was local fare. Being Indians, most of this - food, accom standards etc were not alien to us. A fair / working knowledge of Tamil the local language was also very useful. Food choice though limited to local fare was always made to order & none of the meats were frozen, all fresh. The owner - a very kind, friendly & helpful gentleman was most helpful & always attentive to our needs. Our requirement of a clean, comfortable, safe & conveniently located place to stay was certainly met on all accounts.
For guests who are not from the Indian sub-continent, the language, food & isolated location could be somewhat intimidating. If particular about food or other requirements, may be useful to check if they can provide or carry your own. Bottled water, aerated drinks, Beer & short eats (fresh) are available / possible or the resident trishaw guy could be sent out to pick up specific items from the market. Nilaveli is about 9 kms out of Trincomalee, so don't expect a lot of conveniences near the guest house. The diving at Pigeon island is great & this guest house will meet the need for basic accommodation. Other properties in the vicinity may offer better facilities, luxurious standards, water sports activities etc but cost upwards of US $ 150. So we had no complaints. We wanted an affordable activity (SCUBA etc) based holiday & got it.
Poseidon is the oldest dive school in Sri Lanka since 1973.

Room Tip: You can ask to see all the available rooms & pick what you like out of them, when checking in...
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Capt_H_Reddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2013

This hotel is very basic, with no loo paper and one towel to share (maybe you'd get if you asked but we were there for only one night and came equipped!). Dinner was good (breakfast only very average, toast and lumo jam) although we misunderstood the price.

Garden needs a lot of work, and the "restaurant" area is just two tables. We had to sit inside because the staff were on the outside table, which wasn't great.

Staff are okay, altho we had a nasty fight when we left because the owner was not there and had not told them the rate he'd offered us, and they tried to charge us for air con. English not great among staff.

Be warned - Nilaveli is VERY quiet - there's nothing to do near this hotel except sit on the balcony and drink a beer, alone. No bars, no other restaurants, nothing. It was a Sunday - there was nowhere even to buy lunch. Beach is nice but plenty of litter etc.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amanda T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2013

we arrived at 8pm with no booking. The main building was dark and empty. We were offered accomodation in an annex, but had to bargain hard to get a half decent price. They clearly did not want to let us have a room in the main building for some reason. Communcation was very hard, the rooms were clean but basic. we asked for dinner and it arrived, good rice and curry, but had to wait till 10pm. We had high hopes for Nilaveli, but the beach was grotty with rubbish everywhere including in the guest house grounds. The final insult was charging 2500rs for a room for the driver, who was not impressed with the place either. We left early the next day for Palm Beach guest house at Uppaveli, what an unbelieveable difference, stay there instead.

Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank kiwit0ny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Trincomalee
10.1 mi away
Anilana Nilaveli
Anilana Nilaveli
#2 of 5 in Nilaveli
462 reviews
10.0 mi away
Nilaveli Beach Hotel
Nilaveli Beach Hotel
#3 of 5 in Nilaveli
488 reviews
0.3 mi away
Blue Ocean Hotel
Blue Ocean Hotel
#7 of 10 in Trincomalee
7 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.5 mi away
Pigeon Island Beach Resort
3.6 mi away
Amaranthe Bay Resort
Amaranthe Bay Resort
#1 of 10 in Trincomalee
353 reviews
3.6 mi away
Trinco Blu by Cinnamon
Trinco Blu by Cinnamon
#2 of 10 in Trincomalee
1,326 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pigeon Island View Beach Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pigeon Island View Beach Guest House

Address: 9th Mile Post | Nilavali, Trincomalee 31000, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Eastern Province > Trincomalee
Hotel Style:
Ranked #63 of 93 B&Bs / Inns in Trincomalee
Price Range: £7 - £15 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and Cancelon so you can book your Pigeon Island View Beach Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing