We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent but need renovating”
Review of Sea View Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sea View Hotel
Ranked #8 of 10 Hotels in Trincomalee
Toulouse, France
Level Contributor
175 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
“Decent but need renovating”
Reviewed 5 April 2014

Ideally situated facing a wonderful beach and 100 meters from the boats and the ticket booth to Pigeon island. Dedicated staff, ready to do everything they can to please their customers. Excellent cook
and cheap prices. The room was a bit basic (noisy AC, wires hanging ...) but - as for the third floor rooms -a very
large terrace with sea viev and sunset! There would be plenty to say about the lack of a ... feminine touch: the dining
hall looks like the entrance hall to a railway station. It is a great shame that the garden is not better kept: bits of papers lying about, the lawn need
a little trimming and the garden tables should be ...
renovated so that the clients could enjoy having dinner outside.

Room Tip: It was very hot and the AC was noisy. We dragged the matress onto our ... 200 meter private open air...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Philippe31Toulouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    0
    4
    10
    8
    15
See reviews for
12
13
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Uccle, Belgium
Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2013

Spent 1 night (couple + 2 teenagers) in a family room in the separate building, during a 3-weeks tour of Sri Lanka.

This was not a nice experience. The room was not very clean and looked like a workshop or shed that had been hastily converted into a room. No A/C was available. There are apparently nicer rooms in the main building, but we did not get a chance to test them.

Service was very slow, and manager/owner was sitting doing nothing.

Beach was great.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VincentAndFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Trincomalee hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2013

Worst hotel of our 2 weeks stay in Sri Lanka.

When we arrived, we were shown to a room that looked like a prison cell (no windows), toilet hadn't been cleaned, no toilet roll. When we asked for a different room, we were told there were none available and it was our problem not theirs. They were later able to offer us a better room which was relatively clean (but basic) and was on the top floor - an improvement but we had a bit of a bad taste after the way reception staff spoke to us/our driver.

We did not fancy eating the breakfast so can not comment.

The beach location is great and for a budget hotel, the room is adequate however there are better hotels in the area which would offer friendlier, better service.

Tip - hotels in the trincomalee area get booked up so advice is to book up early!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ama86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
35 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2012

We stay at this hotel a couple of weeks back. The best thing about it is the location- its right on the beautiful Nilaveli Beach. The rooms are clean and ok. The bed sheets were washed and new but there were stains all over. My advice is to bring your own set of clean sheets. The towels too are not usable. The AC worked fine but it takes a lot of time to cool off the room. Always book an AC room, its only 1000 extra, you may think you wouldn't need AC with the cool breeze of the sea, but it gets really hot and salty. The bathroom was ok and manageable. All in all ok for one or two night's stay, with the low price you are paying you really can't expect much too. We payed 4250 LKR for a AC triple room which is pretty cheap compared to other star class hotels in the area.

Prices of food and beverage at the hotel is outrageous! Even tea or a soft drink costs thrice the normal price. So bring your own bottled water and drinks. If you go towards the main road and turn right,after about 2 Kms you'll find two small food outlets opposite one another. The food is very clean and cheap and mouth watering. A great variety too.

The hotel arranges a boat ride to Pigeon Island which costs 2000LKR for 7 people. You also have to pay an extra 850LKR for all 7 for tickets to enter the island. I think its about 10-15$ for foreigners. You also have to pay for snorkeling gear, which is about 300LKR per set. Again, you could take these boat rides if you drive further on the main road to the Pigeon Island Boat service managed by the forces. I think they give a better service for a cheaper price.

Room Tip: Get an AC room. Land side rooms are cheaper and you could walk to the corridor to have a 'sea vi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Weli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rome
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2012

Nice staff. Great location. Local presence as they come to swim. Paid 2250 for a single. Food good and reasonably priced. Recommended

  • Stayed February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank broucks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
148 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 242 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2011

If you have no choice ...
... what remains is the Sea View Hotel.
Years ago it was a nice hotel, the non-existent maintenance, and the saltiness that eats everything, made ​​the front a mask of horror. The rooms are clean, but they are narrow, poorly lighted and warm.
The common areas have ceiling fans and sticky tables.
Not prone to courtesy staff.
The rates are exaggerated. A tip ask a Sinhalese to call to reserve your room, you will be charged a different rate (Rs 4200.00) from that which you were quoted when you tried to contact them (Rs 5750.00)
For breakfast and dinner NOT stop at the hotel, just outside walking along the sea for a couple of minutes you will find an excellent and inexpensive restaurant.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank claudia t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubbo, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2011

This hotel is located next to an excellent location at Nilaveli beach which best beach I have ever seen. Beach is very clean, warm and calm water with gentle waves. Hotel is operating with minimum staff and offered excellent service. Rooms are of no frill types with only fans. Airconditioning is not necessary as the rooms are facing the beach with sea breeze. For slightly better rooms in nearby hotels, tourists pay 2 to 3 times more. Fresh seafood crab, fish & prawns served in this hotel are delicious. If hotel, employs more staff to maintain the rooms well, it will attract more tourists. Manager is commendable for his active service with minimum staff.

Room Tip: Talk to the manager direct
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank induram
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Trincomalee
3.6 mi away
Amaranthe Bay Resort
Amaranthe Bay Resort
#1 of 10 in Trincomalee
298 reviews
3.6 mi away
Trinco Blu by Cinnamon
Trinco Blu by Cinnamon
#2 of 10 in Trincomalee
1,243 reviews
0.4 mi away
Blue Ocean Hotel
Blue Ocean Hotel
#4 of 10 in Trincomalee
5 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Sea Lotus Park Hotel
Sea Lotus Park Hotel
#5 of 10 in Trincomalee
232 reviews
10.5 mi away
Pigeon Island Beach Resort
11.1 mi away
Nilaveli Beach Resort
Nilaveli Beach Resort
#1 of 5 in Nilaveli
150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sea View Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sea View Hotel

Property: Sea View Hotel
Address: 10th Mile Post | Nilaveli, Trincomalee 31000, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Eastern Province > Trincomalee
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 10 Hotels in Trincomalee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sea View Hotel is located at the beach resort of Nilaveli in Trincomalee, only 14 Km from the center of Town.For a relaxing holiday at a beach resort, visits to archaeological sites, Sea View Hotel is The Best Choice in Trincomalee.Relax in the beautiful blue water lagoon, take part in our featured activities or sip a cocktail at one of our many bars while you watch the sunset and take all the time you need to discover the magic of this Unique Island Resort.From the very first moment you arrive at Sea View Hotel you will experience the warmth and friendliness of our staff, along with the stunning location, will make your vacation one of the most memorable you will ever experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Sea View Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing