We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful place, deserves a visit!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Posada De Quirigua

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Quirigua
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Posada De Quirigua
Ranked #1 of 1 Quirigua B&B and Inns
Guatemala
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Beautiful place, deserves a visit!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 September 2013

Beautiful place, deserves a visit. It is a super quiet place whit Japanese touch, very clean, cosy and comfortable rooms. Masaky the owner is a very nice person, I recommend her food, all is very good and she is a great hostler. This place is near the Mayan ruins of Quirigua, Masaky arranges you one that a tuc tuc pick you up and carry you to the ruins and returns to the hotel with a low cost approx $3.00... on this trip is through the banana plantations. I've been several times in Quiriguá and this is the best place in this area.

Room Tip: All them are nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IFMA2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    10
    10
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
1
10
7
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
250 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2013

Can't rate it highly enough-great, comfortable room on a hill top located above the main town. Masaki, the owner is a wonderful hostess and a fabulous cook-she has created a lovely relaxing space and the Mayan food was just spectacular. Don't just turn up-contact Misaki first via email or phone.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sue L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sahuarita, Arizona
Level Contributor
48 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2012

We spent one night in this B&B back in April 2012. We were very happy with the accommodations. We stayed in a room with two beds and private bathroom. The room was private, clean, modest, and comfortable. We did not have an AC unit but we were able to sleep comfortably once I opened the windows and turned on the fan. We were the only guests during our stay.

The property owner is Masaki and she is a wonderful host. She takes good care of the property and goes out of her way to make you feel comfortable. We arrived from Copan, Honduras around 6pm and she was able to prepare a wonderful Japanese meal for us. During our visit the town was going through a water shortage so we were asked to try and use as little water as possible which was not a problem. The following morning we had a delicious breakfast and made our way to the Mayan ruins of Quirigua before driving back to Guatemala City.

If you stay here please don’t go with expectations of staying in a four/five star hotel. Remember that you will be in a small town that doesn’t have all the conveniences of larger cities. You may run into power outages and water shortages. What you can expect is a comfortable, clean, safe, and convenient place to stay. Be sure to call her cell if you can’t find the house or ask someone and they will point you in the right direction.

B&B Website: http://www.geocities.jp/masaki_quirigua/espanol.htm

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lemmora
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Devizes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
117 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2012

This modest Posada is run by a lovely Japanese lady, with melancholy charm, who came to Quirigua some years ago to help (as an Engineer) in the construction of a school, and decided to return more permanently. The Posada is on a hillock, up a steep, badly eroded little road that at first balked our tuk-tuk driver, though he made it up. Our room was very spacious and comfortable and quiet, except for the wretched barking dogs in the neighbourhood, one of the curses of Central American life, and not just in the poorer areas. Our hostess herself has a fierce dog, by the way, though he understands Japanese, apparently, and quickly learns who the guests are. One can understand her wanting a dog, for it is a somewhat lonely spot in a very poor village. She has made her own place a little oasis of nice plants and trees, peaceful and attractive.

We stayed only one night, for the sake of seeing the stellae and other carved things at the World Heritage Site. Our hostess cooked us a lovely tempura meal on our one night, and had beer and other drinks available. Our only other guest was another counter-cultural, independent Japanese woman who had quit her job in Japan and was travelling the world for 'a few years,' she said. As you might expect, perhaps, many of the guests, as I learned by looking casually at the guest book, are Japanese.

I suppose that most people visit Quirigua in groups, on their way from Copan Ruinas to some other place. Very few people seem to stay in or near the town. We ourselves had come from Copan Ruinas, in a mini-bus part way, and a local coach the rest of the way. And our destination after Quirigua was the Rio Dulce area, which is only a couple of hours further on, if you have good transport.

Quirigua is definitely worth seeing, if you have a keen interest in Mayan artifacts. Logistically it was a little difficult to make it all work out for us, but it did, and we were grateful to have come.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EscapistNever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guatemala
Level Contributor
125 reviews
101 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 December 2010

This place wasn´t on TripAdvisor when I did a search. I found it on a general internet search and was very glad I did. Owned by a Japanese lady with a real passion for the area. She provided a lot of useful information on the area including how to get there and away. The ruins were great and close by. Nice hammock for swinging on the veranda. Only a few minutes from the centre by foot so nice and quiet and has parking. Breakfast was included but when I said I was leaving early the following morning the lady offered to cook dinner for me instead. STAY HERE!

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Leigh_Whitworth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Posada De Quirigua? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Posada De Quirigua

Property: Posada De Quirigua
Address: Barrio Toltec 204km, Quirigua 18009, Guatemala
Region: Guatemala > Izabal Department > Quirigua
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Quirigua
Number of rooms: 6

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing