We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Okay, but...” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Superior Motel & Suites

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Munising
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Superior Motel & Suites
Ranked #1 of 4 Munising B&B and Inns
alma, mi
Level Contributor
61 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Okay, but...”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2012

This motel is located next to the Days Inn, and is a walkable distance to downtown. It's not bad - the room was clean and it was basically okay. It's close to the road, and with thin walls tends to be noisy. The wi-fi is spotty, there's no breakfast, and we experienced a few problems (such as the fact that the lock on our door was not working). Overall an average stay - there are other choices in town so I wouldn't particularly recommend it.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank zenmusic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    46
    45
    20
    4
    3
See reviews for
32
60
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
106 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2012

We stayed here when we were in town for the Pictured Rocks boat tour. Manager was very surly upon check-in. However...the room was large and clean and the price was reasonable ($55 for a room with 2 double beds). There were several restaurants within walking distance of the motel. This is an older motel, probably built during the 50's - 60's era.

Room Tip: Our room had two beds, one in a separate bedroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Goodtwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa,Fl
Level Contributor
57 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2012

We stayed here in mid May for 2 nights. Small motel,not sure why it's listed under bed and breakfast. The rate was $50 a night plus tax. Owners were very friendly.Room was clean,a surprising amount of channels available on tv including HBO. Great location right across the street from grocery store,although it's a small town and anywhere in town is not far from anything.The room had a microwave,mini fridge and coffee maker. The only negative and only reason I didn't give it 5 stars is the beds were fairly uncomfortable as were the pillows. However that would not stop us from staying there on a return trip.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lynchmob47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Livonia, Michigan
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2012

Winter room rate was $62. Room was super clean, nicely furnished, with cable, internet, microwave and fridge. I'd stay there again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JeraldoH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marquette, Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2012

I have stayed here three times so far on business trips and will continue to do so whenever I'm in town. Charming motel, friendly hosts, my dog always welcome. Rooms are clean, decor is Upper Michigan wildlife, black bears, whitetail deer. We feel right at home when we walk through the door. Beds are comfortable, room has microwave, mini-refrigerator, coffee maker, cable tv, wireless Internet service. Inexpensive rates, amenities comparable to much more expensive chain motels or inns we have stayed in and actually is more convenient with parking right outside of your door, one level...no stairs. Good location with grocery store across the street and close to restaurants. I've told friends and relatives they should make a trip here just to enjoy a few days in this motel and of course there are the added scenic attractions in this town to enjoy.

Room Tip: I have stayed in three different rooms and they were all very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Marcia D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rapid City, South Dakota
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2011

Beds 3/5. Beds are not too hard, pillows are not overstuffed like some hotels, one was thin and hard, the other was "plasticy" but nice to have a choice.
Clealiness 5/5. room was a little dated but clean, roomy, and well lit. Microwave, refrigerator, coffee maker, older TV, A/C all fine. Roomy bathroom. Good water pressure and hot water.
Location 4/5. Close to downtown, grocery store, restaurant, fast food. Lots of road noise, even with window closed. Parking right in front of room.
No continental breakfast or coffee in the lobby if you're looking for that.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mike L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
56 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2011

Needed a place to stay after rain and severe wind made our campsite unbearable in nearby Pictured Rocks National Lakeshore. Drove into Munising on a weekday night and saw this place along the road. After comparing rates to the Days Inn, our group of two couples easily reached consensus on the Superior Motel & Suites.

The front desk attendant quickly checked us in and provided advice on where to eat - the Dogpatch - which was a fulfilling meal after hours of hiking.

The room with two doubles was clean, quaint, and quiet. My wife and sister-in-law enjoyed the home-spun feel of the decor, curtains, and fixtures. Bathroom was also clean and bright, as were linens. Room also featured a coffee maker, refrigerator, and microwave - all of which went to good use for our group.

I'd recommend this place either as a quick fix for a camping blow-out or an affordable but nice home base for seeing the nearby national park.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tayan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Munising
2.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Munising -  Lakeview
2.6 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Munising
1.3 mi away
Boarders Inn and Suites by Cobblestone Munising
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Pictured Rocks Inn & Suites
1.8 mi away
Alger Falls Motel
Alger Falls Motel
#8 of 11 in Munising
4.0 of 5 bubbles 127 reviews
14.0 mi away
Village Inn Motel
Village Inn Motel
#1 of 1 in Chatham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 23 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Superior Motel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Superior Motel & Suites

Property: Superior Motel & Suites
Address: 500 E. M-28, Munising, MI 49862
Region: United States > Michigan > Upper Peninsula > Munising
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Munising
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We have a very nice small motel. We have been #1 on Trip Adisor 2 years in a row. Our prices are right for everyone to enjoy our area at a reasonable rate. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing