We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very nice and very clean”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Munising
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Sunset Motel on the Bay
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Munising
Certificate of Excellence
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
133 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“Very nice and very clean”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2012

We had the room above the office and really enjoyed it. While it rained and/or was cold the whole time we were there, we had a lovely little balcony all to ourselves and enjoyed the free wifi and the spacious room. The bathroom is a little on the small side-- but it's functional, clean and worked for our purposes. The motel is well located-- just a little bit outside of town, but not really a problem. The lady at the desk (the owner's sister) gave us some good suggestions for restaurants and was very nice.

Room Tip: Not an issue for us, but possibly for others-- many of the rooms open to the parking lot but 3 on th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DCTerry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

377 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    211
    119
    30
    10
    7
See reviews for
129
168
8
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2012

Expensive and in need of an update. The room was clean but very outdated and not good value compared with other places we have stayed in the Upper Peninsula and anywhere.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank treveller2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michigan
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2012

This was a great place to stay, right on Munising Bay and very quiet. This small motel is immaculate. The owners have done really well at updating the rooms while still keeping the cozy, cottage feel. Lots of knotty pine. It felt like staying in a cabin on the lake. We had a unit with two rooms, one a two- bed bedroom and one a fully equipped kitchenette, with a sleeper couch and tv. Also free wireless internet. Very friendly staff and lots of extras, like a small private beach and playground for the kids, kayaks available on site to rent, grills complete with charcoal. Every room has a great view of the bay. We were here for two nights but I could have stayed a week or two very comfortably.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank newyawkgawker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Smiths
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2012

This was the friendliest, cleanest most comfortable hotel my wife and I have stayed in. Overlooking Lake Superior and the perfect central location for all of your sight seeing and activities. This was our first time to Michigan. We had an awesome time, hiked the 8 mile Chapel loop trail, went to Miners castle, Miners beach, 12 mile beach, log slide, Sable falls and more. Its located right up from Sand point beach and beautiful Munising falls. We were spoiled by their hospitality. If you need a hotel for U.P. Michigan, do yourself a favor, and look no further than Sunset on the Bay Motel. Jason&Mikie Smiths,Alabama

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jason M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
29 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2012 via mobile

My husband and I make frequent trips to the U.P. and even got engaged here and honeymooned here. This was our first stay at Sunset Motel on the Bay and we'll definitely be back. We stayed in a king room. All rooms have views of the bay and microwaves and fridges. There are multiple picnic areas on sight including grills and free charcoal. The petite place is clean, updated and quiet and quaint. Staff are super friendly and helpful with hiking ideas. The up north feel is evident with knotty pine walls and pictures of local landmarks. Truly, this has become our new favorite place to stay in the UP. Great location just outside of downtown and on the way to the biggest attractions of the national lakeshore.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MichiganAimee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westland, MI
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 January 2012

The ONLY place to stay in Munising. Great rooms, right on Lake Superior. I wouldn't stay anywhere else.

Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
Helpful?
4 Thank Suzze T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tennessee
Level Contributor
136 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2012

If you want an excellent place to stay in Munising, this is it! Having lived in the area, we are very familiar with the accommondations. There are great chain places in the area, but if you want to get up close and personal with Lake Superior this is it!. Motel is right on the water. Beach, grills, pier, panoramic view, and more. The staff goes out of their way for you!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank gldave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Munising
2.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Munising -  Lakeview
1.1 mi away
Boarders Inn and Suites by Cobblestone Munising
1.5 mi away
Roam Inn
Roam Inn
#3 of 11 in Munising
5.0 of 5 bubbles 26 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Munising
2.6 mi away
North Star Hotel – Pictured Rocks
1.1 mi away
Pictured Rocks Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunset Motel on the Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunset Motel on the Bay

Property: Sunset Motel on the Bay
Address: 1315 Bay St, Munising, MI 49862-1511
Region: United States > Michigan > Upper Peninsula > Munising
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Munising
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Munising's best waterfront motel invites you to sit back, relax and enjoy the view! All rooms have a spectacular view of Lake Superior. One, two and three room spacious units are available with Lake Superior just steps away! All rooms include microwave/refrigerator/coffee maker or full kitchen and are smoke free. Wifi is available. Use our complimentary outdoor grills and picnic tables to enjoy a lakeside dinner while savoring the dazzling sunset. If staying for a week or more, take advantage of our fully furnished 3 bedroom vacation homes. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Sunset Motel On The Bay Hotel Munising
Sunset Hotel Munising
Sunset Motel Munising

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing