We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It was a great time!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Sunset Motel on the Bay
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Munising
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 August 2012 via mobile

My 9 year son and I stayed for a week and had a wonderful time. The view and the little beach were great and very relaxing. The room was very clean and well kept and the cleaning staff was friendly. The rest of the staff was very helpful. We were able to rent kayak's on site for a reasonable price. We have been in the UP before but not in Munising. My son said it was the best vacation ever! I want to come back!!

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jlwcats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (411)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

304 - 310 of 411 reviews

Reviewed 20 August 2012

My husband and I have been to Munising several times, but never stay here, that will change. We have decided when we return it will be here, everyone was very friendly, great view of the bay. The room was clean and was perfect after a long day of riding motorcycles. Picnic tables available along with chairs and fire pits to view the sunset and lake long into the night. Each morning would get my coffee and sit at the waters edge and enjoy the peace and quiet.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Harleyrider1213
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2012

Our family (my wife and our two kids) stayed at Sunsets Motel on the Bay on our way to Mackinaw Island. Fantastic location, nice rooms, and friendly staff. The separate bedrooms and a living type room was perfect for us. The kids went to bed and my wife and I were able to relax. We would recommend the place to anyone.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Brad S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2012

We were only able to stay one night here, but we will be back and our next stay will be longer.

The staff was very friendly. They were all helpful and thoughtful.

Our room was perfect for our family of four. We had two bedrooms and a living area so we could stay up after the kids were in bed. Our room just felt cozy and warm.

There were chairs and benches set up so that guests could watch the sunset. Unfortunately, the weather was so overcast that we couldn't see the sunset, but I can picture how gorgeous it would be.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Melody A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2012

This motel is great place to stay. The best is the view from your room. It is located on the bay of Lake Superior. The sunsets are amazing. The rooms are excellent for the price. We always get one of the two bedrooms, doubles. You get to separate bedrooms and a living/dining type room. You have your couch and chair, plus you get a dining table, microwave, and fridge. Some of the rooms have full kitchens. The staff is wonderful. You are close to many attractions. I refer all my friends here!

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Char L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2012

This is a lovely motel right on Lake Superior. Rooms are clean and the staff is very friendly and helpful. There are a lot of extras: outside tables and chairs, shuffleboard, grills and charcoal. We enjoyed watching the sunset from the lawn, steps away from our room. Very reasonable for the great location.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jerry L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2012

It was our first time staying here. Chanced upon it by searching online. It was very nice experince. Rooms are little small, but very clean. We had the two bedroom with Kitchen. Kitchen has everything you would need to cook. The view outside is nice also, the property is right by the water with their own beach area. We would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: You need to book with them early as the rooms get booked even by March.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank thenainai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Munising
2.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Munising -  Lakeview
2.4 mi away
Boarders Inn and Suites by Cobblestone Munising
1.5 mi away
Roam Inn
Roam Inn
#1 of 11 in Munising
118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Beach Inn Motel on Munising Bay
2.7 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Munising
3.9 mi away
White Pine Lodge
White Pine Lodge
#2 of 2 in Christmas
155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunset Motel on the Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunset Motel on the Bay

Address: 1315 Bay St, Munising, MI 49862-1511
Region: United States > Michigan > Upper Peninsula > Munising
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Munising
Price Range: £68 - £114 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sunset Motel on the Bay 2.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Munising's best waterfront motel invites you to sit back, relax and enjoy the view! All rooms have a spectacular view of Lake Superior. One, two and three room spacious units are available with Lake Superior just steps away! All rooms include microwave/refrigerator/coffee maker or full kitchen and are smoke free. Wifi is available. Use our complimentary outdoor grills and picnic tables to enjoy a lakeside dinner while savoring the dazzling sunset. If staying for a week or more, take advantage of our fully furnished 3 bedroom vacation homes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your Sunset Motel on the Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunset Motel On The Bay Hotel Munising
Sunset Hotel Munising
Sunset Motel Munising

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing