We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Sunset Motel on the Bay
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Munising
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 August 2013

Like others said, it is an older property that is very well maintained and clean. We had a two bedroom unit that was great. The kids enjoyed hanging out on the grounds while looking at the lake. The location is perfect. I would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Theresa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pam L, Manager at Sunset Motel on the Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2013

We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us! Our two bedroom units, which have one queen bed in each room, are perfect for families. Just a few steps from your door is our playground, private beach and our front lawn with with it's magnificient view! You can grill out at any time. We have everything you need except what you'd like to eat! We invite you to visit us again soon where you can sit back, relax and enjoy the view!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (408)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

250 - 256 of 408 reviews

Reviewed 31 July 2013

Older motel, but very clean. The view is well worth the lack of modern decor. The sunset was spectacular and the view of the bay was probably the best in the area. The grounds are very well maintained. We had everything we needed there, including a mini-fridge, coffee pot, hair dryer and nice, clean, fluffy towels. The staff is very friendly and helpful. They allowed us to check in a bit early and gave us sightseeing brochures and told us to help ourselves to ice. We would stay there again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pam L, Manager at Sunset Motel on the Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2013

Thank you for your kind words regarding your stay at The Sunset. Our top-notch housekeeping and maintenace staff work very hard to keep everything in tiptop shape! We are pleased to know that your room was furnished with everything you needed. We do have some updates that we plan to make to the property but we would never do anything that would change the particular charm that makes The Sunset what it is - the perfect place to sit back, relax and enjoy the view!
We hope your return visit will be soon. We look forward to having you stay with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2013

The lay out is perfect for enjoying the view with relative privacy. There are comfortable chairs along the waterfront, as well as picnic tables and grills. There is a beach area for swimming or having a fire in the fire ring.
The rooms were clean and well furnished. All of the staff we met were friendly and helpful.
I would stay there again, and I will recommend it to friends.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HollyFW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pam L, Manager at Sunset Motel on the Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2013

Thank you for commenting on your stay at The Sunset. We are happy to know you plan to visit us again. Thank you for recommending us to your friends. The sunsets are always spectacular! Something we don't often mention is how incredibly beautiful the view is in the morning. Our front lawn is an excellent place to start the day with a cup of coffee. It is so peaceful and quiet. The only sounds are the gentle lapping of Lake Superior and perhaps the calls of ducks, loons or sandhill cranes as they fly over. Many times our guests tell us they never want to leave! We want all of our guests to sit back, relax and enjoy the view no matter what time of day it is! We hope your return visit will be soon. Enjoy the rest of your summer.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2013

Got there a little early ask Pam and the front desk for some suggested hiking trails and a good beach to relax at after hiking, she gage use great directions to a couple of waterfalls and Minors castle overlook. She was very friendly. The location is great right on the lake… Will stay here again when I return to the area

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bob h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pam L, Manager at Sunset Motel on the Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2013

We are happy to know that you'll stay with us again! Even though we have a private beach at The Sunset, a summer visit to our area wouldn't be complete without spending some time at one or more of the beautiful beaches in our area. Sand Point Beach was named one of the top ten beaches in the country by the Weather Channel. We believe that Miner's Beach, Chapel Beach,
Twelve Mile Beach and AuTrain Beach all belong on the top ten list. And that's not a complete list! A popular nightly activity this summer has been to enjoy the firepit on our beach. Many of our guests gather together and exchange recommendations of where to go and what to see. We provide the marshmallows and the perfect place to sit back, relax and enjoy the view - including the stunning sunsets! Thank you for your kind words. We hope your next visit will be soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2013

We had another wonderful stay at the Sunset Motel. Pam, the desk clerk (and owner, I believe) was so friendly and helpful. The room was great - a queen bed in the bedroom with a pull-out bed in the living area. A full sized fridge, a stove, sink, with a small compliment of dishes, pots, pans, silverware, etc. Right on Lake Superior with lots of nice chairs to sit in and a grill if you want to cook outside. You can even play shuffleboard! I wouldn't stay anywhere else!!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Suzze T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pam L, Manager at Sunset Motel on the Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2013

We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us! Our rooms that have kitchens are the ideal place for a "girls only" stay or a romantic weekend. The kitchens are equipped with everything you should need and if there's something missing we'll do our best to provide it. Our location is close to the "must see" and "must do" spots in the area. After a day of exploring the area, our front lawn is the perfect place sit back, relax and enjoy the view! Please let us know when you plan to visit us again. We hope it's soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2013

Our family (husband, wife, 3 boys aged 9-14) stayed here last week for 2 nights. Our first impression was fine, but every part of stay here surprised us with happiness! Our room (110) was very clean and spacious, with a living area (including a pull-out couch) and two bedrooms with closing doors. It had the basic amenities of a mini fridge, microwave and coffee maker. We stayed during a UP heat wave (90+ degrees every day) but the lack of central air was not a problem, as the screen door provided pleasant breezes off the bay, and each bedroom had an A/C unit.

After checking in with the kind front desk attendant, our boys spotted the shuffle board game by the water's break wall and borrowed the equipment to play while we unpacked. The front desk also offered ice, snacks & drinks (for a small charge), and board games to borrow. The grounds included a small, sandy beach, a play structure for younger kids, a porch swing, chairs and tables by the water, and a grill. Oh, and whole lot of ambiance. The "Sunset" part of the motel's name is quite fitting, as the sunset each night was spectacular! I also personally loved how all of the folks staying there would congregate at the chairs on the patio or by the water to take in the setting sun.

The location for us was ideal, as there were several beaches, waterfalls, and rivers within a very short driving distance. Munising is a small town, but we loved its charm and conveniences for everything we needed. Having stayed in numerous hotels/motels in our lifetime, the Sunset Motel on the Bay was definitely one of our all-time favorites because it became part of the memories of our whole trip to the UP. We highly recommend a stay here!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hartlandmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pam L, Manager at Sunset Motel on the Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2013

We are so happy to be a part of your U.P. memories! Thank you for sharing your thoughts regarding your stay with us. We enjoyed having your family here. Rooom 110 is one of our most popular rooms with its two bedrooms and separate living room area. We also have rooms with completely furnished kitchens. You are so right in saying that The Sunset has its own charm and ambiance. Tonight, not only is there a stunning sunset, but we had a rain shower and there was a double rainbow! How terrific is that! We hope you'll visit us again to make more memories and to sit back, relax and enjoy the view!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2013 via mobile

We stayed for a night during a Michigan vacation. They book up fast! We swam in the private beach and watched the sunset over the bay. There are many waterfalls within walking distance. This hotel is on the less congested side of town which is a huge plus. I would stay again. The lady at the front desk had many tips. The room had a big kitchen area.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Muddychick123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pam L, Manager at Sunset Motel on the Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2013

Thank you for sharing you comments regarding your stay at The Sunset. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We are minutes away from waterfalls. Sand Point Beach, named one of the top ten beaches in the country by The Weather Channel, is less than two miles from us. There are so many "must see" and "must do" spots in our area. We love sharing information about all of them with our guests. There isn't a better spot to view the awesome sunsets than from our front lawn. It's the perfect place to sit back, relax and enjoy the view! We hope you'll stay with us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Munising
2.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Munising -  Lakeview
2.4 mi away
Boarders Inn and Suites by Cobblestone Munising
1.5 mi away
Roam Inn
Roam Inn
#1 of 11 in Munising
108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Beach Inn Motel on Munising Bay
2.7 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Munising
14.0 mi away
North Star Hotel – Pictured Rocks
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunset Motel on the Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunset Motel on the Bay

Address: 1315 Bay St, Munising, MI 49862-1511
Region: United States > Michigan > Upper Peninsula > Munising
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Munising
Price Range: £83 - £126 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sunset Motel on the Bay 2.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Munising's best waterfront motel invites you to sit back, relax and enjoy the view! All rooms have a spectacular view of Lake Superior. One, two and three room spacious units are available with Lake Superior just steps away! All rooms include microwave/refrigerator/coffee maker or full kitchen and are smoke free. Wifi is available. Use our complimentary outdoor grills and picnic tables to enjoy a lakeside dinner while savoring the dazzling sunset. If staying for a week or more, take advantage of our fully furnished 3 bedroom vacation homes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Sunset Motel on the Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunset Motel On The Bay Hotel Munising
Sunset Hotel Munising
Sunset Motel Munising

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing