We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, friendly staff, and beautiful view of the bay.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Sunset Motel on the Bay
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Munising
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 June 2014 via mobile

Had a very nice stay at the Sunset. The Hotel has a great location with a great view. Found room to be clean and comfortable. The staff was very helpful and friendly. Did not use the grill on the lawn, but thought that was a great feature. Would stay there again.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pam L, Manager at Sunset Motel on the Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2014

We are so pleased you would stay with us again! We hope it's soon. Thank you for sharing your thoughts with our TripAdvisor readers. We are so fortunate to have a view beyond compare right outside our front door. We absolutely love sharing it with our guests! We also love seeing our guests out on the front lawn enjoying themselves playing shuffle board, having a picnic or reading a good book. No matter what relaxing activity you choose, it's always accompanied by our splendid view of Lake Superior! At The Sunset there's always time to sit back, relax and enjoy the view!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (404)
There are newer reviews for Sunset Motel on the Bay
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

204 - 210 of 404 reviews

Reviewed 16 June 2014

This is an old-time motel that has been kept up wonderfully. It sits right on Lake Superior - very easy to find. Lovely seats and grills right on the water for you to use. Bathroom was a little small, but no big deal. Kitchenette, dining table and sofa in the main room + a separate bedroom. TV was old and small. Very nice folks run this - pleasure to stay here.

Room Tip: Every room has the same great view. There are two upstairs but we didn't look at them.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank db_victorny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pam L, Manager at Sunset Motel on the Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2014

Thank you for staying with us and sharing your thoughts with our TripAdvisor readers. It was our pleasure to have you visit us. Many of our guests comment when they get the first glimpse of our gorgeous view they feel like they've taken a step back in time. Spending time on our front lawn with a cup of coffee or a glass of wine is peaceful, quiet and serene. The loudest noise you may hear would be from a flock of ducks or a loon. The Sunset is the perfect place to sit back, relax and enjoy the view! We hope you'll visit us again soon. Have a wonderful summer.
(P.S. We are in the process of updating the tvs!)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2014

We stayed at the Bayview guest house which was perfect for our family of 5. It was clean, comfortable, very reasonably priced and large enough so we weren't tripping over each other. Pam was a welcoming host and helpful when we needed something. Bring all your food items, like coffee/tea and salt/pepper, otherwise the kitchen is well stocked with all the basic equipment you'll need. If you are looking for a luxury beach resort with fancy shampoo in little bottles, keep looking. But if you'd rather spend your money on cool stuff like a guided kayak trip exploring the pictured rocks, this is a great place.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
Thank MaryandKevinMN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pam L, Manager at Sunset Motel on the Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2014

Thank you for sharing your comments with our TripAdvisor readers. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay in The Bayview Vacation Home. Our vacation homes are perfect for families. The three bedroom homes are completely furnished with everything you should need and if you forget the salt and pepper we have that too! The homes also include a deck with gas grill for preparing delicious burgers or fresh fish. If you prefer a charcoal grill, we have grills available on our front lawn. What could be better than grilling a perfect steak while enjoying our incredible view of Lake Superior?! Another option is to have a fire on our private beach. A great way to end a day of exploring the area with roasted hot dogs and marshmallows! There are many ways to sit back, relax and enjoy the view at The Sunset. We hope you'll be back soon to take advantage of all of them! Thanks again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2014

Our group of friends has stayed here every Memorial day weekend for the last 5 years while some of the guys backpack in Pictured Rocks. Always the friendliest people, immaculately clean with comfortable beds and an incredible view of Munising Bay to boot. It's close to town and 2 waterfalls within walking distance. My wife came for the first time this year and we stayed in one of the rental homes. My wife does not normally like to stay in hotels but she loved this place and felt right at home here. We will continue coming here for years to come.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank timj0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pam L, Manager at Sunset Motel on the Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2014

We are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay and that your wife joined you this year! We love to welcome back return guests and we hope you will continue your Memorial Day tradition of visiting us. Our main goal is always to meet and surpass our guests' expectations when they stay with us. Your comment of "feeling right at home" is a tremendous compliment to our entire staff. Thank you for sharing your kind words with our TripAdvisor readers. We look forward to seeing you next Memorial Day weekend (or, perhaps sooner!) to sit back, relax and enjoy the view!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

We stayed here over Memorial Day weekend. Good room, nice people, gorgeous view, and a reasonable price. They were very helpful in letting us know the "must see" sights. They are quietly located on the edge of town. We will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank mrsbeetz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pam L, Manager at Sunset Motel on the Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2014

We are so pleased you plan to visit us again! Not only do we have a spectacular view, we are centrally located to many "must see" spots. There are three beautiful waterfalls within walking distance from us. Sand Point Beach, named one of the top ten beaches in the country by the Weather Channel, is less than two miles from our location. We are less than five minutes from the Pictured Rocks Boat Cruise and less than ten minutes from the Glass Bottom Boat Tour. There's also the fun-filled Rip Tide Ride. A must "must see" is Miner's Castle, Beach and Falls. Located about ten miles from us, they are breathtakingly beautiful. We also have to mention Alger, Wagner, Munising and Chapel Falls - all great! We love to share information about all the marvelous places we are so fortunate to have in our area. Of course we think one of the very best places to be is on our front lawn! After a day of exploring, its' the best place to sit back, relax and enjoy the view! We look forward to seeing you again soon! Thank you for staying with us and sharing your thoughts with our TripAdvisor readers.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Stayed here over Memorial Day Weekend. The motel is located right next to the water and offers a great view of the lake from your room. Seating is also available to watch the sunset right on the shore. The room was clean and had a comfy bed. Located close to town and Pictured Rocks. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank kf4509
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pam L, Manager at Sunset Motel on the Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2014

Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts regarding your stay at The Sunset with TripAdvisor readers. Our view is incredible and now that the bay is ice free we are enjoying the view even more! We thought our "polar vortex" winter would never end! It's been great to see the return of ducks, Canadian geese, sandhill cranes and green grass! We are so glad you enjoyed your stay and hope you'll be back to sit back, relax and enjoy the view!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2014

We had the opportunity to stay at Sunset Motel on the Bay this past week as we moved our only son from college in Ely, MN, to his new job in Munising, MI. We were so happy with the spotlessly clean, well appointed room that looked out over the beautiful Lake Superior. But that was only a small reason for our 5 star review. We discovered our son's car had a flat tire late in the day. We asked the hotel's owner where he would recommend we take it. He instantly used of his own time and equipment to fill the tire up, and had one of his employee's direct us a service station, making sure they knew we were on our way and would be open. We began talking with him and his wife, they were such a compassionate, down to earth and hardworking couple. They too had gone through the emotional distress of sending their son's out away from home. We would jump at the chance to stay their if we are able in the future. My son, as well as we, felt an immediate sense of connection, we were in a strange place, but had an instant feeling of belonging and security this couple offered us.

Room Tip: There are no bad rooms!
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Nadine D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pam L, Manager at Sunset Motel on the Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2014

It was wonderful to meet you and your son! As a mom of two wonderful sons, I know how emotional it is to leave our children in a place that is unfamiliar to us. And adding a flat tire into the day certainly adds to the stress! It was our pleasure to offer assistance to you. I'm sure your son will enjoy his time in Munising and I hope when you visit him you'll stay with us! Next time you'll be stress free and be able to sit back, relax and enjoy the view! Thank you for sharing your kind words with TripAdvisor readers. We hope to see you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Munising
2.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Munising -  Lakeview
2.4 mi away
Boarders Inn and Suites by Cobblestone Munising
1.5 mi away
Roam Inn
Roam Inn
#2 of 11 in Munising
91 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Munising
14.0 mi away
North Star Hotel – Pictured Rocks
207.1 mi away
Pictured Rocks Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunset Motel on the Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunset Motel on the Bay

Address: 1315 Bay St, Munising, MI 49862-1511
Region: United States > Michigan > Upper Peninsula > Munising
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Munising
Price Range: £74 - £127 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sunset Motel on the Bay 2.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Munising's best waterfront motel invites you to sit back, relax and enjoy the view! All rooms have a spectacular view of Lake Superior. One, two and three room spacious units are available with Lake Superior just steps away! All rooms include microwave/refrigerator/coffee maker or full kitchen and are smoke free. Wifi is available. Use our complimentary outdoor grills and picnic tables to enjoy a lakeside dinner while savoring the dazzling sunset. If staying for a week or more, take advantage of our fully furnished 3 bedroom vacation homes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Sunset Motel on the Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunset Motel On The Bay Hotel Munising
Sunset Hotel Munising
Sunset Motel Munising

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing