We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful view and clean accomadations”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Munising
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Sunset Motel on the Bay
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Munising
Certificate of Excellence
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Beautiful view and clean accomadations”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2014

Our bedroom with kitchenette was well stocked with the necessities for our two night stay. The room was clean and service friendly and helpful. The real win though is the beautiful view of the bay. The smallish strip of beach and playscape were great for keeping the kids occupied between outings.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Tina R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pam L, Manager at Sunset Motel on the Bay, responded to this review, 22 August 2014
We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay at The Sunset! Thank you for sharing your comments with our TripAdvisor readers. We are glad you found your room comfortable and complete with everything you needed for your stay. We have one or two bedroom units that have well stocked kitchens. Our kitchen rooms are very popular with our guests and we are often told it's like staying in your own little cabin with a beautiful view of Lake Superior. We hope you'll visit us again to sit back, relax and enjoy the view!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

377 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    211
    119
    30
    10
    7
See reviews for
129
168
8
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Michigan
Level Contributor
101 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2014 via mobile

Our family of 5 stayed at the Sunset while touring the area. Great little motel right on the bay. The room was comfortable and spotless, the staff really friendly. We sat outside in cozy chairs and enjoyed the perfect sunset, slept great and will definitely be back. Book early this motel is popular!

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Kristen92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pam L, Manager at Sunset Motel on the Bay, responded to this review, 16 August 2014
We think our view is amazing too! Thank you for sharing your comments with our TripAdvisor readers. We offer several lodging options for families. We have two bedroom units with a queen bed in each room. We also have two bedroom units that include kitchen facilities. Another option is one of our three bedroom vacation homes. The homes are completely furnished with every thing you should need for a comfortable, enjoyable stay. We hope you'll visit us again soon to sit back, relax and enjoy the view!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Windsor, Canada
Level Contributor
37 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2014

Found this hotel on Trip Advisor and with its number one ranking decided to try it. It was fantastic. The location is beautiful for watching the sun set over the lake. Drinking your early morning coffee while watching that same vista is pretty nice as well. The hotel itself is adorable. Very clean, decent sized room and the staff is incredibly friendly. Its close to Munising as well. Definitely will stay here again!!!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank J H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pam L, Manager at Sunset Motel on the Bay, responded to this review, 16 August 2014
Thank you for your kind comments and for sharing them with our TripAdvisor readers. Our entire staff is extremely proud of our #1 ranking! We are so fortunate to have wonderful guests, including you, that take the time to review their stay at The Sunset. We are also fortunate to be surrounded by natural beauty. The view from our front lawn is outstanding from sunrise to sunset! We;re so glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Please visit us again soon to sit back, relax and enjoy the view!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2014

This place has it all -- lake front, Adirondack chairs, beach, grills, 2-bedroom units with kitchen, peaceful and quiet. This is an older property that has been kept up; our unit was small but sufficient; newer kitchen area. Wall air conditioner units in the two bedrooms; noisy, so suggest ear plugs; bring eye shades if you don't like morning light coming in through drapes. It's out of town but a very short drive.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Annette T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pam L, Manager at Sunset Motel on the Bay, responded to this review, 10 August 2014
Thank you for your tremendous review of The Sunset and for sharing it with our TripAdvisor readers. We agree that The Sunset provides the perfect place to enjoy a visit to the Munising area. We are centrally located to many of the area's wonderful attractions including the amazing Pictured Rocks National Lakeshore. We are just minutes from the downtown area, restaurants and shops. After a day of awesome exploring, our guests love to return to the quiet tranquility of The Sunset. Guests can choose a comfortable chair and chill out with their favorite beverage. With the fantastic weather we've been having, our charcoal grills have been in constant use! We provide the charcoal. In fact, we have everything you should need except what you plan to eat, Last night many of our guests were enjoying a shuffleboard tournament until it got too dark to see! We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope you plan a return visit to sit back, relax and enjoy the view!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sault Sainte Ma
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2014

Absolutely gorgeous location, right on Lake Superior. Lake is literally out your door and across short parking lot, could not be better. Very close to town and can walk to two waterfalls from hotel. Room was small, which we did not mind, bathroom was very small and narrow. Appreciated the fan in our room for air circulation and noise. Room was only moderately clean- dishes were put away wet with food crusted on them from last guest, and bathroom still had hair in it. Cleanliness and location are definitely the most important criteria for me, and after I discovered the hair and dirty dishes, it was hard to feel comfortable. However, I do not know of a better place to stay in the area- which is incredible and well worth the trip to see pictured rock and hike. First front desk person lovely, second a bit impatient and less helpful.

Room Tip: I did not see a bad room choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Travelingmom0442
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pam L, Manager at Sunset Motel on the Bay, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
Please accept our sincere apologies that you were unable to fully enjoy your stay at The Sunset. Cleanliness and making sure our guests are welcomed and feel comfortable are our top priorities. There is no excuse for what you experienced and the matter has been fully discussed with the housekeeping staff. We appreciate you bringing these issues to our attention and thank you for sharing your thoughts with our TripAdvisor readers. We hope you will give us another opportunity to meet your lodging needs. If you would like to further discuss your stay with us, please contact our office at any time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2014

For $139 I booked the suite, do yourself a favor and get that room! It has a decently private (ok you can't walk out naked) balcony and the bed is next to the sliding door wall which makes for amazingly romantic and relaxing sunsets, stargazing, and sunrises. Laying in bed you can actually see the waves and all. It was absolutely amazing and quiet since it's not 'downtown'. You can walk to the Munising Falls from here. Also it had a coffee pot + coffee, fridge, and microwave. A little beach area where you can make a campfire, picnic tables, and chairs strewn along the water area. If I'm ever back in the area, this is where I will be. If I HAD to complain about anything, it would be that my room wasn't ready on time at 3p, but I just went and got a bite to eat and came back no problem.

Room Tip: Choose the suite, only one, comes with lake facing balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rebecca D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pam L, Manager at Sunset Motel on the Bay, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
We are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay with us! You took advantage of all the natural beauty that surrounds The Sunset. The sunsets are spectacular! The sunrises are amazing! Seeing the moon and stars shining on the water are mesmerizing! Our private beach is the ideal spot for stargazing. You can build a fire to keep you warm and cozy. We provide the wood and we always have marshmallows. It's the perfect ending to a perfect day in the Munising area! The room you stayed in has a private balcony and is our most requested room. It has a king size bed, microwave and refrigerator. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and hope you'll plan a return visit to sit back, relax and enjoy the view! Thank you for sharing your experience with our TripAdvisor readers.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Midland, Michigan
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2014

This hotel deserves its #1 rating... don't know about the "bay" - guess I never checked it out - because we were there for the Pictured Rocks tour. When I walked in, they had one room left - reasonably price for me... and it turned out to be a two bedroom suite with a sofa couch - which was PERFECT because we were on the tail-end of a long trip with a young child who needed sleep! Put her in her own room - wonderful for the rest of us and GREAT for her. The room was decorated so outdoorsy - and VERY VERY clean! The front desk was helpful - and suggested falls in the area for the next morning. My only "complaint" was we were a group of four with three bath towels and by the time we realized it the front desk was closed... maybe upon check-in, they should offer more towels? But not a problem... my husband and I share all the time. I would highly recommend this place to others.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FunInMidland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pam L, Manager at Sunset Motel on the Bay, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
Thank you for your tremendous review of The Sunset Motel and for sharing it with our TripAdvisor readers. Our entire staff is extremely proud of our #1 ranking. We are so fortunate to have guests like you who take the time to express their views regarding their stay with us. We are happy to know the room we had available was a perfect fit for you! The room has two bedrooms with a queen bed in each room and a separate living room area with a sleeper sofa. Many of our guests enjoy the extra space that the living room provides. We do apologize for the missing towels. There are supposed to be four sets of towels in every room. We are sorry that someone miscounted! We certainly hope you'll visit us again to sit back, relax and enjoy the view! We promise there will be extra towels in the room! Thanks again and enjoy the rest of your summer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Munising
2.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Munising -  Lakeview
1.1 mi away
Boarders Inn and Suites by Cobblestone Munising
1.5 mi away
Roam Inn
Roam Inn
#3 of 11 in Munising
5.0 of 5 bubbles 26 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Munising
2.6 mi away
North Star Hotel – Pictured Rocks
1.1 mi away
Pictured Rocks Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunset Motel on the Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunset Motel on the Bay

Property: Sunset Motel on the Bay
Address: 1315 Bay St, Munising, MI 49862-1511
Region: United States > Michigan > Upper Peninsula > Munising
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Munising
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Munising's best waterfront motel invites you to sit back, relax and enjoy the view! All rooms have a spectacular view of Lake Superior. One, two and three room spacious units are available with Lake Superior just steps away! All rooms include microwave/refrigerator/coffee maker or full kitchen and are smoke free. Wifi is available. Use our complimentary outdoor grills and picnic tables to enjoy a lakeside dinner while savoring the dazzling sunset. If staying for a week or more, take advantage of our fully furnished 3 bedroom vacation homes. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Sunset Motel On The Bay Hotel Munising
Sunset Hotel Munising
Sunset Motel Munising

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing