We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't wait to come back!”
Review of Riptide Ride

Riptide Ride
Ranked #3 of 7 Tours in Munising
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: 25 Miles of Pictured Rocks Cliffs, 360 degree spins, countless smiles! Riptide Ride has the ultimate package of fun and beautiful scenery. Bring your camera since you'll have plenty of opportunity to capture photos as you admire bald eagles, towering cliffs, wildlife and waterfalls. You'll be entertained from the moment you step on board until we return to shore. Between sights we'll have a blast with spins, turns and amazing speed on our jet boat!
Au Train, MI
Level Contributor
149 reviews
40 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Can't wait to come back!”
Reviewed 5 July 2014

This was our second visit to Riptide Ride. Captain Tim and his family do a great job as hosts of the best way to see Lake Superior. It's fast, it's thrilling, it's beautiful, it's safe! We will definitely be back again...this year!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

251 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    236
    13
    0
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Merrill, Michigan
Level Contributor
166 reviews
65 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“wow wow wow”
Reviewed 3 July 2014

wowo wow wow this would be a great ride for children the reason it is fun you can see the picture rocks bring a jacked and a extra pair of shoes make captain tim do lots of spins good for seniors it will make their arthris and other ailments go away

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank jlw11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fishers, Indiana
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great experience!”
Reviewed 30 June 2014

What a fun way to see the pictured rocks, bald eagles (3 of them), lighthouses (2 of them), waterfalls, etc... The captain was extremely fun and knowledgeable.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank WJ B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Not Your Average Boat Ride...”
Reviewed 28 June 2014

Where to start...what a great experience we had with our athletic team of 60 people:
1) They handled us in shifts and stayed on time while treating us to amazing views, boat tricks that keep you smiling/laughing, and interesting commentary about the incredible shoreline.
2) The place is clean with amazing modern woodworking in a simple yet practical gift shop that has unique items as well as the obligatory t-shirt or sweatshirt.
3) This is a family business - how cool is that? Mom runs the shop, Dad drives the boat, and the kids willingly do all the dirty work. Merica!
4) The boat is awesome - fast, smooth, and turns on a dime, don't worry, the captain gives you a warning before spinning the boat across the water.
5) This area of the country is really amazing and visually stunning. Most people never see the Pictured Rocks National Lakeshore and it is a shame...however, I cannot imagine how boring it must be to see the area the best way (from the water) on some slow moving boat....
This is a great trip and even better if you have limited time in the area.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Team P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
30 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“A MUST do while your here”
Reviewed 23 June 2014 via mobile

This is something I would recommend everyone to do while in Munising. The captain was so much fun and knowledgable. It is a family business and they all participate which is awesome right there!! I never once felt unsafe.
Does it go fast? Yes. Do you get wet? My feet did a little and a little on my rain coat (they provided). Can you take pictures? Yes for sure just keep your camera under your rain coat on the spins.
Great job captain it's something I will never forget :)

Helpful?
1 Thank callijo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Riptide Ride also viewed

Munising, Upper Peninsula
Munising, Upper Peninsula
 
Munising, Upper Peninsula
Munising, Upper Peninsula
 

Been to Riptide Ride? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing