We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect U.P. Motel”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Munising
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Beach Inn Motel on Munising Bay
Ranked #7 of 11 Hotels in Munising
Certificate of Excellence
St. Clair Shores, Michigan, United States
1 review
“Perfect U.P. Motel”
Reviewed 15 August 2013

We had a wonderful time. Very clean rooms and a perfect set up on the water. Nice chairs and barbeque area right on the water. We stayed all over the U.P. in this motel was the best! My husband left his computer in the room and the staff shipped it to our home the next day, so thankful.

Room Tip: Book early and you can get a 1st floor walkout to the water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janeen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

157 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    65
    59
    24
    3
    6
See reviews for
53
71
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
88 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2013

My husband and I arrived in Munising late in the day and were ready to get out of our car. We arrived at Beach Inn, and said, "ahhh". This property is located on Lake Superior. The inn has a wonderful grassy lawn, complete with picnic tables, chairs and a place for a fire. What a relaxing end to a long day. We sat down in some comfy chairs and watched the activity along the lake. Our room was a typical motel room, maybe a bit larger. There was a fridge and coffee pot, the beds were comfortable. All in all a nice place to stay.

Room Tip: We had a room on the first floor at the end of the motel. Very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank crystal543
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2013

After reading some of the other reviews I guess your opinion of this property depends on what brings you to the area. If you're staying here to be on the beach or have easy access to the beach then you will probably be disappointed. However, if you're here to hike and explore the UP & Pictured Rocks National Lakeshore as we were then I think you'll be pleased.

This was our first trip to Michigan & the UP and we found the location and hotel to be perfectly suited for us. We especially liked the backyard with the chairs & fire pit and having a front & back door. We were there on the 4th of July and the location on the bay provided the most perfect view of the fireworks while sitting in our own private backyard! We bought the makings for smores and shared them with the other guests and met some really nice people from around the area. All that we spoke with liked the hotel, mainly for it's location.

The rooms are very simple, the towels were not the best quality, internet was hit & miss and the housekeeping was poor. We returned to our room one day and found one bed partially made and the other not made at all. I asked about it at the front desk & they said if there is anything left on the bed housekeeping is instructed not to touch it. Everyone said they didn't leaving anything in the bed as I usually tell them to put all their things away before heading out for the day knowing housekeeping will come. If anything, my daughter may have left her pillow pet on the bed but we've never encountered this problem at any other hotel and if a stuffed animal is left in the bed they usually use it to decorate the bed.

I had some stuff I needed printed for our next destination but the lady at the front desk told me there was no access to a printer.

The breakfast was adequate for our needs since by days 7 & 8 of our vacation we were getting tired of eating out & having big breakfasts.

Make sure you bring bug spray!

I would stay here again and would recommend it to others visiting Pictured Rocks National Lakeshore.

Room Tip: Request a room on the 1st floor for easy access to the backyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RamblingRose969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United States
Level Contributor
40 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2013

It looks very pretty from the outside, at a distance. That's the tutu part. But my experience staying in this hotel was anything but aesthetically pleasing (or pleasing in any way, actually).

Overpriced, disappointing, dirty: these are words that come to mind with the Beach Inn Motel.

It started on arrival, which was just before 3:00 p.m. My companion and I were greeted, of sorts, by the sweeping arcs of sprinklers that, although keeping the front lawns beautifully green, also drenched us as we tried to navigate our way, bags in tow, to the entry door. We were then met with the sullen indifference of a desk clerk who ungraciously and grudgingly agreed to "see if our room were ready" because "check-in is not until 3" (perhaps that's when the sprinklers, as a possible deterrent to any pesky prematurely-arriving guests, were to be turned off).

Our room, however, had the musty, airless rank odor of a sweaty sports shoe closet when we reached it, so it's doubtful that anyone had even been in the room to make it possibly "unready."

But, we were tired from our travels and wanted nothing more than to relax on the lakefront beach. Gracing the front of the "Beach Inn" motel, however, was a pile of rocks. The beach, we were informed, was a "short walk up the road" along a bike trail at another, nearby motel. And, though we had been idyllically envisioning a "bike trail" with safe pathways and, perhaps, even some trees for shade, what it turned out to be was a marked slip lane on a major road thoroughfare, which is not particularly the safest place for people to walk.

The greater disappointment, however, was that our destination was a lamentable excuse for a beach. The water was filthy, with dead sea creatures floating in it, accompanied by globs of what looked like expelled mucous and stomach bile after a bout of particularly unpleasant bronchitis. The sand was unpleasantly sticky and, of course, there was no faucet or water outlet to wash down after having the unfortunate experience of coming into contact with it.

Our room was spartan, but in a cheap, tawdry way. The beds were like lying on boards. There was no dresser, no closet, and no mirror in the room. The only mirror was in the musty, rank bathroom, where the air vent not only didn't work properly, but sounded like a Harley Davidson revving its engine when one, fearing the propulsion of possible decapitation, intrepidly dared to attempt to switch it on. The bathmat, when picked up after showering, was filthy on the side that had come into contact with the floor, leaving us to wonder with caustic skepticism, how difficult is it to run a mop over a floor? -- and, moreover, if the bathroom floor were filthy, what weren't we seeing on the carpeting or other areas of the room?

Unbelievably enough, there was not only no iron in the room but, when we made inquiries as to whether we could access one, were told "I don't know." To be fair, one of the motel employees did turn up at our door with an iron in hand, but there was no ironing board or suggestion as to what we might actually use to iron clothing on.

The front door, poorly aligned, had an open crack down one side (undoubtedly unpleasant during the winter) and a small set of clothes-hooks (in the absence of any closet at all) was crookedly placed on the wall, which was further confirmation of the poor quality of appointments and finishing at this establishment.

The continental breakfast was lame, with stale bread, dodgy looking bagels, dreadful coffee, and insufficient seating. There were no hot foods available.

Unforgiveable, however, was the poor service. When I enquired as to whether there was another beach in the vicinity, I was directed to one "up the road," but without any directional guidance to my follow-up questions apart from "I don't know how far; about six minutes by car, maybe." On check-out, we were met at the front desk by what appeared to be casual, flip-flop wearing housekeeping staff who seemed to have no idea about what we actually needed to do to check out. After some moments of frustration, the hotel desk clerk emerged to demand what I wanted. Um, to check out? As fast as possible? "We need your keys," she said. And that was it. (In)hospitality at its finest.

I so wanted there to be at least some redeeming quality about the stay here, and the one thing that may, relatively, constitute such is that the small danishes offered as part of the "continental breakfast" were passably fresh. But, I simply could not recommend this establishment unless better, basic amenities were offered in the rooms (particularly given the room prices being charged) and, critically, that staff receive desperately needed training in the art of hospitality -- particularly the concepts of welcome and warmth, both of which were entirely absent during this stay.

Room Tip: Find another place to stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank R F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rockford, Michigan
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2013

Me and my little family stayed here in mid-July, we were happy with the property as a whole and enjoyed our stay, the area is wonderful and has a lot to offer so there really isn't a lot of time that needs to be spent in the room.

Pros:
-Clean
-Quiet
-Area is beautiful with lots to do.
-Good continental breakfast.
-Updated
-All rooms have a view of the lake.

Cons:
-NOT Beachfront, it is "lakefront" but there is definitely no beach...
-Kind of pricey.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Justin E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Detroit, Michigan
Level Contributor
36 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2013

I was pleasantly surprised by how modern/new this hotel was based on its location in the U.P. It has wonderful views of the lake from every room, a nice spacious courtyard leading to the beach(although the beach is rocky). It is conveniently located between the waterfalls and downtown. The room was very clean and we had a great night of sleep. A bit pricey, but worth it compared to other options.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WoolTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southgate
2 reviews
Reviewed 8 July 2013

Rooms are clean, staff is great, and the backyard is definately the best in town. My only complaint is that the rooms have no curtains! They have blinds, but prepare for a really bright room by 7am. .................................................................................

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeanna R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Munising
2.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Munising -  Lakeview
1.0 mi away
Boarders Inn and Suites by Cobblestone Munising
1.4 mi away
Roam Inn
Roam Inn
#2 of 11 in Munising
5.0 of 5 bubbles 33 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Munising
2.5 mi away
North Star Hotel – Pictured Rocks
1.0 mi away
Pictured Rocks Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beach Inn Motel on Munising Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beach Inn Motel on Munising Bay

Property: Beach Inn Motel on Munising Bay
Address: E 9360 H58, Munising, MI 49862
Region: United States > Michigan > Upper Peninsula > Munising
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 11 Hotels in Munising
Number of rooms: 24

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing