We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We enjoyed our stay”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Munising
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Beach Inn Motel on Munising Bay
Ranked #7 of 11 Hotels in Munising
Certificate of Excellence
Saint Johns, Michigan
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“We enjoyed our stay”
Reviewed 24 November 2013

This hotel is conveniently located to downtown Munising - for meals - and to the National Lakeshore and other local activities.

It was clean, modern, and the service was very good. I loved the outdoor area right next to the lake (Munising Bay) with all of the lawn chairs, BBQ's, and a fire pit. It was like camping, but with a nice room to go back to.

It is a little pricy, but we really enjoyed it and have no complaints whatsoever.

Room Tip: All rooms have either direct access to or a view of the back green area and lake. I personally pref...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yadagoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

167 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    70
    61
    26
    3
    7
See reviews for
54
77
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, IL
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2013

Nice accommodations in the heart of pictured rocks area. All of the units provide lake views, but the sun can be intense in the afternoon even on a cool day. This required the closure of the blinds to keep the room at a comfort level.

It is a newer facility, & much closer to town/pictured rocks than some of the big chains. They provided a nice continental breakfast, & bonfire every evening.

Please request you do not get the handicapped room, unless you really need it. This room was very sparse of furniture, hangers, hooks & items the traveller requires. If I hadn't switched rooms the second day my review would have not been as considerate.

Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank CarolSmu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lansing, Michigan
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 October 2013 via mobile

The reason my husband and I chose to stay at this hotel where the positive reviews from others who have stayed. We definitely were not disappointed. Each room had a wonderful view of the water of Lake superior. I had not even known that there was an included continental breakfast, but we did get it on both days. Hotel staff was very friendly, and you could tell the property had all been remodeled. The only reason I am not giving this property five stars in every category is because when we got into our room, there were a couple spiders that my husband had to kill for me. Spiders are to be expected in hotels along the water, but I was a little disappointed that there were some inside the hotel room. But, I don't want that to take away from anybody experience, because I would recommend this hotel to anybody.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephanie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Apple Valley
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2013

Stayed at the Beach Inn three nights while visiting the Pictured Rocks National Lakeshore and surrounding area. It was in a great location on the edge of town, with a view of Munising across the bay. Large concrete parking lot in the back, and a beautiful spacious front lawn leading to Lake Superior. Lawn chairs for each unit right at the door. Very clean well maintained rooms and large! Desk personnel were very friendly and helpful on where to go, and how to get there. They had a very adequate continental breakfast. We found the wifi worked very well.

Room Tip: It is a two story building, 12 units on each floor. We liked the first floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tk M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Poynette, Wisconsin
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2013

We stayed here one night while visiting the Pictured Rocks National Lakeshore. The hotel exterior is attractive and it is right on the bay with lots of chairs outside for guests. The beds were comfortable, but are made with only sheets so if you need a blanket you'll have to find it in the drawers. We were exhausted when going to bed and didn't find the blankets till in the early morning when we were freeezing. Wifi worked ok and breakfast was fine, except there is limited seating. The rooms were fairly clean, but our bathroom had splatters on the walls and also dirty handprints. Overall not bad.

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank bucky5860
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2013

The name of the motel speaks itself... I am so glad that hubby and I made our annual trip to UP and gave the Beach Inn Motel a shot. The motel feels new and well maintained. It is located away from the main town area, so you can fully enjoy the serenity. The service was warm. The view of the outdoor seating area was absolutely gorgeous. I would have spent the whole day sitting there and watched how dynamic and magical the lake was. The breakfast was complementary with a moderate varieties of options: muffins, bagels, toasts, cereals, oatmeals, etc. A few minor issues: there was hair all over on the sink hole of the bath tub. The wireless reception was poor in the room.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marion T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kimball, Michigan
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2013

After searching high and low for a hotel to book for our anniversary trip to Munising I found this wonderful place, so glad I looked for so long!! We stayed two nights and didn't want to leave!! From the moment we checked in to the time we checked out was a great experience!! This is a newer hotel/motel in Munising right on the bay with only 24 rooms making it quite and very relaxing. Clean rooms, beautifully landscaped with well maintained flowers everywhere! Walk out patio with every room. A paved sidewalk leading out to the water, a fire pit, BBQ grills and a ton of seating for guests to use. Our room was very clean and comfortable. Large plush towels and wash clothes, comfortable bed, great view of the water and sun rise and sun sets! This was so much better then a hotel chain, they made you feel right at home, not a ton of rules with you can't do this and you have to do that..we only seen one front desk clerk and one housekeeper the two days we were here, so we didn't feel like we were being "watched" all the time. The guy that checked us in and out was very nice and helpful (sorry I didn't get his name). They have a free breakfast every morning with breads, english muffins, bagels, cereals, oatmeal, fruits, yogurt, coffee, milk and juice. I can't say enough good things about this Inn!! The only down fall is the parking, they were full our first night and the parking lot is not that big. We went out and got back late and had to squeeze in a space in front of the lobby to park as all the spots were full in the lot. But was not a huge deal as we were still able to park somewhere, but they should consider making more parking as I think this place will be a huge hit and always have a ton of guests!! By far this is the nicest place to stay in Munising!! Most of the hotels/motels in the area look old and run down and not very pleasing to the eye, but Beach Inn is well maintained and beautiful with great hospitality!! Would not stay anywhere else in Munising and would recommend to others over and over again! There is also two waterfalls near this Inn, one just across the street (a bit of a hike through the woods) and one down the road a bit. It is not that far of a drive to Miner's Castle overlook or Miner's beach as well. Thank you Beach Inn for making our anniversary stay with you a wonderful memorable one! :)

Room Tip: Book a 1st floor room so you can walk right out to the seating area/water and don't have to both...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Munising
1.0 mi away
Boarders Inn and Suites by Cobblestone Munising
2.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Munising -  Lakeview
1.4 mi away
Roam Inn
Roam Inn
#2 of 11 in Munising
71 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Munising
0.0 mi away
North Star Hotel – Pictured Rocks
1.0 mi away
Pictured Rocks Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beach Inn Motel on Munising Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beach Inn Motel on Munising Bay

Property: Beach Inn Motel on Munising Bay
Address: E 9360 H58, Munising, MI 49862
Region: United States > Michigan > Upper Peninsula > Munising
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 11 Hotels in Munising
Number of rooms: 24

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing