We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasantly Surprised”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Beach Inn Motel on Munising Bay
Ranked #6 of 11 Hotels in Munising
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 July 2014

We stayed the weekend here in room 122 and were pleasantly surprised with the room. The room was definitely more updated than some other local motels and the view from the back was really nice. Others have mentioned that there is not beach access. I don't think the website said there was, but I think people assume there is an actual beach because of the name. There is no sandy beach. You can tell that the motel is actually quite old based on the texture on the ceiling of the room, but it has been updated for the most part. The bathroom was not as updated as the actual room. The room had crown moulding while the bathroom had 1x4 as crown. Not pretty. The bathroom left a bit to be desired but it was functional. I will say that the other review that mentioned the loose headboards was accurate. Just sitting on the end of the bed to put on shoes caused the headboard to smack the wall. We did not have the issue with the mosquitos in the room like other reviewers had. Our main issue was the lack of drapes on the windows. There are mini blinds but they do very little to keep the room dark so we woke up at 5:30 every morning because the room was so bright. They really need to put up drapes-preferably light blocking drapes. The mini fridge was actually larger than expected and very handy. The free ice was a nice feature as well because it saved a trip into town in the morning before heading out to Pictured Rocks. The breakfast was sparse but the blueberry mini muffins were tasty. There were no hot items so if you are looking for a hotel with a great breakfast, this is not it. The parking lot has no painted lines creating a row in the large center area of the lot so when the lot gets full in the evening, people seem confused about parking. There is plenty of space but some additional painted parking spots would just make parking easier. Overall, this was way better than we expected. It was a bit expensive but that was true of almost everywhere in the area, so it was not out of line with the nearby lodging options. We will stay again.

Room Tip: I think any room would be good. 122 is main floor and that was really convenient. The view was not s...
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank SophieFace2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (177)
There are newer reviews for Beach Inn Motel on Munising Bay
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

124 - 130 of 177 reviews

Reviewed 20 July 2014 via mobile

This property sits right on the lake. It was raining while we were there but we still enjoyed the view from the covered balcony. Our room was clean but one wall had a white repair patch. It looked nice otherwise. I kept thinking someone would show up with a can of paint.
Staff were nice and the breakfast was fine.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Kathleen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2014

We stayed at the Beach Inn for 2 nights while sight seeing in the UP. The location is very nice being right on the water. They provided outdoor chairs which was great for enjoying the view and sunsets in the evening. The room was very basic but fairly updated. I'm not super picky, but the room could've been a little cleaner. (I had to clean bug guts off the walls when we arrived.) The hotel does provide a decent complimentary breakfast which included bagels, muffins, cereal, yogurt, coffee, juice, etc. Overall, we would stay here again. Great location for visiting the Pictured Rocks!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Indygal20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2014

The motel appears to be very new but poorly constructed. The rooms appear very nice at first sight but there are fit and finish issues everywhere. Excellent views of Munising Bay from every room. The staff were very nice and friendly.
The beds are very hard and the headboards hit the walls if you just move around a little, staff needs to bolt the headboards to the walls. There were no blankets on the bed, just a bedspread that needed to be cleaned badly. We were in a downstairs room and could hear every noise from the room above us. Was hard to get a restful sleep under these conditions.
On the positive side room had a large refrigerator and microwave, great view of the bay, and the water pressure in the shower was good. Price was high considering the many flaws.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank gk681
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2014

This was the 4th annual mom & daughter hiking trip to Munising, MI and our first time staying at the Beach Inn Motel (same owners of Sunset on the Bay Motel which is just down the road a little). Check in was flawless (Michael was GREAT our whole stay), got our keys and headed to our room. As soon as we opened the door our jaws dropped and all we could do was ooooo and ahhhhh. The view of Munising Bay, from the window of our room (second floor) was breathtakingly beautiful! The shades on the window (big) and door were already up when we walked into the room, a brilliant idea! Outside the door is a long covered balcony and chairs, holy cannoli - I can't explain how gorgeous this setting is!
The sunsets ... ohhhhhhhh the sunsets ...
If you're planning going anywhere near the U. P. here are just a few things I'd recommend. If you go in the spring/summer - BUG SPRAY, and then you'll need BUG SPRAY. Additionally, I would recommend BUG SPRAY. The mosquitoes were horrendous. Our host explained that there is a virus (not yet identified at the time of our stay) that is killing the bats up there. Less bats means A LOT more mosquitoes. When we left the room we tried to open the door just a crack and squeeze out so that the little buggers wouldn't get in. In the top drawer of the dresser is a fly swatter. USE IT. (I do believe that I made Mr. Miyagi proud, I used my bare hands to catch and squish them - because I'm a ninja)
It's a good idea to have a citronella candle to burn when you're sitting on the balcony (because you will) or on the lawn by the water (you'll sit there too) to keep the bugs away.
This motel provides breakfast each morning, bagels, muffins (english and sweet), yogurt, danish, cereal, oatmeal, coffee and tea ... I might have forgotten something ... let's just say it's more than sufficient. The rooms are clean and air conditioned, the water in the shower is hot, the beds are comfortable with plenty of puffy pillows.
The back lawn of this place is great. Lawn chairs set up all over, a fire pit (you supply firewood), a couple of grills, a two person swing right at the waters edge of the bay (kayak anyone?). This location is per.fect.ion.
It's a short drive to M28, where a lot of attractions, restaurants, etc are, BUT ... if you're adventurous, you can hike it. It's also a short drive to Munising Falls (yes, we hiked that too, every evening after a long day of ... hiking) as well as a couple of other waterfalls.
This motel is quiet, it's peaceful, it's convenient to everything and you will not find a better location.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Adventureous1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2014 via mobile

My wife and I stayed here one night last month as we were in Munising to see the fabled Pictured Rocks. The proprietor was very friendly and welcoming and told us that one of the best meals in town could be found at the Casino and she was right. The room was clean and well cared for, and the property was like a nice, small park on the water along with its own loitering Canada Goose! Yes, there were Mosquitos, as other reviews have noted but this is the U.P. In June for goodness sakes! Mosquitos live up there! Get used to it! The motel's location is great and very quiet. We would stay again!

Stayed: June 2014
Thank Fahren3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2014

There is much to recommend this motel. It has a beautiful waterfront location, and the owner has gone out of his/her way to make the most of the waterfront. There are comfortable chairs provided, a fire pit, three barbeque grills for guest use, and a swing seat. There is room for family frisbee as well. Each room looks out on the lawn and the bay, and each room has its own chairs outside the door. All of this leads to a very relaxing stay. The room itself was clean, although not quite spotless. The decor was standard hotel decor, but the beds were comfortable and there was plenty of hot water in the shower. Check in took about two minutes. Breakfast was adequate, although a bit limited.

This is why I do not understand why the owners neglect small things that would make guests so much more comfortable. For example, during mosquito season, why not make available plug in mosquito repellent? We had these in Venice, and we did not see a mosquito. The motel cannot stop them from coming in when the doors open, but it could do more to get rid of them. Then, why not leave two bars of soap, one for the shower and one for the sink? It is a pain to transfer from one to the other. Or better, why not install a body wash dispenser in the shower? In addition, the room was lacking a few important things: a grab bar in the shower surround and a place to hang clothes. An ironing board might also have been nice as would a list of local restaurants, etc. More important: there was no blankets on the beds. I guess were were supposed to use the bedspreads, but I am not a fan of using bedspreads, and it was cold at night. A couple of blankets in the room would have helped.

I can live with all of this, however, but what was harder for us was the fact that the cleaning staff did not clean the bathroom each day. They either changed or folded the towels (I could not tell which), but they did not swab out the toilet or the tub. Gross! They did not notice that the tissue box was empty, etc. Then, the final issue was at check out. We wanted to be on the road early, since we had a long drive home, and when we went to breakfast at 7:10 (breakfast is 7-10), the office/breakfast room was locked and dark. There was a sign on the door to call a number, so we called and possibly got someone out of bed. We were assured that someone would be there shortly, but we waited awhile and no one came. Even if that person had come, I don't think breakfast would have been ready for us to get away at a good time. We went to Hardy's for breakfast. This is a management issue, and we might expect these things from a cheap motel, but this one is very expensive.

I gave this four stars because we can tolerate a lot, and because it was generally very peaceful. We enjoyed our stay in spite of the limitations. But if your expectations are higher than ours, you will want to know what you can expect here. Other hotels in Munising may work better but not be as nice or have a view, so the choice of this one involves balancing what you value.

Room Tip: All room are the same; they all face the water. We chose downstairs rather than second floor, and i...
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelmom015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Munising
2.3 mi away
Boarders Inn and Suites by Cobblestone Munising
2.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Munising -  Lakeview
1.4 mi away
Roam Inn
Roam Inn
#2 of 11 in Munising
92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Munising
13.9 mi away
North Star Hotel – Pictured Rocks
207.0 mi away
Pictured Rocks Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beach Inn Motel on Munising Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beach Inn Motel on Munising Bay

Address: E 9360 H58, Munising, MI 49862
Region: United States > Michigan > Upper Peninsula > Munising
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 11 Hotels in Munising
Price Range: £91 - £164 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Beach Inn Motel on Munising Bay 2.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Beach Inn Motel on Munising Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing