We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Awesome location”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Munising
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Munising Tourist Park Campground
Traverse City, Michigan
Level Contributor
25 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Awesome location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2014

Our first time here, and we were not disappointed. Excellent location, free wi-fi, close to town. Mosquitoes were horrible, but they are everywhere this year. We will be back. Be sure to try Johnny Dogs, lots of variety.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank NotThatPicky77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    54
    24
    19
    8
    6
See reviews for
51
36
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wisconsin Rapids, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2014

We come to Tourist Park every year! Huge sites! Pat the manager is really great to deal with. 100% dog friendly!! WIFI at your site, not sure if you can get it on the far ends of the campground but we have never had a problem. We have done this trip for years, used to be easy to get a good site, now the secret is out and you have to book at the beginning of the year to get a waterfront site. Satellite tv comes in great if you have one of the open sites. Cell phones are no problem either..You are right on the shores of Lake Superior and the sunsets are to die for. Close to town so easy to run if you need something. We have traveled in our motorhome for years and this is our favorite campground... Must say Michigan knows how to welcome you, everyone we have met in town has been very very friendly!! They have firewood but there is a place in town just past the grocery store, you pay in the box and it's the cheapest wood around unless you get lucky like we have and the apartment complexes near town are cleaning the beach's and offer all the wood for free.. We LOVE this place!!!! Coming back this week... Not telling which site is the best>> gonna keep that secret to myself... ;-)

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sherri Jo L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Naples, Florida
Level Contributor
249 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2013

We recently spent three days at this park and enjoyed it very much. We had a great site right on the beach backing up to Lake Superior.
The bath house that was near us was very clean and had HOT water, which is such a great surprise. We camp pretty regularly and it is not very often we get hot water in the bathhouses.
We will definitely return to this campground. I did a bit of research before booking this and most of the comments were very favorable. We were just approaching "off season" so I was able to get a spot right on the beach by making reservations about two weeks ahead. I'm sure this must be an extremely popular location in the summer and reservations would be required well in advance!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Harrisgumby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester, New York
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2013

Our site had a beautiful view of the lake, but our site was mostly sand which was disappointing. The bathrooms were not clean and we did not even try the showers. Cheap wood was available to buy which was great.

Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
5 Thank Jeparks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2013 via mobile

We stayed in a tent and our spot was just a few yards from the water. It was beautiful!!. Park was clean and safe. Plenty of sites for large RV's. While there we took the Pictured Rocks boat tour which is just a few minutes away.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank Emrose63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holland, Michigan
Level Contributor
113 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2013

This campground was great. The staff was friendly and the tent site we were at was right on the water/beach. Although a bit sandy the sites were pretty well spaced and the bathrooms were relatively clean. They did seem to close them every morning around 9:00 am though - just fair warning! This place was wonderful and I would definitely recommend staying if you're looking for a campground in the area.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
6 Thank flounder08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westland, Michigan
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2013

The tent sites are incredible. We were camping almost right on the beach. It was a great view and the staff was extremely nice and helpful. The restrooms and showers leaved much to be desired, but I would still highly recommend this campground to anyone visiting the area.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Peteh734
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Munising
1.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Munising -  Lakeview
2.3 mi away
Boarders Inn and Suites by Cobblestone Munising
1.8 mi away
Roam Inn
Roam Inn
#3 of 11 in Munising
5.0 of 5 bubbles 26 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Munising
2.7 mi away
Pictured Rocks Inn & Suites
5.1 mi away
North Star Hotel – Pictured Rocks
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Munising Tourist Park Campground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Munising Tourist Park Campground

Property: Munising Tourist Park Campground
Address: 301 E Superior St, Munising, MI 49862-1057
Region: United States > Michigan > Upper Peninsula > Munising
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Speciality Lodging in Munising
Number of rooms: 80

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing