We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place and great rates!”
Review of Munising Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Munising Motel
Ranked #11 of 11 Hotels in Munising
Grand Rapids, Michigan
1 review
“Great place and great rates!”
Reviewed 12 June 2013

I have recently stayed at this motel and I have to say, I had a very pleasant stay! The staff was extremely helpful and answered my every question. They gave me the low down on the the "must see" views around town, along with which restaurants I should eat at. The location of this Motel is perfect. It is within walking distance to many of the bars, restaurants and also anything else around town! The rooms were very clean and also up to date. Overall, I had a great time staying at this motel, and I will definitely recommend my friends to it. The small town atmosphere will keep me coming back! Thanks for the great service and affordable rates!!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Charles B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    20
    19
    13
    12
    7
See reviews for
18
32
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Onsted, Michigan
1 review
Reviewed 12 June 2013

The motel is right in Munising, walking distance to everything, the staff was very helpful and informative of things to do, places to eat, as well as events going on in the area. The room was very reasonable, the bed was comfortable and the rooms were clean. It was a very nice place to stay, and would recommend it to anyone looking to stay in Munising.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ctfd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trout Creek, Michigan
2 reviews
Reviewed 31 May 2013

Passed through Munising last week and stayed at the Munising Motel (It was right next door to the restaurant where we ate supper). The room was spotless and comfortable, and I slept well despite being right next to a busy road. The staff suggested a couple of local attractions not to miss while we were in town - we got up in time to visit a local waterfall before we left and it was one of the highlights of the trip. Thanks to the folks at Munising Motel for a great stay!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sara B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 18 September 2012 via mobile

It was not the Hilton but still very nice. The room looked newly remodeled. The beds and room were clean. We would stay there again. We arrived late and they left the light on for us and the door unlocked. Very pleasant.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RobnHearther
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adrian, MI
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2012

We were going to stay at the Terrace but they were booked so we found the Munising Hotel on the corner of M28 and Cedar St on Onota St. The front desk clerk was great and accomodating. She pointed out where the coffee was located, and after walking our luggage up a set of stairs I came down to get some and it was cold. It was after 5pm so maybe they only keep it filled during the morning hours. The second floor deck we walked on to get to our room is VERY loud and creaky, which we really did not enjoy the next morning while trying to sleep at 7am as people were getting out and about walking on it to get downstairs. The room was clean, however our room (#109 which is on the second floor despite the room number) was slanted on a noticable angle. If I were to have laid a marble on the floor upon walking in, it would have rolled all the way to the back wall. This made me very uneasy. How does this building pass any kind of inspection based on this fact alone?? Bed was too small for myself and my husband, we had to roll over in place during the night. On a positive note it is within walking distance from many stores and restaurants. If you are staying more than one night, I would not recommend this motel.

Room Tip: First floor is a better choice, you will avoid the loud upper walkway and possible avoid a room slan...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bethlh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Poughquag, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 September 2012

On our recent trip through the Upper Peninsula, we wanted to spend a few days in Munising. We took the Pictured Rocks cruise and were referred by them to the Munising Motel.

The motel is located right in town and within close walking distance to 2 restaurants, a gas station, a grocery store, a laundry mat and 2 bars. A 2 block walk got us right into the shopping part of town.

It was affordable and very clean. It is a pet friendly motel, although you would never know if there had been an animal in the room. The owner was very accommodating when we needed a place to park our trailer and helpful when we asked advice on some of the local attractions.

We would highly recommend Munising Motel to anyone passing through Munising, and we will definitely stay with them again.

Room Tip: There is no continental breakfast, but the rooms on the second level have fridges and microwaves. Th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MichelleF_382222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand Rapids, Michigan
1 review
Reviewed 3 September 2012

This quaint motel was exactly what we needed! After passing through Munising and saw how much there was to see and do, we stayed two nights here and were extremely pleased with the cleanliness and service that was provided to us. The location has everything you need within one block, it was clean, and you can't beat the price! This experience will have me staying "local" while traveling more often!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tatertot17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Munising
2.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Munising -  Lakeview
2.4 mi away
Boarders Inn and Suites by Cobblestone Munising
0.8 mi away
Roam Inn
Roam Inn
#2 of 11 in Munising
38 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Munising
2.6 mi away
North Star Hotel – Pictured Rocks
0.1 mi away
Pictured Rocks Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Munising Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Munising Motel

Property: Munising Motel
Address: 332 E Onota St, Munising, MI 49862-1054
Region: United States > Michigan > Upper Peninsula > Munising
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 11 Hotels in Munising
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We would like to welcome all of our customers to stay with us and enjoy the convenience of our location. The Munising Motel is located in downtown Munising and within walking distance to many of the local Upper Michigan attractions. Alger County is a wonderful place to visit year round and the Munising Motel is a great place to stay while vacationing in the area. The Munising Motel offers corporate, monthly, and seasonal rates. Our rooms are extremely clean and spacious. The Munising Motel has recently received remodeling inside and out. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing