We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just What I Needed...”
Review of Munising Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Munising Motel
Ranked #10 of 11 Hotels in Munising
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Just What I Needed...”
Reviewed 18 August 2014

Traveling with my son through UP on way to college. Planned on camping... but...not in the rain. Found the Munising Motel perfect. $80 per night...Walk to dining...Nice, clean, rooms...friendly owners. Internet is slow but I have a hotspot. Staying two nights. Will update when we are done. So far I think it is great.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dsupdike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    21
    21
    14
    13
    7
See reviews for
21
34
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2014

Stayed at Days Inn for two of our three nights, priced too high for mediocre accommodations. We got a referral from the wreck dive employees to go to Munising Motel, VERY clean and definitely a better value!!!!!

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MMillion12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand rapids
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2014

This very small motel has a lot going for it! As soon as I arrived the staff couldn't be more helpful and friendly! The rooms were a good size and SUPER clean! Beds and pillows were comfortable. The bathroom was very cute and nicely remodeled. If you re looking for a small place to stay right near town this is it! I would recommend this place to everyone!

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mollysue2233
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pinckney, Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 August 2014

Stopped in to this motel on our way to Wisconsin and found a nice clean, quiet place to stay. Staff was very friendly and helpful. Close to downtown and lots of restaurants. Across the street is shooters bar. We stopped in there had a cocktail and a pizza. Lots of craft beers if you are into that. We will definitely come stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tallahassee
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2014

The units are crammed tightly in a rather small two floor building. The walls and ceilings were paper-thin. I could hear the people above stomping on the floor and running up and down the stairs during the night. Traffic noise from adjacent highway can be annoying. The internet signal was too weak to be usable in the room. The bathroom was in disrepair. The washbasin stopper was stuck down, had to pry loose to wash my hands. Small shower stall with no soap/shampoo holder. Towel rack next to the shower stall was broken. Electrical 110V outlets in the room hard to reach. On a positive note, overall cleanliness was OK.
No breakfast.

Room Tip: Use only in case of emergency, otherwise move on. For $100.00 you could do much better in a brand-na...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Franco1938
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Munising hotels

Doylestown, Ohio
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2014

Munising Motel is located conveniently near the west entrance to Pictured Rocks National Lakeshore. The owner is very friendly, and offered information and suggestions for the area. The room was clean, but no-frills, so the price for the room seemed high considering.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Laura C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2014

Nice location, but rooms need some work. Carpet looks horrid, door knobs falling off in bathroom, ac/heat blows the stench of smoke. Was recently painted, albeit poorly inside. TV stopped working(froze) amd didn't work the rest of or stay. Free fast Wi-Fi.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BerZerKus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Munising
0.2 mi away
Boarders Inn and Suites by Cobblestone Munising
2.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Munising -  Lakeview
0.8 mi away
Roam Inn
Roam Inn
#2 of 11 in Munising
75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Munising
0.0 mi away
North Star Hotel – Pictured Rocks
0.1 mi away
Pictured Rocks Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Munising Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Munising Motel

Property: Munising Motel
Address: 332 E Onota St, Munising, MI 49862-1054
Region: United States > Michigan > Upper Peninsula > Munising
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 11 Hotels in Munising
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We would like to welcome all of our customers to stay with us and enjoy the convenience of our location. The Munising Motel is located in downtown Munising and within walking distance to many of the local Upper Michigan attractions. Alger County is a wonderful place to visit year round and the Munising Motel is a great place to stay while vacationing in the area. The Munising Motel offers corporate, monthly, and seasonal rates. Our rooms are extremely clean and spacious. The Munising Motel has recently received remodeling inside and out. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing