We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice looking but poor construction makes for a noisy stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Munising - Lakeview
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Munising
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 October 2007

It is the best hotel in Munising, with lovely views and new enough (2 yrs) old to show well. However, the building itself was constructed on the cheap. As I sit here in the hotel writing this the entire floor and ceiling is shaking because there is construction 500 yds away at the shore. Last night I could hear almost every word of my neighbors conversation because the walls were so thin. Ask to be on the top floor because otherwise you will hear every move above you. Disappointing because it's situation on the lake is great - wish they would have spent a little extra for quality construction.

  • Stayed: October 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Rural-Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (670)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

641 - 647 of 670 reviews

Reviewed 21 September 2007

My wife, dog, and I stayed here in September 2007. We chose this hotel because of the excellent reviews and also because they are pet friendly. Just as the other reviews say, this hotel was beautiful and excellent.

Check in was fast and efficient - our keys and paperwork was all ready for us. We were also given a "doggie bag" for our dog. We were given a room on the first floor with a patio door which was great for our dog! If you do not have a pet, I would recommend requesting for a room on the upper floors so that your view will be nicer.

The room was nice and clean, the view was wonderful, and the weather was great! The free continental breakfast was good and I was happy to see that they had eggs, cheese, and sausage so that you can make a breakfast sandwich.

Overall, like the others say, a wonderful hotel with excellent service and facilities. Would recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed: September 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank pchang00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2007

We had no problems with this hotel. The view of Lake Superior was wonderful! The staff was great and made every effort to ensure our satisfaction. The room was clean and comfortable. We would definitely stay here again if we are in the area.

  • Stayed: September 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ginlee42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2007

Holiday Inn Express at Munising, MI was wonderful! We did not want to leave. The view of Lake Superior from balcony of guest room was spectacular. Staff was friendly, bed was very comfortable, a generous breakfast was included in room charge, but the view of Lake Superior makes this hotel exceptional. Highly recommend Holiday Inn Express at Munising, MI to everyone traveling that area, and I hope to return there someday myself.

Stayed: September 2007
Thank idareckon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2007

The hotel is on a bluff overlooking Lake Superior. Spend a little extra money and get a 2nd floor lakeside room -- the views are spectacular. You have a panoramic view of Lake Superior and with binoculars you can see the pictured rocks. The 2nd floor rooms have balconies and the first floor rooms have patios. Stay up & watch the moon rise over the lake. The rooms were clean comfortable and spacious. Breakfast wasn't the greatest , but can take your food out to the patio overlooking the lake and linger over your coffee. We had a 2 bedroom suite overlooking the lake which I thought was a very reasonable price. Would be great for family traveling with children or in our case 2 couples shared the room.

  • Stayed: August 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank LibLady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2007

Holiday Inns are a hit and miss. I have stayed in some that are crap and some that are surprisingly nice. Sometimes you get lucky and you check-in into a real gem stone. The Holiday Inn Express Munising is such a gem. This two year old property has an amazing view of Lake Superior. If there was a time where a lake view room is call for, this is it. Contact the hotel in advance and request a third floor Lakeview room. You will not be disappointed.

Our room was very new, clean, and modern. Our double beds covered with European Style bed duvet comforters were very comfy. Since the hotel is only two years old, all the appliances worked great. In addition to having a nice TV with ample channels, the room also had a small refrigerator and a microwave oven. The bathroom was your standard Holiday Inn Express - maybe even a little large than normal. Rooms that are on the lake side have nice balconies where you can sit and enjoy the “Superior” views.

Kids loved the large clean swimming pool, and dad loved the toasty hot sauna and whirlpool. The small gym was adequate enough although I would love if management would replace the broken treadmill (there were two) with a Precor Oscillator stepper.

Breakfast was excellent for a Holiday-Inn Express, and had something for everyone.

The staff was very friendly and welcoming. Holiday Inn Express Munising is highly recommended. From what I saw the best hotel in this area.

Munising Tips: don’t miss the Pictured Rocks cruise (take a nice warm wind breaker and get a sit on the top right side), and make sure to take time out to go hiking at the National Park when you’re there.

  • Stayed: August 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ANewPlaceEveryTime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2007

This is a very nice, new hotel on the outskirts of town. We stayed here with our children aged 15 months & 6 years and they loved the pool (basically a zero entry for the little ones). Wi-Fi availability and internet service in the lobby is a plus for travelers. Wonderful view of Lake Superior, great staff and comfortable (yes, I said comfortable) beds.

  • Stayed: August 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank MNmom73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Munising
1.6 mi away
Roam Inn
Roam Inn
#1 of 11 in Munising
153 reviews
4.7 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Munising
4.4 mi away
Boarders Inn and Suites by Cobblestone Hotels - Munising, MI
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
White Pine Lodge
White Pine Lodge
#2 of 2 in Christmas
156 reviews
2.1 mi away
Beach Inn Motel on Munising Bay
15.1 mi away
North Star Hotel – Pictured Rocks
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Munising - Lakeview? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Munising - Lakeview

Address: E8990 M-28, Munising, MI 49862
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Michigan > Upper Peninsula > Munising
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Munising
Price Range: £74 - £208 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Munising - Lakeview 2.5*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Lakeview sits atop a bluff overlooking one of the most pristine sites in Northern Michigan. You can gaze at the breathtaking views of the world famous Pictured Rocks National Lakeshore or historic Grand Island from our great room or one of the lake view rooms or suites. Located one mile east of Munising, and minutes away from Christmas Kewadin Casino, you can enjoy the Pictured Rocks Boat Cruises voted #1 Boat Cruise in Michigan or the Glass Bottom Boat Shipwreck Tour, cited as one of Michigan's top travel secrets by the Detroit News. You can also lounge around our spacious pool and enjoy our indoor pool with children's play area. For the snow lover, we have access to hundreds of miles of some of the finest snowmobiling in the United States from our doorstep. Conveniently located minutes away is Valley Spur cross country ski trails. Our smoke-free hotel, constructed in 2005 has lake view suites, hilltop suites, private balconies, high-speed Internet access and large color TVs with plenty of in room entertainment options. We offer meeting space, a fitness center and a pool with hot tub and custom built sauna. Our staff is eager to welcome you to make our hotel your new home away from home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, IHG, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Munising - Lakeview reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Munising - Lakeview Hotel Munising
Munising Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing