We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Munising - Lakeview
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Munising
Certificate of Excellence
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Level Contributor
111 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel”
Reviewed 28 November 2011

The hotel is a bit past town so we had trouble finding it in the dark and under heavy rain, but it was clean, very nice, comfortable, and with a spectacular view on Lake Superior. It looked better than the other hotels in town. Very conveniently located near to the Pictured Rock park, and it is within reasonable travel distance from the Porcupine park. Excellent value.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with view on the lake. It's more expensive but it's worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Enrico543
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

590 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    295
    208
    62
    21
    4
See reviews for
189
262
18
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (201)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Michigan
Level Contributor
28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2011

This was a great hotel to stay at. It was very clean. Beds were exceptionally comfortable. The only drawback, was the parking lot was down a hill and you had to climb and walk stairs outside to get back to the hotel. You could drive thru and leave your luggage. There was handicapped parking on top of the hill at the hotel doors, but if you're not handicapped, but just have a hard time walking up and down stairs, it wasn't as convenient.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PlaneJaneMichigan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wisconsin
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2011

When we arrived, we were greeted by friendly front desk staff. We were informed we had been upgraded to a lakeview room. The room was very spacious and the view was great. King sized bed, couch, coffee table,arm chairs and a desk were all in the room. Smaller sized refrigerator, but we didn't need to put much in it over than leftovers from dinner. The counter top in the bathroom was nice and big. Room was clean and well-kept. Front desk gladly gave us additiona shampoos as soon as we requested. Breakfast included scrambled eggs, sausage gravy, biscuits, sausage patties, warm cinnamon buns, yogurt, pancakes and more. Coffee cups were large (which if you drink coffee, is something to get excited about!). We came down to breakfast very late and I thought we would just be left with what was there. But, the staff was putting out new hot food at 9:55, so we got hot, fresh food to eat, even if breakfast was supposed to be over. Nice, relaxing visit to rejuvinate after a day at Pictured Rocks.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Redheadtraveler29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lansing, MI
Level Contributor
89 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2011

The hotel itself is pretty standard for a Holiday Inn Express. The rooms are nice, clean, and quiet. Fairly average rooms. Front desk staff is very friendly and helpful. The great thing about this hotel is the location and view of Munising Bay. The hotel is located high on a bluff with a great view to the east (you must request a room with a view). The breakfast is also very nice for a free hotel breakfast. A lot of food choices, well stocked, and fresh. The dedicated breakfast room also has a great view of the bay. A good choice if you need a room in Munising.

Room Tip: Request a room with a view. This will cost more.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BeaconTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Lansing, Michigan
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2011

There are cheaper places in town, but the room was quiet (it was a Sunday night) and comfortable. Also, it was nice having a deck with a great view, even though the weather was cloudy and chilly when we were there. A very good breakfast, with many of the normal breakfast foods, but a step up. The danishes were good and they had warm cinnamon rolls. Eggs and sausage, waffles etc. Didn't use the indoor pool, but it was open until 11 PM and if I had brought a suit I would've used it.
I'll return if I come back to the area.

Room Tip: We had a top floor room. Also, had to pay extra for water view room, but it was worth it to me.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tomkbart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wisconsin
Level Contributor
31 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2011

When we booked our room, we selected the non-lakeside, because it was a cheaper rate. At the same time, we also signed up for the free membership (this is important later on). The outside of the hotel is kind of like a log cabin, but with fake painted wood shingles? A few of them were missing, and you were able to clearly see the white vapor barrier below. It just makes the outside look a little rinky dinky. The inside is rather nice. On check in, because we signed up for the rewards program, we were upgraded free of charge to a second story room with a view. BONUS. Our view was spectacular. Each lakeside room has its own porch, seperated from your neighbors by a small wall. Again, the outside had some missing shingles, or some that were not painted. Cosmetic. The room had a firm king sized bed, and a couch, but the room still felt empty, like they were missing a dresser or something. The bathroom was spacious, with a large vanity. We were close to the elevator, so there was a bit of hallway noise, but the room fan took care of it. Breakfast was more than your standard hot eats. There were pancakes, eggs, sausages, biscuits, gravy, Cinnamon Rolls, the works. It was much better than what we were expecting. All in all, a positive experience, and we will stay again.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank SlothgarT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Myers, Florida
Level Contributor
43 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2011

Stayed here in early October 2011 while vacationing in area to check out the Painted Rocks - cute rustic decor, beautiful view of the bay, great pool area, clean, friendly staff, but.......sounded like a herd of buffalo was staying in the room above us.

This is probably the best option for the area if you're more comfortable staying in chain hotels with names you trust, but if you go be sure to request a room on the top floor. It's what my family calls a "stick hotel" in that the floors between levels are wooden and you will hear EVERY. SINGLE. MOVE. the people above you make. Very very loud.

Other than that, great place to stay and definitely spend the little extra $ to get a water view room. Just make sure you're on the 3rd floor or bring some ear plugs because you're going to need them.

Room Tip: Request the 3rd floor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank badgergirl75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Munising
4.4 mi away
Boarders Inn and Suites by Cobblestone Munising
4.7 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Munising
1.6 mi away
Roam Inn
Roam Inn
#2 of 11 in Munising
40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
North Star Hotel – Pictured Rocks
2.3 mi away
Pictured Rocks Inn & Suites
4.1 mi away
Alger Falls Motel
Alger Falls Motel
#8 of 11 in Munising
130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Munising - Lakeview? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Munising - Lakeview

Property: Holiday Inn Express Munising - Lakeview
Address: E8990 M-28, Munising, MI 49862
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Michigan > Upper Peninsula > Munising
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Munising
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Munising - Lakeview 2.5*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Lakeview sits atop a bluff overlooking one of the most pristine sites in Northern Michigan. You can gaze at the breathtaking views of the world famous Pictured Rocks National Lakeshore or historic Grand Island from our great room or one of the lake view rooms or suites. Located one mile east of Munising, and minutes away from Christmas Kewadin Casino, you can enjoy the Pictured Rocks Boat Cruises voted #1 Boat Cruise in Michigan or the Glass Bottom Boat Shipwreck Tour, cited as one of Michigan's top travel secrets by the Detroit News. You can also lounge around our spacious pool and enjoy our indoor pool with children's play area. For the snow lover, we have access to hundreds of miles of some of the finest snowmobiling in the United States from our doorstep. Conveniently located minutes away is Valley Spur cross country ski trails. Our smoke-free hotel, constructed in 2005 has lake view suites, hilltop suites, private balconies, high-speed Internet access and large color TVs with plenty of in room entertainment options. We offer meeting space, a fitness center and a pool with hot tub and custom built sauna. Our staff is eager to welcome you to make our hotel your new home away from home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Munising - Lakeview reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Munising - Lakeview Hotel Munising
Munising Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing