We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice location/ thin walls!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Munising - Lakeview
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Munising
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 May 2014

Beautiful location,clean hotel, started out in lake view room.....but at 10 pm we asked to move due to being kept awake by the people in next room talking. I think they were just talking in a normal voice but we could hear every word! We had already unpacked...contacted the front desk and they allowed us to move rooms. Unfortunately we were charged more for the room we ended up sleeping in....not a good public relation move! Staff were very friendly and courteous. The front desk person told us they have to move people all the time due to noise complaints. Would not stay here again due the thin walls and noise issue

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kathy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maria S, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Munising - Lakeview, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2014

Dear Kathy C,
Thank you for taking the time to share your comments regarding your recent stay with us, they are very much appreciated. Please accept my sincerest apologies about the noise issues you experienced during your stay here. Thank you for choosing to stay with us and again, please accept my apologies.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (661)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

418 - 424 of 661 reviews

Reviewed 21 May 2014

Great experience. We came without a reservation a week before the season kicks off and were able to get a great room on the 2nd floor with an amazing view. Very friendly staff, nice clean room with comfortable beds. The bathroom was large and the shower had good pressure and plenty of hot water. Decent (not fast) internet, coffee and toiletries.

Room Tip: Come slightly off season
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elizabeth H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maria S, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Munising - Lakeview, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2014

Thank you, Elizabeth, for taking the time to share your wonderful comments. I am glad to see we were able to deliver a great experience and hope that you stay with us again sometime. Thank you for choosing to stay with us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2014

We decided to take a side trip to see Lake Superior. I made a call last minute to get a room and the girl on the end of the line could not have been more friendly or helpful. The rooms are really clean. The beds are comfortable. Check was quick and easy. The continental breakfast was very good and there were plenty of choices. We spent the extra to get a lake view room and we were not disappointed. We watched the sun rise from our room. It was just amazing.

Room Tip: Get a room with a view of the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dick F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maria S, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Munising - Lakeview, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2014

Thank you so much, Dick F, for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay our hotel. I am so glad to see everything worked out so well for you. Our staff tries their best to make you feel welcome from the moment you call our hotel. The sunrise on the lakeview side is definitely something you do not want to miss, I am happy you were able to enjoy it! Thank you again for sharing your comments and choosing to stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2014

This was our favorite place on our recent visit to the UP. We had the most awesome 2 bedroom 2 bath suite with an incredible view of the lake and beautiful sunset. We hated to leave, and didn't find anything else in the area which even came close to being as nice. It was clean, had great beds, balconies, 3 TVs, and even a recliner in the living room. To top it off, the staff was so friendly and helpful. Just so nice!

Room Tip: The top floor with a lake view is fantastic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BAJ34241
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maria S, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Munising - Lakeview, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2014

Thank you for sharing such wonderful comments. I am so glad you were able to enjoy our lakeview family suite! Thank you so much for staying with us and taking the time to write a review. I certainly hope you decide to come back again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2014

Two Seniors and two small dogs, stayed on the main floor with patio doors to small patio, very convenient for the dogs. Gayle at the front desk accommodated our request for "no long hall walks and no steps", she was extremely nice. The room was spacious, clean and microwave made late arrival great.
However, we were unable to get any Hot or Warm water that night or in the morning. Therefore we were unable to shower and washing was a COOL experience.
I would stay here again.

Room Tip: Main floor is very convenient when travelling with pets.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marinalovers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maria S, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Munising - Lakeview, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2014

Thank you so much for staying with us and taking the time to write a review on our property. Your comments are very much appreciated. I am happy to see you enjoyed our pet friendly rooms with the convenient walk out patio. Please accept my sincerest apologies regarding the water temperature experience in your room. Please let us know if you have any issues during your stay so that we can make sure they are fixed as soon as possible for you. I hope to see you back again sometime. Thanks again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2014

We've stayed here several times over the last few years and it is always an enjoyable experience. The location is great - on a bluff over Lake Superior with a view of Pictured Rocks and Grand Island. The rooms are good size and comfortable. The pool area is wonderful with a walk-in pool, hot tub and sauna. They have a free hot food bar along with all the normal cereals, yogurt, oatmeal, muffins. The staff at the hotel are wonderful and if there are any problems they resolve them quickly. The hotel is minutes away from the business district where you'll also find glass bottom shipwreck tours, and pictured rocks tour boats. They also take pets which is important to us.

Room Tip: We always opt for the Lakeview rooms even though it is a little more.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Judith W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maria S, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Munising - Lakeview, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2014

Thank you so much Judith, for sharing your comments. It is wonderful to hear that we are able to provide such an enjoyable experience for you each time you visit us. Thank you for staying with us and we hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2014

I have to give a shout out to Gayle at the front desk. We arrived during a snow storm without reservations, and completely unfamiliar with the area. She helped with lodging arrangements, and during our stay gave us advice about restaurants as well as going to the ice caves at Eben and at Grand Island. The facility was very clean. Loved the extra pillows. There was an ample selection for breakfast. The pool area was larger than what I would have expected for a Holiday Inn Express. We even extended our stay by another day rather than moving on to Marquette.

Word of advice: Get the rooms with a view of Grand Island and Munising Bay. It is worth the up-charge!

Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank paxvobiscum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maria S, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Munising - Lakeview, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2014

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your stay experiences. I am so glad to hear Gayle the "Front Desk Cruise Director" made your stay pleasant by providing information and things to do during one of our snow storms. Thank you again for your wonderful comments and for staying with us, I will make sure Gayle knows about her new title!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Munising
4.4 mi away
Boarders Inn and Suites by Cobblestone Munising
1.6 mi away
Roam Inn
Roam Inn
#1 of 11 in Munising
119 reviews
4.7 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Munising
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Beach Inn Motel on Munising Bay
2.5 mi away
White Pine Lodge
White Pine Lodge
#2 of 2 in Christmas
155 reviews
15.1 mi away
North Star Hotel – Pictured Rocks
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Munising - Lakeview? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Munising - Lakeview

Address: E8990 M-28, Munising, MI 49862
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Michigan > Upper Peninsula > Munising
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Munising
Price Range: £68 - £190 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Munising - Lakeview 2.5*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Lakeview sits atop a bluff overlooking one of the most pristine sites in Northern Michigan. You can gaze at the breathtaking views of the world famous Pictured Rocks National Lakeshore or historic Grand Island from our great room or one of the lake view rooms or suites. Located one mile east of Munising, and minutes away from Christmas Kewadin Casino, you can enjoy the Pictured Rocks Boat Cruises voted #1 Boat Cruise in Michigan or the Glass Bottom Boat Shipwreck Tour, cited as one of Michigan's top travel secrets by the Detroit News. You can also lounge around our spacious pool and enjoy our indoor pool with children's play area. For the snow lover, we have access to hundreds of miles of some of the finest snowmobiling in the United States from our doorstep. Conveniently located minutes away is Valley Spur cross country ski trails. Our smoke-free hotel, constructed in 2005 has lake view suites, hilltop suites, private balconies, high-speed Internet access and large color TVs with plenty of in room entertainment options. We offer meeting space, a fitness center and a pool with hot tub and custom built sauna. Our staff is eager to welcome you to make our hotel your new home away from home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, IHG, TripOnline SA, Expedia, HotelsClick, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Munising - Lakeview reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Munising - Lakeview Hotel Munising
Munising Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing