We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very relaxing -- great for the family!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Munising - Lakeview
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Munising
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 August 2014

What a nice hotel. I had looked at pictures online before we stayed, and I was not disappointed when we arrived. I stayed here with my husband, son, and my mom for a little family get away trip. My husband and I were doing the Pictured Rocks kayak trip.

Our room was beautiful; it had two separate bedrooms, each with king sized beds, two separate bathrooms, and two balconies, one off the main living area and one off of one of the bedrooms. It also had a pull-out couch, microwave, fridge, and a sink. We had a lakeside room with a very nice view.

The pool is great. Our 4-year-old son loved the pool area. There is a neat mushroom looking fountain in the pool that gushes water in a very shallow area perfect for little kids. Both the cold pool and the hot tub are large. There are also nice restrooms in the pool area as well as a sauna.

We had a room on the third floor at the end of the hallway and it was very quiet. We all slept great and the beds were super comfortable, even the pull-out couch.

Breakfast the next morning was good -- yogurt, mini doughnuts, delicious, hot cinnamon rolls, pancakes, sausage, eggs, biscuits, muffins, toast, bagels, English muffins, fresh fruit, juice, coffee, and I'm probably missing some. Needless to say, you shouldn't walk away hungry! The breakfast lady was very good at attending to what needed to be refilled.

All staff I talked to was helpful and friendly. They even let us check in early and had our room nearly all set for us at about 1:30PM. We really appreciated that.

I would most definitely recommend this hotel and I would stay here again. It is a great getaway.

Room Tip: Lakeside, balcony rooms are great and offer beautiful sunrise and sunset views.
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank ageist856
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maria S, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Munising - Lakeview, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2014

Dear ageist856,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a detailed review! We are so happy to hear that you and your family had such a wonderful stay with us and we hope to see you again in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (641)
There are newer reviews for Holiday Inn Express Munising - Lakeview
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

362 - 368 of 641 reviews

Reviewed 18 August 2014

Best view imaginable on the lake side. Comfortable spacious room w/ great balcony. Full house but staff was great. Breakfast exceptional. Wish we had planned a longer stay. Reserve early because just walking up will be futile. It is a wood/stick built hotel so if some thunder-foot is above you, you will notice but they did calm down early.

Room Tip: Lake side, top floor. Stay more than one night.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Bob G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maria S, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Munising - Lakeview, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2014

Dear Bob G,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about the hotel. We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and found almost everything to your liking. We will be going through some changes this fall and winter to improve the sound proofing within the rooms and hope that if you come again you will notice that improvement.

Hopefully we'll see you in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2014 via mobile

The rooms do not have much sound proof. The guests above us were very noisy during quiet time (between 10pm - 8am) so we called the front desk. It was disturbing as we tried to get some sleep, and the noise reduced within 15 minutes of the call. Front desk was very friendly and helpful.
Breakfast is your usual as expected at a Holiday Inn Express although this one doesn't offer any sausage, (just eggs, biscuit, and gravy).

Stayed: August 2014
Thank Joanne L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Munising49862, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Munising - Lakeview, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2014

Thank you for sharing your comments on your recent stay at our property in Munising. One of our main goals to is provide friendly, helpful, and efficient service. I am happy to hear you enjoyed our breakfast. We do have Turkey sausage daily, however, it's possible we may have ran out that day. My sincerest apologies. We are also excited to share that we will be renovating the hotel this fall with a new look and sound proofing will be improved at that time. Thank you again for choosing Holiday Inn Express Lakeview.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2014 via mobile

There weren't many choices on hotels in this area and although the price seems a little high for a non lake view room we still stayed here for 2 nights. The entire stay was good, the rooms are pretty basic, however the rest of the hotel is decorated very nice. The staff was some of the most friendly hotel staff I've come across, then genuinely seemed to enjoy it there. The breakfast was decent but nothing great. Although we didn't use it but the pool area was very nice even had a very shallow area for small children. This would be great for a rainy day, probably worth the price of the stay if you got stuck with a rainy day or two since there aren't many indoor actives around. If we make our way back to munising then this is where I'll be staying!

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank RK2004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Munising49862, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Munising - Lakeview, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. It is greatly appreciated. Our number one goal is to provide warm, friendly, and efficient service, and a quality guest experience. It sounds like we delivered. It was a pleasure have you stay with us, we hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2014

We loved this hotel and I hope to come back with other family members. It's like a Colorado ski resort in design and is super clean and comfortable. We loved our balcony with the scrumptious sunrise and sunset. I'm puzzled by the reviews….it's a Holiday Inn….it's not a Ritz Carlton so what are you expecting?
The staff was wonderful!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Beanie88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Munising49862, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Munising - Lakeview, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2014

Thank you for sharing your comments on our property. I am happy to hear that you found your stay clean and comfortable and that you loved your experience here. We would love for you to bring your family and friends on your next stay. It is a pleasure being able to share our spectacular view of Lake Superior and the stunning sunsets. Thank you again for choosing Holiday Inn Express Lakeview.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014 via mobile

Like others have said in their reviews the walls are thin. Plus we were on the second floor and it sounded like a marching band was above us. Book the third floor if you have to stay. Otherwise the beds were comfy and the breakfast typical of HI expresses. We actually shortened our stay due to the noise level.

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 243DLP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Munising49862, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Munising - Lakeview, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2014

Thank you for sharing your comments. We are happy you found your room clean and comfortable. We will be remodeling soon and will improve soundproofing throughout the entire hotel. Thank you again for reviewing and staying with us

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2014

Just returned from a 3 night stay at this Holiday Inn Express, and really enjoyed our visit! We traveled with our Golden Retriever, so we needed a pet-friendly room and we chose a lakeside view (well worth the $$) with an easily accessible patio, so we could walk our dog right outside the room. There was a marathon that weekend, so it was crowded at first, but I love the area, and the staff is very friendly & helpful. We stayed here last year, and both of our visits were top-notch!

Room Tip: Although you need a ground floor room for pets, the only drawback is that we could hear other guests...
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank lvgal61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Munising49862, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Munising - Lakeview, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2014

Thank you for sharing your comments. We are delighted that we were able to accommodate you and your golden retriever, and that your experience was enjoyable. Thank you for choosing Holiday Inn Express Lakeview, we hope to see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Munising
4.4 mi away
Boarders Inn and Suites by Cobblestone Munising
1.6 mi away
Roam Inn
Roam Inn
#2 of 11 in Munising
92 reviews
4.7 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Munising
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.1 mi away
North Star Hotel – Pictured Rocks
209.1 mi away
Pictured Rocks Inn & Suites
2.4 mi away
Superior Motel & Suites
Superior Motel & Suites
#2 of 4 in Munising
129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Munising - Lakeview? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Munising - Lakeview

Address: E8990 M-28, Munising, MI 49862
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Michigan > Upper Peninsula > Munising
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Munising
Price Range: £76 - £244 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Munising - Lakeview 2.5*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Lakeview sits atop a bluff overlooking one of the most pristine sites in Northern Michigan. You can gaze at the breathtaking views of the world famous Pictured Rocks National Lakeshore or historic Grand Island from our great room or one of the lake view rooms or suites. Located one mile east of Munising, and minutes away from Christmas Kewadin Casino, you can enjoy the Pictured Rocks Boat Cruises voted #1 Boat Cruise in Michigan or the Glass Bottom Boat Shipwreck Tour, cited as one of Michigan's top travel secrets by the Detroit News. You can also lounge around our spacious pool and enjoy our indoor pool with children's play area. For the snow lover, we have access to hundreds of miles of some of the finest snowmobiling in the United States from our doorstep. Conveniently located minutes away is Valley Spur cross country ski trails. Our smoke-free hotel, constructed in 2005 has lake view suites, hilltop suites, private balconies, high-speed Internet access and large color TVs with plenty of in room entertainment options. We offer meeting space, a fitness center and a pool with hot tub and custom built sauna. Our staff is eager to welcome you to make our hotel your new home away from home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, IHG, TripOnline SA, Agoda, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Munising - Lakeview reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Munising - Lakeview Hotel Munising
Munising Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing