We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Sweet spot to land if you are in the mood to visit the Great Outdoors”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Terrace Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Munising
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Terrace Motel
Ranked #6 of 11 Hotels in Munising
New Jersey
Level Contributor
18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Sweet spot to land if you are in the mood to visit the Great Outdoors”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 October 2012

I selected this property for my first visit to Munising and Lake Superior. The property lived up to the Tripadvisor reviews I relied upon. The location is perfect for a short stroll to downtown dining and activities. The Motel does not offer an immediate water view but we planned to be so active we did not intend to linger in our room in any event.

We reserved a two bedroom unit and it was clean and well maintained. The price was right and, as the web ad boasts, left money in my pocket to spend in town. Please note I based my rating on value for price paid, not for luxurious accommodations.

Everything good you read about the proprietor, Larry, is on the money. He was prompt with email and telephone responses and was filled with good humor and wit. A perfect host and took in good stride my early morning coffee quest that caught him unawares.

I can understand one reviewer's consternation about their experience with noise levels when they were there. I could hear a lonely dachshaund lament its owners' absence next door for a few minutes. Keep in mind that this is a wooden structure, not cement block If you are sensitive to noise or plan to whoop it up while you are in residence, a little tolerance and respect for others goes a long way.

All I can say to the reviewer who complained about noise is that if one is sensitive to high sound levels, bring earplugs or, perhaps, if neighbors are chatting it up, join them for a cold one then ask them to keep it down when you turn in. I found everyone, tourists and townies alike, so lovely and friendly that I bet a simple request for quiet time would be respected and given.

This is a beautiful area of the country. Go and enjoy it. Take the boat ride. Even the most jaded tourist will be astonished at the natural wonder of the painted cliffs and impressed with the park rangers' narration. Gaze at waterfalls. Stay at the Terrace and soak in the hot tub with a cold one and cool neighbors. You won't regret it and will always remember your stay.

Room Tip: Just ask the proprietor, Larry. He won't steer you wrong.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NJJfromNJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

275 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    140
    91
    23
    14
    7
See reviews for
76
122
18
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
King of Prussia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2012

A great way to describe this basic motel off the main highway. My husband and I had never been to Munising before and despite some rainy weather the 4 days we were there, we enjoyed the quiet respite we found at the Terrace. For a very reasonable price the room was clean and very comfortable. As others have said Larry was very friendly and helpful and always available to give us assistance with the seemingly endless questions we had about the area. We would stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nancy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
73 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2012

Our room was clean and comfortable and very, very inexpensive (3 guys stayed 3 nights for a total of $240). Great for a guys get away. The showers could use a little work but we managed. As everyone else says, our host was fantastic and very helpful and knowledgeable about local attrractions.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 19 which is "the big room" and it was very comfortable for 3 men. On th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HikeOnColumbus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Upper Peninsula, Michigan
Level Contributor
79 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2012 via mobile

The Terrace Motel was a short stopover for us as we passed through the area. We chose it based on other positive Tripadvisor reviews, and I'm so glad we did. The price fit our budget for a quick overnight stay; the exterior and grounds are very well maintained with good curb appeal. Our room was very clean, no extra amenities. The bathroom was updated with a nice corner shower and good water pressure. The sink/mirror area had good lighting for putting on makeup, or for shaving. No phone in the room, but not a big deal because we have a cell phone. Free wireless, which was a nice bonus, considering the retro-ness of the motel. Larry, our host, is a warm and welcoming person, with great personality. We enjoyed visiting with him, and it was obvious to us that he enjoys what he does and takes pride in his establishment. He made us feel very welcome. I would imagine the Terrace Motel is indicative of the fine community that surrounds it!

Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank justthe2ofus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DeLand, FL
Level Contributor
56 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2012

A few blocks off the main highway, but close to restaurants and stores. An older motel but very clean with good staff/owners. Five minutes from the boat docks where you can take glass bottom boats to view shipwrecks and cruises to the Pictured Rocks. . I would choose this motel on any future visit to Munising.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JackieBoy22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Michigan
Level Contributor
90 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 September 2012

Make sure you don't stay there when it's crazy hot because there's no AC. But other than that, this place can't be beat for UP hospitality. Larry DOES rock as a host, and the place is ridiculously clean. It's quintessential mom and pop motel in Michigan's beautiful "up north."
Munising's a little light on fine dining, but we loved the Pictured Rocks boat tour. And you can't visit the UP without having smoked whitefish and beer. Nothin' better!

Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Trixien
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michigan
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 September 2012

Stayed in Munising in early August with friends. Very nice stay and Larry the host was knowledgeable and friendly and even called a local establishment he recommended to ensure he was giving us the right hours of operation. You won't find a better maintained motel in the area. No, its not the Marriot or Hampton Inn but you can open your door and throw your stuff into the back of your car without stepping outside. You get coffee in the a.m. and a clean room with a "no rules" sign that we all loved reading. If you are a weary traveler and the kind that is courteous to your fellow travellers, you'll love staying a Larry's Terrace Motel in Munising. My three buddies and I loved the location and the clean comfortable room. I'll be staying there again later in the fall for a color tour and boat ride to Pictured Rocks.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bianchi45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Munising
2.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Munising -  Lakeview
0.5 mi away
Boarders Inn and Suites by Cobblestone Munising
1.0 mi away
Roam Inn
Roam Inn
#3 of 11 in Munising
5.0 of 5 bubbles 26 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Munising
2.4 mi away
North Star Hotel – Pictured Rocks
1.8 mi away
Alger Falls Motel
Alger Falls Motel
#8 of 11 in Munising
4.0 of 5 bubbles 127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Terrace Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Terrace Motel

Property: Terrace Motel
Address: 420 Prospect St, Munising, MI 49862-1004
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Michigan > Upper Peninsula > Munising
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 11 Hotels in Munising
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled against the hills which semicircle Munising, the Terrace Motel is located in a quiet residential neighborhood, 3 blocks off busy M-28. Open year round, the Terrace offers rooms with one bed, two beds, and also some two-bedroom units. All rooms are ground level, with at-door parking. Coffee is served in the lobby every morning. A recreation room includes a full kitchen, pool table and sauna; outside is a built-in charcoal grill, picnic table, play area, and firepit. Snowmobile trails pass directly behind the motel, and there is a heated garage area for snowmobile repair. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing