We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Hospitality” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Terrace Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Munising
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Terrace Motel
Ranked #6 of 11 Hotels in Munising
Allen, Michigan
Level Contributor
147 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Great Hospitality”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 November 2012

I came into town and looked up the hotels on this site to see what was available. This looked like a good fit and the experience lived up to the reviews. The owner was friendly and provided recommendations on dining as well as best areas in the park to go and hike. Lots of services for this hotel including a kitchen and rec area open around the clock. The room was comfortable and clean. The WiFi was quick. The bed was a little on the firm side for my tastes. Good place to stay and will definitely look at going there again on a return trip.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ken_T_allenite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

274 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    140
    90
    23
    14
    7
See reviews for
76
121
18
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Mount Pleasant, Michigan
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2012

What a wonderful and clean place to stay. Small rooms, but just the right size. I stayed there after reading all the good reviews and do not regret it. I was worried about the bathroom but when I saw it I was pleasantly surprised. The shower is a small one, but the water pressure and little window allowed for me to have a sweet like wash in the sunshine. They pillows were perfect. Fluffy, but not uncomfortable and I will be trying to figure out where to buy some like that. Larry was so kind and helped me whenever I needed it. Recommended.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank brittany k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Duluth, MN
Level Contributor
37 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2012

The Terrace is a very nice place to spend time in Munising. It's not fancy, furnishing a little dated, but a great place to spend the night. For the facility itself I would probably rate it Average but some things cause me to rate in Very Good. The room was exceptionally clean, including the bathroom. It exceeds what I have found in some very upper scale hotels around the country. The rates are quite reasonable and the warmth shown by the owner, Larry really added to the experience. I truly felt that he was glad to have me stay there and offered some good advice for dining in the area. The Terrace isn't really a destination in itself but but a great place to spend the night or use as a base for visiting the area attractions.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MNRoadWarrior
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fairbanks, Alaska
Level Contributor
28 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2012

The Terrace Motel is located in a quiet neighborhood about three blocks up the hill from the main road through town. This is an older property with small but nicely furnished rooms. The owner was very helpful, taking time to highlite on a map some of the local eateries. I spent a nice quiet night at a very reasonable price.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Elton P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
105 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2012

Room was quiet and pleasant but had no drawer space or place to put luggage. We found the owner, Larry, was very informative and helpful. There is a kitchen and recreation room available. Morning coffee was available in the office.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 October 2012

On a tight budget but needed a getaway and after reading other reviews I picked here. I was not disappointed! Larry was friendly as was the staff. Quiet. Relaxing. CLEAN. I highly recommend this motel to anyone and I will stay here again. Very pet friendly too! The location was great also!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SaraRuntrirun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Livonia, Michigan
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 October 2012

This was one of the most relaxing places my husband and I have ever stayed. Peaceful?! Our room was immaculate and cozy. The owner was very warm and welcoming and gave us all kinds of info about the town as we checked in. We couldn't hear ANY of our neighbors...it was like the place was sound-proofed. I would recommend this lovely little motel to any one who visits Munising.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kris S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Munising
2.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Munising -  Lakeview
1.4 mi away
Boarders Inn and Suites by Cobblestone Munising
2.6 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Munising
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Alger Falls Motel
Alger Falls Motel
#8 of 11 in Munising
4.0 of 5 bubbles 127 reviews
0.2 mi away
Pictured Rocks Inn & Suites
13.9 mi away
Village Inn Motel
Village Inn Motel
#1 of 1 in Chatham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 23 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Terrace Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Terrace Motel

Property: Terrace Motel
Address: 420 Prospect St, Munising, MI 49862-1004
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Michigan > Upper Peninsula > Munising
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 11 Hotels in Munising
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled against the hills which semicircle Munising, the Terrace Motel is located in a quiet residential neighborhood, 3 blocks off busy M-28. Open year round, the Terrace offers rooms with one bed, two beds, and also some two-bedroom units. All rooms are ground level, with at-door parking. Coffee is served in the lobby every morning. A recreation room includes a full kitchen, pool table and sauna; outside is a built-in charcoal grill, picnic table, play area, and firepit. Snowmobile trails pass directly behind the motel, and there is a heated garage area for snowmobile repair. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing