We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Don't judge a book by it's cover” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Terrace Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Munising
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Terrace Motel
Ranked #6 of 11 Hotels in Munising
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Don't judge a book by it's cover”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2013

Getting a room during peak season is tough. Getting one at a great price is special. While touring the UP we booked only days ahead. Terrace was advertised in a PR booklet and we emailed Larry about a Thursday and Friday night. He emailed back saying he had a cancellation and to call him to finalize the reservation. The great rate was $65 per night.

Yes, the motel is not like many of the others, but it is clean and to have someone as personal as Larry to welcome you and to give you the lay of the land, is unique.

The room was clean, the bed comfortable and the TV and wifi made us at home. Yes the motif was dated but that is character.. Of the 7 hotel/motels we stayed during our trip the shower at Terrace was the best...

Good place to stay and experience ...

Room Tip: No pool, but a small common area with pool table and sauna. We had room 16 and could have sleep fiv...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hpmg87a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

274 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    140
    90
    23
    14
    7
See reviews for
76
121
18
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Hilton Head, South Carolina
Level Contributor
136 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2013

This was a very clean, quiet hotel off the beaten path but the bed was horrible. Ever have a taco bed? That's when you and your spouse lie down on the bed and end up rolling into the middle because the mattress is so worn. I had to lie on the edge of the bed and hang an arm out to counterbalance the tendency to roll to the middle. In all fairness management did try to find another room but they were sold out. I am not sure but it may have been room #12. I was in the side unit area.

Room Tip: Check the bed first.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MunisingTerrace, Owner at Terrace Motel, responded to this review, 25 September 2013
For those disappointed with the place, some news... and for those who already like it, it's now even better. New Serta Regal Suite II plush top queen mattresses are here.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Traverse City, Michigan
Level Contributor
327 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 163 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2013

After reading all the glowing reviews of The Terrace, and discovering that our first locally owned place was booked, my wife and I risked The Terrace. It was surprisingly inexpensive (roughly a third of the chain hotels). That's a plus. Beyond that, I will say that the room we had was clean, the water for the shower was hot, and the Wi-Fi worked consistently well. After that....

The bed was horribly uncomfortable. It felt as though elephants had used it for a trampoline. I'm still amazed neither my wife nor I came away with back pain upon getting up. But sleeping on it was incredibly difficult. Moreover, anytime one of us rolled over, the "wave" of such rolling would wake the other.

Then there was the bathroom. Threadbare is a generous description of the towels. Moreover, while there were two washcloths and two bath towels there was only one hand towel on the racks. And this was consistent all three days. Moreover, a sign or the mirror advises you not to wipe your car, shoes or luggage with the towels. Hmmmm...

The bathroom offered bars of soap barely the size of two postage stamps. The lack of an exhaust fan ensured the room felt like a sauna when exiting the shower.

Further, the shower itself was the size of a phone booth. Fortunately neither my wife nor I are particularly large people. But if you're even modestly large, you may have difficulty fitting through the plastic doors of the corner shower.

Lighting in the room was minimal. Barely enough for reading. And the small cubby area for luggage was not lighted at all. Bats would have difficulty finding stuff in there.

But the most important thing to note is that the units have NO air conditioning. So, if it's hot and/or humid (as it was during our stay) you are in a world of heat. There IS a ceiling fan--which click-click-clicks when it runs, and a box fan which churns air at the sound of a boat propeller. So if you face the conditions we did you're in for an unpleasant, sleepless evening.

With three nights bookedand paid for (full payment is made at checkin)--we were somewhat stuck. We gave thought to spending the last night at the local Holiday Inn Express (which we knew would have A/C) only to discover it was booked. So we stuck it out.

So, if all you're looking for is a clean and cheap place to spend the night with a hot shower in the morning, you won't be disappointed. But if you want anything comfortable, look elsewhere. It's too bad, too. The owner, Larry, seems like a genuinely nice guy.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MongoSchwartz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MunisingTerrace, Owner at Terrace Motel, responded to this review, 25 September 2013
For those disappointed with the place, some news... and for those who like the place, it's now even better. New Serta Regal Suite II plush top queen mattresses are now here.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hustonville, KY
Level Contributor
149 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2013

We had reservations for 2 nights, and we understood the cancellation policy. We left after one night--because of the weather and change of plans, not the facility. Larry told us that if he could rent the room, we would get a refund. Well, he is a man of his word. He even had to call to get our card number because he had it written incorrectly. He could have easily kept our money--I love the honesty.

We had a room that could accommodate 5 for only $70. The room was clean enough, but a little old. I liked that they had a kitchen available for everyone's use, but the fridge was too full to even use. That is just the way it is. We could easily have prepared a meal or snack; that is a money saver.

The only 3 stars instead of 4 is for the kind of run down nature of the room. Out of 4 bulbs in the bath, only 1 worked. There was one switch knob for the 2 lamps--had to share. There was a definite lack of flat surfaces--no place to put things in the bath. In a room for 5 you kind of need someplace for bathroom stuff. The curtains were pretty ratty and the futon might be a good extra bed but a really uncomfortable place to sit.

All that said, it is a good value if you don't expect too much.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ljgordon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sterling Heights, Michigan, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2013

My two kids and I spent five days at the Terrace Motel. Very quiet area and not far from town. The room was clean and had plenty of space. Larry was very helpful by giving us a list of options on places to see and the best places to eat. There was so much to do and so little time. We had a very positive experience! Thanks Larry, we will be back again.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mike B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Johns, Michigan
Level Contributor
151 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2013

Great little local motel located in a residential neighborhood. Nice and quiet, but close to all the local attractions. Our room was clean and beds were very comfortable. Larry welcomed us right away and offered information on all the hiking and activities available. We would definitely stay here again. It was nice to be stay at a cute little motel that wasn't part of a national chain. The price was great too! We didn't mind not being right on Lake Superior since we were out in that area all during the day. Plus, there is free wi-fi!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank alwaysreadyfortravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louisville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2013

Had a great night stay Larry was very welcoming. Rooms were big and very clean hot coffee in the morning. Nice level pad for motorcycles.
Larry even brought us out a bucket with rags to wash our bikes

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank connecther33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Munising
2.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Munising -  Lakeview
1.4 mi away
Boarders Inn and Suites by Cobblestone Munising
2.6 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Munising
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Alger Falls Motel
Alger Falls Motel
#8 of 11 in Munising
4.0 of 5 bubbles 127 reviews
0.2 mi away
Pictured Rocks Inn & Suites
13.9 mi away
Village Inn Motel
Village Inn Motel
#1 of 1 in Chatham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 23 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Terrace Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Terrace Motel

Property: Terrace Motel
Address: 420 Prospect St, Munising, MI 49862-1004
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Michigan > Upper Peninsula > Munising
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 11 Hotels in Munising
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled against the hills which semicircle Munising, the Terrace Motel is located in a quiet residential neighborhood, 3 blocks off busy M-28. Open year round, the Terrace offers rooms with one bed, two beds, and also some two-bedroom units. All rooms are ground level, with at-door parking. Coffee is served in the lobby every morning. A recreation room includes a full kitchen, pool table and sauna; outside is a built-in charcoal grill, picnic table, play area, and firepit. Snowmobile trails pass directly behind the motel, and there is a heated garage area for snowmobile repair. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing