We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice!”
Review of Terrace Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Munising
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Terrace Motel
Ranked #6 of 11 Hotels in Munising
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 November 2013

I chose this place because of the good reviews and I was not disappointed. The room was clean and quite comfy. It's not luxurious but it is in a quite part of town within easy walking distance of the main drag and some restaurants.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JRinGlendaleMO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (296)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

140 - 146 of 296 reviews

Reviewed 27 October 2013

If you are looking for a quiet, cheap place to stay, this is the place. I can't imagine there is anything better priced out there. It is close to the Pictured Rocks, and the owner, Larry, is extremely friendly. He is great for information on places to eat and see. However, there are some downsides. If you want a comfortable bed with air conditioning and a clean shower, we didn't find this place to be it. All depends on what you're looking for.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michelle S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MunisingTerrace, Owner at Terrace Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 November 2013

I am pleased that this guest found me helpful, but it distresses me they did not experience the Terrace as the clean place so many others have. It sounds like their stay in September was prior to the arrival, at the end of the month, of the new Serta Regal Suite II plush mattresses. I would welcome the chance to have them stay again, and to earn their satisfaction with every part of their guest experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2013

in a good motel. The room was clean, there is no aircondition in the room, but was not needed end of september. Larry, the owner, is a very friendly and helpful guy. It's a bit away from the highway, so it's really quiet.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thausbrandt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2013

Like many other have stated, Larry the owner, was very friendly. Upon check in he asked what we would be doing in the area and gave us some tips and suggestions. The room was very clean as well as the bathroom. A nice high sink (I know a strange thing to point out, but something I noticed and appreciated). Good show pressure. Sure there was only a couple of towels, but Larry had stated if we needed more to just ask. It didn't bother us there wasn't air conditioning. It was actually very refreshing to be able to open up the windows. Plus with the ceiling fan it made for a very comfortable sleep. Nice quiet motel and one we would definitely come back to if ever in the area. Great value for the money, only 55.00 bucks a night.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank red70d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2013

As other reviewers have commented, there is no A/C but we arrived the second week of September and it was wonderful to be able to open windows, turn on the ceiling fans and enjoy the fresh air. Because it was off the main road, it was quiet. Also, Larry was so hospitable and maintains the property well. Our room was very clean an the building with a complete kitchen was a nice plus. I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: If you are traveling in a large group, request room 19. It is an end unit and has one bedroom with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LSLe_gal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2013

Stayed two nights. Room is clean, location in a good area. Larry the owner is very kind and has great suggestions of places to eat and things to do. We drove around to all the waterfalls in the area and really enjoyed our time here. The Terrace is an older motel but lovingly kept and a nice break from the chain motels. We sat on the porch and relaxed. Our dog was welcome and enjoyed his stay. We walked through the neighborhood and over by the lake. Wifi is spotty but close your computer and enjoy the scenery. :) Thanks Larry! Would stay here again.

Room Tip: Our room, number 1, was comfortable and spacious. No noise problems.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stephanie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2013

This is a case of you get what you pay for. The Terrace Motel doesn’t have much, but it does have the basics. I liked the fact that you could go in a kitchen and use the appliances, wash dishes and get ice. On the downside, it was really stuffy in our basic room with no air conditioning. And what’s the deal with motels that don’t have blackout curtains?? The owners were nice and yea, I might stay there again.

Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Kimberly G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Munising
2.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Munising -  Lakeview
1.1 mi away
Roam Inn
Roam Inn
#1 of 11 in Munising
152 reviews
2.5 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Munising
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Boarders Inn and Suites by Cobblestone Hotels - Munising, MI
1.1 mi away
Beach Inn Motel on Munising Bay
3.6 mi away
White Pine Lodge
White Pine Lodge
#2 of 2 in Christmas
157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Terrace Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Terrace Motel

Address: 420 Prospect St, Munising, MI 49862-1004
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Michigan > Upper Peninsula > Munising
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 11 Hotels in Munising
Price Range: £32 - £47 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled against the hills which semicircle Munising, the Terrace Motel is located in a quiet residential neighborhood, 3 blocks off busy M-28. Open year round, the Terrace offers rooms with one bed, two beds, and also some two-bedroom units. All rooms are ground level, with at-door parking. Coffee is served in the lobby every morning. A recreation room includes a full kitchen, pool table and sauna; outside is a built-in charcoal grill, picnic table, play area, and firepit. Snowmobile trails pass directly behind the motel, and there is a heated garage area for snowmobile repair. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing