We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location but,,”
Review of Terrace Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Munising
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Terrace Motel
Ranked #6 of 11 Hotels in Munising
Certificate of Excellence
Indiana
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good location but,,”
Reviewed 30 July 2014

The price was by far the best that I found around munising and surrounding areas. The room had a queen size bed and the room was quaint. Since this was a vacation, I didn't care too much, but my wife didn't like that there was no bathtub with only a stand up shower. I am a big man, but had a hard time taking a shower in such cramped spaces. The only negative I had about this place is that the WIFI is almost laughable. It cuts in and out so frequently that it is almost not worth using.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Minicoop69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

277 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    141
    92
    23
    14
    7
See reviews for
76
123
18
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Burnet, Texas
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2014

The feeling you get when you walk into a guest room at this quaint motel is retro north woods chic. Moose, ducks, pine trees, just adorable. The only thing lacking in the great décor is blackout curtains! The lights from the porch kept me awake nearly all night. I think they finally went out about 4 a.m. Very distracting when trying to get a good night's sleep. I enjoyed having a ceiling fan right over the bed.The room was spotless and the service very good, although a small mistake was made in my reservation. It amounted to nothing, and is scarcely worth mentioning. Larry was professionally friendly and knowledgeable about the area. I'd stay here again, if he'd put up blackout curtains and keep the smokers away from my open window. The behavior of these guests was completely uncalled for. They should have stepped away from my window, as soon as they noticed it was open - but, no.

Room Tip: If you are non-smoker, make sure your room isn't near the seating areas with ashtrays.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WolfCreekGal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Findlay, Ohio
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2014 via mobile

We spent a enjoyable night there, clean with wifi thrown in! I didn't realize a kitchen was available so we made our on breakfast and played a game of pool before we left. A GREAT PLACE! Larry was a good source of information on the area and helped with planning our trip on the phone and once we got there. He made trip planning so much easier.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Ohioborn57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Evansville, Indiana
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 July 2014

Was given a room that just had carpet shampooed that day, Larry said should be dry when we would return from cruise. Was not dry, not a good feeling walking on wet carpet. Office closed. No water out of shower. We like staying in mom & pop places, will pass on this one.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nancy h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
michigan
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014

First time here and can't wait to come back!!! This is like the old quaint motels from the past. Our rooms were clean and cutely decorated with an up north feel. Great showers, clean affordable rooms and loved the big fan we could plug in and feel the cool fresh air through our screened in windows and door. Our family of four loved it here, 14 year old boy and twenty year old daughter. Game room at night for playing pool, never turned the tv on. Within walking distance to the lake and everything in Munising. Walked every night to dinner and to the bookstore/ cafe. Short driving distance to Pictured Rocks and Larry told us where to get Kayaks,GREAT EXPERIENCE, and the hikes to take in Pictured Rocks. Can't rave enough about this quaint, blast from the past, motel. Hope to make it back for fall colors. Larry is a great host and one can tell he puts his heart and soul into this place!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank turtleroom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2014

The best part of the Terrace Motel is that it's located off the busy streets and is nestled in the Munising residential area. It's quiet and well-maintained. The rooms have a Northwoods theme and are clean and comfortable. The beds were firm, and I enjoyed my stay. One drawback: the room did have a slight odor of past travelers, which I admit that I may be overly sensitive to, but nonetheless, overall I would definitely recommend this motel when staying in Munising.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Bend, Indiana
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2014

Clean and comfortable room, nice location off the busy route, but not to far to get somewhere. The room was excellent for the price. Larry offered a local map and suggested restaurants and things if needed. I would definitely stay there again. Felt like home.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tamslo72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Munising
2.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Munising -  Lakeview
2.2 mi away
Boarders Inn and Suites by Cobblestone Munising
1.0 mi away
Roam Inn
Roam Inn
#2 of 11 in Munising
37 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Munising
0.2 mi away
Pictured Rocks Inn & Suites
2.4 mi away
North Star Hotel – Pictured Rocks
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Terrace Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Terrace Motel

Property: Terrace Motel
Address: 420 Prospect St, Munising, MI 49862-1004
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Michigan > Upper Peninsula > Munising
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 11 Hotels in Munising
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled against the hills which semicircle Munising, the Terrace Motel is located in a quiet residential neighborhood, 3 blocks off busy M-28. Open year round, the Terrace offers rooms with one bed, two beds, and also some two-bedroom units. All rooms are ground level, with at-door parking. Coffee is served in the lobby every morning. A recreation room includes a full kitchen, pool table and sauna; outside is a built-in charcoal grill, picnic table, play area, and firepit. Snowmobile trails pass directly behind the motel, and there is a heated garage area for snowmobile repair. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing