We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best price in town”
Review of Terrace Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Munising
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Terrace Motel
Ranked #6 of 11 Hotels in Munising
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 August 2014 via mobile

Their philosophy is that you're in Munising to enjoy the outdoors sights it has to offer, not to languish in the hotel. So they deliver a friendly, clean place to sleep between activities with few frills and half the cost of everything else in town. You'll not find much for luxury hotels in Munising, 2 star being the highest rated hotel in town. And the 1 and 2 star places average more than double the price of the terrace and don't offer anything more for the most part. The service was friendly and relaxed, rooms range from "bedroom suites" to single and double bed rooms. They have a traditional Finnish style sauna (in true U.P. fashion) and a pool table, kitchen area which is open 24 hrs. Location is convenient to downtown (roughly 2 blocks). It's quiet and clean, if simple. Everything you need to rest after a day kayaking, hiking, snowmobiling or whatever brings you to the pictured rocks national lakeshore. Enjoy the sights and activities up here, if you want a luxury hotel, find a big city downstate.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
Thank laker1rn4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (295)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

106 - 112 of 295 reviews

Reviewed 28 August 2014

My wife and I like the fact that the owner Larry accomodates us and our two big dogs. There is plenty of room for your dog to play/explore. Wood is provided for a nice fire on the property. There is a kitchen and a game room as well as Wi-Fi. Coffee is provided in the morning at the office for the guests. Close to many spots that provide beach access on lake Superior. The Terrace has highly reasonable rates. If you want to pay top dollar you can go to the Holiday Inn, but if you want freedom and peace go to the Terrace. The Terrace Motel is close to the many attractions that Munising Michigan has to offer.

Room Tip: Room 8 has two beds and accomodates pets.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Timothy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2014

Very reminiscent of a 1950s motel: small, clean, no air-conditioning, quiet when it needed to be. I'm old enough to remember family motels from the 1950s! The room decor was country-western. There was a modern TV with cable, a fan and a shower!

The staff was very helpful and the owner, Larry, was knowledge about area sites and provided numerous locations to visit based on person tastes and time. He also helped us with local dining, which Munising, generally, is a bit shy on.

If you want to stay in a Holiday Inn environment, this isn't it. If you want an affordable motel with a little character that's clean and convenient. I'd recommend this one. Actually, we stayed here because of the positive reviews we saw about this place.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank smazu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2014

You will NOT find a better deal in Munising. We looked around and a lot of the hotels were way overpriced. We had a wedding up in Munising so we had family staying in multiple different hotels, so I got to check out a few different ones. I can honestly say that this one was the best for the money. I spent $20 less per night than anybody staying elsewhere and my room was much nicer than theirs. You won't find any fancy lodgings at Terrace, nothing luxurious... what you will find is a comfy/cozy/homey up north style motel. The staff was very friendly and helpful. Some people complained that the bed was too stiff... I had no issues with mine other than it was a bit squeaky... no big deal though.

The motel itself backs up to the woods on the edge of town, staying on the side of rooms 1,2,3,4 you can see the water and bay which is nice. It's very quiet too. There is a fire ring which we had going at night, that was cool. All in all, everyone who stayed elsewhere was over at our spot drinking beers by the fire at night, and when they found out how much our rooms were a few moved in next door.

If you're looking for a luxurious place to spend the entire weekend in your room lounging inside, this place might not be for you... but if you're looking for a room to sleep in at night and house your stuff while you explore Munising and PRNL, this spot is perfect.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank JohnMclaneDiesHard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2014

This non-assuming motel provided great value for the dollar. Not fancy, somewhat simple, but clean and very affordable. The rating is due to the value received for the dollar. Great owner...Larry. Larry provided us with lots of local advise on places to eat, We were not sure what to expect for the price, but satisfied with the result.

Room Tip: Book early.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank BorealMike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2014

This was our first experience to stay in a motel and we can gladly say that it was excellent ! We got very positive reviews about this Motel from various sources and those all proved to be true. We stayed here for 3 nights. The very first thing that caught our attention was its cleanliness. Though many reviewers have already mentioned it, I think we should emphasize it again ! The stuff were very helpful. The Pictured Rock Cruise is only about couple of minutes drive form here as well as the visitor center and the Navigator restaurant. We recommend this motel for any kind of budget traveler.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bhuparyatak14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2014

Decided to stay at The Terrace after reading the reviews. Great find! The Terrace was comfortable, clean and a refreshing change from the chain hotels! My son and I stayed for 3 nights. Great location for hiking, boat tours and close to restaurants. Larry was a tremendous host and provided great tips for any of the attractions we wanted to visit. He also shared some sites that weren't listed in the travel brochures. All of his restaurant recommendations were accurate. Perfect getaway. Would visit again. Would love to see Munising in the fall!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pat G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Munising
14.7 mi away
Boarders Inn and Suites by Cobblestone Munising
18.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Munising -  Lakeview
17.7 mi away
Roam Inn
Roam Inn
#1 of 11 in Munising
107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.3 mi away
Beach Inn Motel on Munising Bay
14.2 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Munising
16.4 mi away
Sunset Motel on the Bay
Sunset Motel on the Bay
#3 of 11 in Munising
408 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Terrace Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Terrace Motel

Address: 420 Prospect St, Munising, MI 49862-1004
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Michigan > Upper Peninsula > Munising
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 11 Hotels in Munising
Price Range: £34 - £49 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled against the hills which semicircle Munising, the Terrace Motel is located in a quiet residential neighborhood, 3 blocks off busy M-28. Open year round, the Terrace offers rooms with one bed, two beds, and also some two-bedroom units. All rooms are ground level, with at-door parking. Coffee is served in the lobby every morning. A recreation room includes a full kitchen, pool table and sauna; outside is a built-in charcoal grill, picnic table, play area, and firepit. Snowmobile trails pass directly behind the motel, and there is a heated garage area for snowmobile repair. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing