We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Stay”
Review of Terrace Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Munising
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Terrace Motel
Ranked #6 of 11 Hotels in Munising
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 September 2010

We recently returned from a trip to the U.P. Stayed overnight at the Terrace Motel and had a wonderful stay. We found the rooms simple, but clean and efficient. The owner (Larry) was superbly helpful at every step of the way! Pride of ownership is obvious and we will return many more times when traveling north to visit Michigan. He provided us with information about where to eat, which Falls to see and accomodated our very late arrival. Can't wait to go back to the area, and we will stay again at the Terrace Motel.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank eaner921
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (296)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

282 - 288 of 296 reviews

Reviewed 14 September 2010

This was the cheapest hotel on our Lake Superior Circle Tour by motorcycle. In talking with the owner on the phone I found him very helpful and kind. We received a 10% AAA discount so we paid less than $50. You get what you pay for! The room was clean though the carpet was stained - looked like water had run out of the bathroom onto the carpet at some time. The bedspread was starting to look very worn and the furniture a little beat up. The pillows were very flat so we had to ask for some extras which the owner graciously provided. And the bed was very hard. On the positive side we had told the owner we were coming by motorcycle and he provided us with a room where the parking was level which was a great help to us!

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cyclingduo30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2010

The hotel was easy to find. The rooms were nicely spaced and comfortable for me and my wife. Larry was excellent in the info he gave of the areas we would be seeing. His map of the town was a big help to find the the restaurants. It was a rainy and windy weekend for the softball tournament we played in and it was an awesome place to stay for us, WE WILL RETURN at another time in the future to stay at the Terrace Hotel. Larry was extremely friendly and went out of his way on more than one occasion for us. He would make any place that a person would stay in a warm and comfortable place to be at with his outstanding customer service. Thanks Larry!!!

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cubsfan2586
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2010

Larry was a great help in giving tips for our trip and making reservations for the Pictured Rocks Boat Cruise. The bathrooms were small, but were updated.
I was worried that we would be far from sites and restaurants but soon discovered that it is a very small town and it didn't matter. It seemed that the big chain motels/hotels were outside of town and this would be a better choice to be in town.
There is a game room, kitchen area and sauna available but we did not have time to utilize them. Free wi-fi and free parking.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brisas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2010

My wife and I were stationed 3 months in Munising for my job. We booked a room with Larry (the owner) of the Terrace the night before we came. He scheduled a room (the same room) for us for 3 whole months. He offered us an unbeatable rate. The hotel is far enough away from the road that you will NOT hear any sort of traffic on M-28. The hotel is backed up to a wooded hill, and is very close to the important things in town.

We appreciated Larry for his customer service. He was always concerned about our needs and providing for them. We feel very confident that if we ever return to Munising for business or for pleasure we will certainly stay with Larry at the Terrace. We appreciate his tireless efforts so much, that we will be taking him out to dinner! Who can say that about their motel experience!?

Bottom line... if you don't want to spend $120-150 a night... Larry will offer the best alternative in town.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank benaho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2010

Since the only thing we were going to do at the motel was sleep, I didn't want to pay the High $$$ some of the major hotels were charging. The Terrace hotel was very clean, and very modestly priced. The bathroom was updated, but the main room was a little outdated. Didn't bother us a bit. The owner was very nice and really cared that we enjoyed our night there. The bed was a little soft, but nothing that kept me awake all night. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank thollan9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2010

Met our expectations. Close to our destination. Price was reasonable. Kids enjoyed the game room. Was a humid day in July. Wish we would have brought a fan. No A/C.WiFi good. Outlets were 2 pronged. Would stay again if in the area. Staff was extremely helpful. Improvements were being made to the facilities while we were there.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank traceyld64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Munising
2.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Munising -  Lakeview
1.1 mi away
Roam Inn
Roam Inn
#1 of 11 in Munising
135 reviews
2.5 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Munising
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Beach Inn Motel on Munising Bay
2.1 mi away
Boarders Inn and Suites by Cobblestone Munising
3.6 mi away
White Pine Lodge
White Pine Lodge
#2 of 2 in Christmas
155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Terrace Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Terrace Motel

Address: 420 Prospect St, Munising, MI 49862-1004
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Michigan > Upper Peninsula > Munising
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 11 Hotels in Munising
Price Range: £33 - £47 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled against the hills which semicircle Munising, the Terrace Motel is located in a quiet residential neighborhood, 3 blocks off busy M-28. Open year round, the Terrace offers rooms with one bed, two beds, and also some two-bedroom units. All rooms are ground level, with at-door parking. Coffee is served in the lobby every morning. A recreation room includes a full kitchen, pool table and sauna; outside is a built-in charcoal grill, picnic table, play area, and firepit. Snowmobile trails pass directly behind the motel, and there is a heated garage area for snowmobile repair. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing