We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A rest-full relaxed vacation in a beautiful spot”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Terrace Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Munising
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Terrace Motel
Ranked #7 of 11 Hotels in Munising
Berrien Springs, Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A rest-full relaxed vacation in a beautiful spot”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 December 2010

The Terrace Motel is in a beautiful location. You can see Lake Superior Bay from the parking lot. The rooms are clean and well cared for. The owner is attentive and obviously cares alot about the satisfaction of his guests. We received lots of good advice from him about local businesses and good places to hike and see. The coffee is GOOD (not the watery coffee of many little hotels!). AND the price is RIGHT!

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank laurieted2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

274 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    140
    90
    23
    14
    7
See reviews for
76
121
18
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Ypsilanti, Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2010

The motel was quite good and Larry (the host/owner) was excellent. Only a short hop from all of the attractions and restaurants -- as in walking distance if you don't mind walking a half mile or so -- very nice if you like that sort of thing (which we do). I did not see any places significantly closer.
The rooms were somewhat dated, but very clean, and Larry was attentive and knowledgeable to our questions about the area.
We were happy to stay there and will return. I love to stay with non-chain places when I can. No pool that I can recall, but it has a place to have a campfire, BBQ, a shareable kitchen, a sauna, an OK gaming room, and a great big ice machine.
Highly recommended if the surroundings you desire are provided by nature and activities -- the motel will be a comfortable, clean, safe and quiet place to spend the evenings.
The Pictured Rocks National Lakeshore is one of my favorite places. I have recently traveled there with my wife and we stayed at the Terrace Motel. On previous trips, I have always backpacked, but I was finally able to take my wife. She loved it, even the hotel choice which she admitted fit the trip -- cozy, few frills, warm, and together.
.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank smilingdogbooks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lansing, Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 October 2010

I called the morning I was leaving to head up North. I spoke with Jerry who was the most AMAZING host I have ever had the pleasure of dealing with. We did not arrive until very late, Jerry was very accomidating to our late arrival and our check out time. The motel was set slightly outside the main city but still very close to everything. My mother, grandmother and I stayed in the largest room so we could each have our own bed. The room was huge and worked very well for us. The room was very clean. There was fresh coffee available in the morning and also a public kitchen available as well. The price was right too! I STRONGLY BELIEVE IN SUPPORTING FAMILY OWNED AND RUN BUSINESSES, ESPECIALLY WHEN THEY PROVIDE SUCH A WONDERFUL EXPERIENCE AND AMAZING CUSTOMER SERVICE.

  • Stayed September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lorax578
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eau Claire, Wisconsin
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 October 2010

Nice place to stay. Have stayed here twice. Once in August and once in October. The new owner, Larry, is putting a lot of work in maintaining a nice property. New showers in the rooms we stayed in. Larry is a great resource for what to do around Munising.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank melgoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Merrill, Michigan
Level Contributor
165 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2010

girlfriend found the motel and called larry the host ,larry was great to her on the phone so she booked it the place is old but clean larry was very helpful with the sites around town if you want a place to sleep and see the sites stay here if you want to stay in a luxurious snobby hotel go some place else

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jlw11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
USA, Indonesia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2010

Nothing fancy, but all we needed and we were very happy with this motel. It is in a quiet neighborhood off the highway but easy to find. The room was clean and had recently been refurbished. They have a public area with a sauna, refrigerator, microwave, and a nice pool table which we didn't use but could be very handy. As other reviewers have said, the owner is very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Arctictis_binturong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rockford
Level Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 September 2010

We stayed at the Terrace on a recent UP tour. Larry is terriffic!!! He is very proud of his Motel and it shows. The rooms are old but well cared for and very clean. He has a nice game room with a sauna and kitchen. The view of the harbor is nice and he couldn't be more helpful or cordial. You are definitely an accomadated guest.
The AARP rate was under $50!!! This room was cleaner and showed more pride than our room in the Grand Hotel which we stayed in on this trip.
The Motel is an easy and pleasant walk to downtown
You could pay more elsewhere but i don't know why you would.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KAG102013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Munising
2.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Munising -  Lakeview
0.5 mi away
Boarders Inn and Suites by Cobblestone Munising
1.0 mi away
Roam Inn
Roam Inn
#3 of 11 in Munising
5.0 of 5 bubbles 26 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Munising
2.4 mi away
North Star Hotel – Pictured Rocks
1.8 mi away
Alger Falls Motel
Alger Falls Motel
#8 of 11 in Munising
4.0 of 5 bubbles 127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Terrace Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Terrace Motel

Property: Terrace Motel
Address: 420 Prospect St, Munising, MI 49862-1004
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Michigan > Upper Peninsula > Munising
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 11 Hotels in Munising
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled against the hills which semicircle Munising, the Terrace Motel is located in a quiet residential neighborhood, 3 blocks off busy M-28. Open year round, the Terrace offers rooms with one bed, two beds, and also some two-bedroom units. All rooms are ground level, with at-door parking. Coffee is served in the lobby every morning. A recreation room includes a full kitchen, pool table and sauna; outside is a built-in charcoal grill, picnic table, play area, and firepit. Snowmobile trails pass directly behind the motel, and there is a heated garage area for snowmobile repair. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing