We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Very Nice Place to Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Boarders Inn and Suites by Cobblestone Munising
Ranked #9 of 11 Hotels in Munising
Reviewed 16 September 2013

We were in Munising to do the Pictured Rocks cruise. This was a very good place to stay. It is actually about 2 miles outside of town but very easy to get to. Not that Munising necessarily would be noisy but it was really quiet at this location. They have done some recent upgrades. The room was warm with plenty of light and a nice sized bath area. Our room had a jetted tub (I guess only about 4 rooms have those). The bed was very comfortable and many channels available on TV. The pool area also looked new but we did not have time to try it. Breakfast was substantial enough with the usual cereals, pastries and so forth. Also had a warm entree, waffles and fruit and yogurt. Fruit and yogurt is always a plus. Front desk staff was very pleasant, check in and out was a snap. They indicated the next step is to work on remodeling the exterior. Our room was very quiet and had no problems sleeping. I know there have been some comments regarding pricing but overall it wasn't to unreasonable and was in line with other chains in the area. I don't think there really is a slow season there. We would certainly consider this property again if in the area.

Room Tip: This is a long two story facility. If walks are a problem consider the lower numbered rooms, 104, 10...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank srehmann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (193)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

140 - 146 of 193 reviews

Reviewed 30 August 2013 via mobile

This Comfort Inn was refurbished recently & looks nice. Our 2 night stay was pleasant with a large, clean room with comfortable beds.
Joe the desk clerk was helpful & a nice guy.
It is convenient to the Pictured Rock National Lakeshore.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank beckaj01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2013

We stayed here for a night on our trip across the UP. Nothing special about this hotel. A lot of renovations have been done to the hotel with flat screen tvs, new carpet, new mattresses and paint, bathroom redone, but, strangely, the window was filthy. Thought the hotel was a bit pricey for the location outside of town. Breakfast was avg with minimal offerings. Holiday Inn Exp offers a better continental breakfast, which is nothing great. Ended up eating breakfast in town. All in all not a bad place to stay, but would have chosen somewhere in town for this price if available.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank justa_gal1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2013

We recently stayed at this hotel for 2 nights while visiting the Pictured Rocks. It was a good location and had decent rooms. However, on our first night there (a Monday evening) the pool area was quite full. When my family went to the pool area around 9:00 p.m. there were no clean pool towels to be found. I approached the front desk clerk asking about getting towels and she said "we're out" and offered to do nothing else. Well, my husband went up a little later to check again and she responded with " I am the only one working here tonight and I can't stop to wash towels for the pool area." So, I had to bring one of the towels down from our room, which is fine but in hotel welcome folder, there was a full sheet of paper stating how much everything would cost should you "take something from the room" as in stealing. The towels were like $25, ice buckets(plastic) were like $20. So I had to keep a close eye on my towel I had to take to the pool area so they wouldn't charge us. My husband did speak with another desk clerk the following morning and expressed his concern, and she just basically said oh sorry about that. Our second evening was much better, less guests in the pool area. Breakfast was decent.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Scott G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2013

Rooms are clean, but need updating,breakfast was the basics,hotel needs an update badly,but not many choices in munising, michigan,staff seemed friendly, pool was small,and always full of kids,parking was plentiful, and hotel was close to picture rock national lakeshore.Not worth $ 115 per night.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dg463
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AngelaTiernan, General Manager at Boarders Inn and Suites by Cobblestone Munising, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2013

Thank you for your feedback!

I am confused though by the comments that our hotel needs updating, our breakfast is basic, and that our pool is small.

We were just fully renovated this spring our entire lobby, breakfast room, pool area, bar, and all of our hotel rooms. In our hotel rooms we have brand new furniture, fridges and microwaves, new carpet, granite vanities, new light fixtures, as well as new bedding and curtains.

Our pool area is one of the largest in the Munising area with a large pool that is 40 feet X 20 feet and is open till 2:00 am allowing for adults who would like to swim without kids to have 4 hours after 10:00 pm to do so.

Our breakfast offers two flavors of waffles, eggs, biscuits and gravy, fruit, yogurt, juices, milk, 3 types of cereal, oatmeal, english muffins, wheat and white bread, donuts, and muffins. Our breakfast attendant works hard to make sure everything is stocked during the 4 hours that breakfast is offered.

We thank you for your comments and hope you will stay with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2013

I used points and stayed here with my family... we had a blast!
New remodel, so room was clean and up-to-date.
Pool was good - nice temperature.
Breakfast was decent - plenty to choose from.
We would return!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank hornet2222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2013

This hotel is not worth $120/night.

The room is clean. A/C is quiet.

Beds are double, no queens. Internet is slow, probably overloaded by too many guests.
Breakfast is mediocre. Lots of carbs, virtually no proteins. They run out of things by 10am.

Bottom line, the hotel can not run anywhere close to 100% occupancy.

Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
Thank igvm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Munising
4.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Munising -  Lakeview
3.2 mi away
Roam Inn
Roam Inn
#1 of 11 in Munising
137 reviews
0.6 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Munising
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Beach Inn Motel on Munising Bay
5.7 mi away
White Pine Lodge
White Pine Lodge
#1 of 2 in Christmas
155 reviews
12.2 mi away
North Star Hotel – Pictured Rocks
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Boarders Inn and Suites by Cobblestone Munising? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boarders Inn and Suites by Cobblestone Munising

Address: State Route 28 East, Munising, MI 49862 (Formerly Comfort Inn)
Region: United States > Michigan > Upper Peninsula > Munising
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 11 Hotels in Munising
Price Range: £84 - £131 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Boarders Inn and Suites by Cobblestone Munising 2*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Boarders Inn and Suites in Munising, Michigan. Our beautiful hotel is conveniently located near everything that Munising, Michigan has to offer including Munising Memorial Hospital, Alger Maximum Correctional, Kewadin Christmas Casino, Grand Island Ferry Service, and more. Our hotel provides easy access for traveling to and from Michigan Highway 28 and H-58. Located east of U.S. Highway 41, our hotel is within 65 miles of Escanaba, Michigan. In town for business? The Boarders Inn and Suites of Munising, Michigan offers easy access to Neenah Paper, Superior Sawmill, and much more! In town for some fun? Check out Kewadin Christmas Casino, Pictured Rocks Golf Club, Picture Rocks National Lakeshore, Pictured Rock Cruises, Uncle Ducky Outdoors, Glass Bottom Shipwreck Tours, Johnny Dogs, Sydney's Restaurant, Golden Heart Chinese Thai Restaurant, The Frozen Flamingo, Mitchy's Movies & Laser Tag, Dogpatch Restaurant, Bay Furnace Bagel Works, Main Street Pizza, and much more. At the Boarders Inn and Suites in Munising, Michigan you will feel at home with microwaves, refrigerators, luxury linens, Wolf Gang Puck Coffee, and flat-panel televisions in every guest room. We offer our guests the amenities and services they need with 24-hour Wolf Gang Puck Coffee Service, Complimentary Hot Breakfast Buffet, 24-hour Guest Laundry, 24-hour Onsite Convenience Store, Fitness Center, High Speed Wireless Internet Access, onsite Beer and Wine Bar, an Indoor pool and Hot Tub and so much more! At the Boarders Inn and Suites, you will receive "Big City Quality, Small Town Values..." each stay. Make your reservations today. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Boarders Inn and Suites by Cobblestone Munising reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Munising
Munising Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing