We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Suyapa beach hotel”
Review of Hotel Suyapa Beach

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Suyapa Beach
Ranked #12 of 15 Hotels in Leon
Esteli, Nicaragua
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Suyapa beach hotel”
Reviewed 7 November 2011

My family and I have been visiting Hotel Suyapa beach a few times since we have been living and working in Nicaragua the past two years. The hotel lies right on the beach and has a restaurant with really good food, and a great view. Too bad that the people who works in the restaurant aren`t too service minded!

The rooms are not the greatest, but you probably won`t stay too much in the room anyway.

The hotell has a small pool, wich doesn`t look very clean, but our kids had a good time there anyway. The waves on the beach are very big, and probably left best for the adults.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andre B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    19
    42
    29
    12
    18
See reviews for
26
35
10
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2011

Stayed 3 nights July 2011, Clean room (family room) 1 double 2 singles+ AC $50 included breakfast, We found the staff very friendly and the seafood fresh and fantastic but beware the portions are huge,I ordered Lobster and got 4 medium lobster +2 extra tails. the kids loved the total freedom the beach and pool, the views and sunsets are great but things do close a little early but the kids were ready for bed at 8 perfect..Would we go again YES !!!!.. just try to remember it is Nicaragua Tranquilo...

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank chippy13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneseo, New York
Level Contributor
38 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2011

My wife and I stayed 2 days at Hotel Suyapa in late January, and had a terrific time! It is well maintained, has the perfect location on the beach, and their reputation for excellent seafood is well deserved. The staff were friendly and attentive, our room well kept, with a great ocean view. This is not our first stay at Hotel Suyapa, nor will it be our last. We considered it to be a great travel value, as is Nicaragua in general. We would return there without hesitation...in fact, we have never had a bad experience there, and we have stayed there 3 or 4 times before. We look forward to our next trip to the beautiful country of Nicaragua, and our next stay at Hotel Suyapa.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Timoteo99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
Reviewed 18 August 2010

the staff are so rude and not friendly at all,, the rroms are not nice and the y have no hot water,to expensive to stay here not worth it at all,the only good thing is the beautiful ocean view and some of the restaurants food,and another thing the restaurant closes to early i believe 7 pm or earlier. terrible service very terrible!!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank coamo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Leon hotels

New York City, New York
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2010

This place is totally over priced. The food is not good, the staff is rude, and for 50 dollars a night (outrageous in Nicaragua) it is not worth it. The AC sounded like a bear was in our room, which lead to no sleep. The view from the balcony was amazing (overlooking the water), probably the only good thing. There are so many better choices down the road towards the dead end of Las Penitas. One of the worst places I have ever stayed.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VNYNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2009

We stayed two nights in a non-airconditioned room, with a tv but no cable (=couple of all-Spanish channels). It was quite expencive, but they had a pool, so we decided to stay there. At first it seemed ok - the towels had been folded into swans and everything. Then with a better look it wasn't that nice at all. Not that clean, everything very basic, you could hear everything trough the walls... The pool was quite dirty too, with bugs and leaves and such. And very cold water!

It still may have been a nice experience, but the worst thing was the staff. No smiles, no hellos, no nothing! We tried everything: speaking Spanish, greeting, smiling - no response, just fed-up faces. And this is Nicaragua we're talking about, it is very hard to find even one rude person there - well, in Suyapa beach there were many.
We switched hotels after those two nights, we just didn't enjoy ourselves there.

The food in the restaurant is excellent, though. I recommend you stay somewhere else and come to Suyapa beach for dinner.

  • Stayed June 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cerenny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cape cod, ma
Level Contributor
128 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2009

One of the largest hotels in Las Penitas. The rooms were basic, clean enough, with good views and some w/ AC. They had issues with water and drains, the shower/basin/toilet drained VERY slowly, and the typical room temperature (not hot) showers that seem to pervade Nica. Ran a VERY noisy pump (either water in/sewage out) at 6am!! (on more than one occassion!!) The staff was pleasant but not friendly. They cater to the locals and get most of their business from them, and seem to prefer it that way. Sometimes you felt they were just tolerating you. The restaurant was excellent, but closed early (7pm) for dinner, some nights earlier, Sunday's not at all. Weekends are very busy with lots of locals, especially Sunday lunch. The location was excellent, right on the beach, the nightguard was the nicest of the staff, and the overall value was good, especially the meals. If you are looking for help in sightseeing or setting up tours - this is NOT the place. If your spanish es bueno, you'll do ok. The restaurant was a definate recommend.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank windcall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Leon
11.1 mi away
Azul Hotel & Restaurante
11.1 mi away
La Perla Hotel
La Perla Hotel
#8 of 15 in Leon
281 reviews
11.4 mi away
Hotel San Juan de Leon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.9 mi away
Hotel El Convento
Hotel El Convento
#3 of 15 in Leon
343 reviews
11.1 mi away
Best Western Las Mercedes Leon
0.6 mi away
Bomalu Nicaragua Beach House
Bomalu Nicaragua Beach House
#1 of 10 in Las Penitas
58 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Suyapa Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Suyapa Beach

Property: Hotel Suyapa Beach
Address: Las Penitas Poneloya, Leon, Nicaragua
Region: Nicaragua > Leon Department > Leon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 15 Hotels in Leon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Suyapa Beach 2.5*
Number of rooms: 344
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Suyapa Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Suyapa Beach Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing