We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (84)
Filter reviews
84 results
Traveller rating
29
32
11
10
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
29
32
11
10
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews cozy hotel simple breakfast hot water comfortable beds would definitely stay here again couple of nights beautiful garden included breakfast a great place to stay few blocks courtyard turtles nicaragua amenities church
Filter
Updating list...
36 - 41 of 84 reviews
Reviewed 6 July 2012

There was a mix-up with our reservation at Posada Fuente Castalia, where we wanted to stay, and so we stayed here instead. The courtyard was nice, with wifi and a good breeze, true to the photos others have posted here. The room, while small, was also decent.

But the service was terrible. Really, there wasn't any service, so it's hard to call it terrible. There was someone at the front desk who kept our key when we left the hotel, and someone who served us a so-so breakfast. But zero hospitality, and I mean none. No one asked if we needed anything, tried to tell us anything about Leon, or really talked to us at all.

We were apparently the only people staying at the hotel that night, does not excuse the lack of service but in my mind makes it worse. It was really frustrating because I know how good Nica hospitality can be.

I've seen some of the other reviews about beds; our bed was fine, although they bizarrely gave us two single beds when there were clearly plenty of open rooms with double beds.

The location in Leon was good but we would not stay there again unless there was nowhere else to stay.

Date of stay: June 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cincinnatalie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2012

It looks beautiful when you enter, with it's central court yard. Then you get to your room with it's prison style cots for beds and thin mattresses. The rooms are very inconsistent. Some rooms have "better" beds. No hot water for us. AC was working which is good since it was in the high 90s. Food was mediocre. Rooms are tiny. Bathrooms are even smaller.

Date of stay: May 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 555Travelbug555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2012

I love this little hotel. Owned and operated by a woman whose mother grew up on the premises with 12 brothers and sisters, Posada del Doctor is clean, safe, and charming. The rooms are spare--many have only twin beds, but mine was very comfortable with well-functioning AC, a solid mattress that afforded a good night's sleep, and hot water in the private bath with shower. Breakfast each morning was delicious and served in the immaculately manicured courtyard. I was awoken occasionally by a neighbbor's rooster, which can be annoying or funny, depending on whether you enjoy that sort of local character. If this concerns you, when you check in or make your reservation, request a room away from the back wall shared by the neighbor's chicken coop.

Date of stay: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JennyGB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2012

We arrived in the evening and the man at the desk spoke English just fine (better than my Spanish). This is a converted villa, a short walk from the central plaza and many tourist locations (churches, monuments, etc.) The water was hot, the AC was cool, the rooms were on the small side but we were there to see the city, not hang out in the rooms. We traveled light, so didn't need much storage. Lovely courtyard, antique furnishings and art. Secure gated parking across the street and down a building or two. The desk was attended 24/7, and the hotel was in a safe area as well. There are several doctors' residences/offices on this street - seems to be the "Harley Street" of Leon. We ate a late dinner right around the corner at a new place, Mozzie's, a hostel with a comfy bar and restaurant run by an Australian and his Nica wife.

Date of stay: April 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mangomum2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2012

As the other reviewers stated the courtyard is lovely. The room was clean....water pressure and temperature were fine. The hard part was that it was basically run by the cleaning staff, no one to really take charge...no english speakers. That's fine, we are in a Spanish speaking country, we got by with our pidgeon Spanglish. I'm sure there are better hotels for the price. We payed $55 for a small room, no discounts for cash.

Date of stay: April 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BLeary747
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews