We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect home in Leon.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
La Posada del Doctor
Ranked #8 of 15 Hotels in Leon
Reviewed 18 August 2009

I had a wonderful time at this boutique hotel. The staff is warm and very polite. The hotel is very safe, making it a great family nest.
All guests get a 10% off at "El Sesteo" for those that like a little more for breakfast.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RonGonzalez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (80)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

48 - 54 of 80 reviews

Reviewed 7 August 2009

Lovely posada - great character, nice rooms, elegant courtyard. Location is great. Rooms small (as are bathrooms) but Leon is such a nice city that you don't spend much time in the bedroom and if you want to relax and read a book there is the lovely courtyard and patio area with lots of seating. The night porter was a lovely young man who is learning english at university during the days. He was very friendly and polite. It's a pity the same can't be said for the lady who does breakfast and does some cleaning. She actually scowled at me on two occasions when I arrived for breakfast - it seems she views guests as an inconvenience. There is another lady in the kitchen who is actually nice but the waitress-type woman with the ponytail is really ascerbic and quite rude. She incensed me one morning when I asked for some gallo pinto to supplement the usual paltry offering. She said there was none. Fine. I just wanted something to sustain me on a long hike later that morning. When returning my tray, being the nice polite well-reared Irish boy that I am :-) I encountered said sour-puss at the kitchen scoffing a big plate of gallo pinto. Shamefully for her she tried to hide this with her elbow. One thing is being mean and moody, another is being a liar.....and being caught red handed. Not that it seemed to bother her too much subsequently! So there you go - nice posada, nasty woman. I would probably return and stand up to her if I were to find myself in Leon again. Down with bullys! BTW, there is wifi.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Scrawl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2009

We looked at several hotels in Leon and decided to stay here for three nights. Nice clean rooms, good and helpfull staff and nice patio and lounge.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank BertHeemstede
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2009

Enjoyed our stay very much. The rooms were small, but clean. The atmosphere is great. The native ceramics and paintings in the beautiful outdoor courtyard created a lovely site. The continental breakfast is simple, but filling. The staff was helpful even providing a discount for the restaurant El Sisteo (which was a delicious place to eat). The price was good as well. Would definitely stay here again. Leon is a beautiful, historic city. Staying in a converted colonial home lent to its charm.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank LSteeleNashville_TN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2009

La Posada del Doctor is a nice colonial house, close to the center of León. It has a friendly and relaxing atmosphere. Incredible Staff.
The room are small but very comfortable and cozy with air conditioning, decorated with local arts and crafts.
Prices include a delicious continental breakfast. They offer wireless internet connection.
The hotel has a spacious inside courtyard where you can admire some small tortoises. I enjoyed feeding the turtles in this lovely courtyard while having breakfast, very relaxing.
My husband and I enjoyed are stay in La Posada very much and will return there again.
Julie and Luis

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jalegria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2008

We stayed at Posada del Doctor in May 2008. This cost us $100 per night for 3 people since they did not have a triple room available (they do have one but it was full) and instead gave us a double and a single. Posada del Doctor is a nice hotel with AC, internet, etc… However the difference in hospitality between this hotel and the one in Granada was stark. Posada del Doctor is a business, nothing more nothing less. They are there to make money and will make you feel as such. Don’t dare ask for another piece of toast at breakfast. I asked for a laundry nearby and was told there wasn’t one and instead to use hotel service even though there was an excellent full service laundry ($6 for a whole bag washed and folded) just 100meters away.

The hotel staff always seemed to be "troubled" to help you or provide suggestions.

See my attached photo of the breakfast which was completely uninspiring.

  • Stayed: May 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Moody751
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2008

My family and I stayed at this hotel for 6nights and we enjoyed it very much. The service and the people that worked there were very friendly and helped you in whatever you asked or needed.
It is a small hotel with only 11rooms, so definitely you get that individual attention.
This is a place where you feel more at home than your typical big chain hotel (meaning you donot get all kinds of ammenities like hairdryer/iron). But rooms are very comfortable & clean with choice of A/C or fan.
The breakfast that was offered was delicious and they made the best coffee I have ever tasted in Nicaragua. It is not that far from supermarket/central markets/entertainment. I would definitely recommend this place.

  • Stayed: April 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank Dolly C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Leon hotels
0 mi away
Hotel San Juan de Leon
0 mi away
Azul Hotel & Restaurante
0 mi away
Hotel Cacique Adiact
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Hotel Real
Hotel Real
#4 of 15 in Leon
197 reviews
0 mi away
Best Western Las Mercedes Leon
0 mi away
Hotel El Convento
Hotel El Convento
#2 of 15 in Leon
368 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Posada del Doctor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Posada del Doctor

Address: Costado Oeste del parque San Juan | Parque San Juan 30m al oeste, Leon, Nicaragua
Region: Nicaragua > Leon Department > Leon
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 15 Hotels in Leon
Price Range: £32 - £46 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — La Posada del Doctor 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Agoda so you can book your La Posada del Doctor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing