We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“solo traveler with multi-good-vibes”
Review of Hotel Real

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Real
Ranked #4 of 15 Hotels in Leon
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 March 2014

I cannot ask for a better value than this hotel, given its price, great sit-down breakfasts, location, friendly bi'lingual staff, and modern amenities. The hotel, in typical Spanish colonial architectural fashion, has lovely inner courtyards.
Nazdrowie,
Jose K. El Viejo

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jozef537
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (190)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

79 - 85 of 190 reviews

Reviewed 22 March 2014

Good central location, close to Parque Central. Quiet rooms as facing internal courtyard, good to sleep. Nice breakfast with fresh fruits and very nice service, staff is very helpful. Internet signal very good. Rooms are big enough, sheets clean. Bathrooms need update, hot water is available but water pressure was not the best in our room. No need to pay more money for the room in Leon if you want to stay below 100 USD

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Nina S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2014

It is at correct distance from the Central Square and at the same time in a quiet location. The young owner is a real Hotelier and he does the job with a taste. He spent his time, although he was ready to go, to find us a Hotel at the beach for the week-end and at the last minute.
The breakfast was quite good and with a variety for every day and the ladies at the kitchen always with a smile. We stayed for 3 nights and an extra night when we returned from the beach.
We decided to stay at Hotel Real, rather to go to Managua, on the last night as our flight was at noon and we had enough time to get the bus to Managua and then taxi to the Airport.
An excellent choice, very recommended

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank stamatelopoulos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2014

Although this beautiful colonial-style hotel was a bit above our usual traveller budget, a bad experience in Managua left us needing time out for cleanliness, tranquility and some 'TLC'. The Hotel Real provided all of these things in spades. The owner is a perfect gentlemen who made us feel that he really wanted us to enjoy our stay; in fact, all of his staff were lovely, too. Really polite and helpful without being intrusive.

We found old churches to explore, agencies for booking trips, restaurants and all we could need within easy walking distance of the hotel. This, combined with the elegant rooms and excellent breakfasts made us conclude that our money was very well spent. I highly recommend that everyone considers staying here, including those who, like us, are on a tight budget. Our room could sleep up to three (queen size bed and a single) and the breakfast is so big that it will keep you going all day.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Beverley M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2014

The Hotel Real was very nice. The garden and antique furnishings were beautiful. Rooms were good with firm beds and the roof was a great place to sunbathe or watch fireworks on New Year's Eve. The breakfast was good and the food changed from day to day. Service was very friendly and pleasant and the setting of the tables in the garden was picturesque.

Room Tip: first floor rooms are easy to access.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank smk47807
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2014

Hotel Real is one of my favorite places that I stayed in Nicaragua for a two week trip. For the price, it was probably more objectively the best. The atmosphere of the inner garden area was what struck me first, with several tastefully decorated lounge areas, lots of portrait art, plants galore, and a secluded rooftop area. The rooms are very comfortable, clean, and spacious as well. There were no problems with noise and the included breakfast was memorably top-notch.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kevpod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2014

This was one of the nicest hotels we stayed in (given our less than $60 hotel budget). It had a beautiful common area with lots of nice plants and nice wooden furniture. The room was also very nice - hot water, A/C, very well maintained and stylish and clean. It was also in a very good location and the staff were very friendly and spoke a little english. The security seemed very good, as well. It had good security for the main part of the hotel, and then we also had a dead bolt on our door which was one of the only places that had one. I would highly recommend this place if you're in Leon.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank CassH H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Leon hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Cacique Adiact
0.2 mi away
Azul Hotel & Restaurante
0.5 mi away
Hotel El Convento
Hotel El Convento
#3 of 15 in Leon
356 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
La Perla Hotel
La Perla Hotel
#9 of 15 in Leon
292 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel San Juan de Leon
0.2 mi away
Best Western Las Mercedes Leon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Real? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Real

Address: Iglesia la Recoleccion 1 1/2 Cuadra Al Este, Leon 505, Nicaragua
Region: Nicaragua > Leon Department > Leon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 15 Hotels in Leon
Price Range: £41 - £58 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Real 2.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Expedia so you can book your Hotel Real reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing