We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxed atmosphere!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hostal La Tortuga Booluda
Ranked #2 of 62 Speciality Lodging in Leon
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 January 2012

Realy à relaxed and safe atmosphere. The staff was always busy with cleaning. You can take drinks,put them on à list and pay when you check out, trust is THE key word. Yes,THE rooms were very hot,even with the fan on high speed.. But it's Leon the hottest city in Nicaragua!
I'll go to la tortuga booluda again when i return in Leon!

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Traveljunky-XL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (285)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

198 - 204 of 285 reviews

Reviewed 29 December 2011

We were lucky enoughto get the upstairs room with the balcony. Balcony was great for chilling on hammock and doing some yoga. Breakfast of pancakes is included as is tea and coffee. There is a good book swap, computer and good wifi signal. Staff are friendly and helpful. Its a short walk to central square. There is also a kitchen you can use. The staff helped us out by storing our bags whilst we headed to the beach for a night. Good for backpackers or people on a budget. We paid about $28 for the nicest room in there. More on Leon and nicaragua at www.onelongvoyage.com

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jenny c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 December 2011

amazing!!, super chill, great vibe, friendly knowledgable staff...full, modern kitchen with free pancake breakfast!! i came for a night and atay 7... a great place to relax and meet new people.

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bbrands13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2011

My wife and I literally checked every hostel in the center of Leon and could not find one better (for us). If you want to party hard, maybe try via via, but if you want the mellow vibe with good music, a nice pool table, relaxed common area, and great staff, this is the place. Santos and Olin are always around to handle any of your questions or just tell you something interesting about Nicaragua. The free pancakes are delicious. One other nice thing is the size, there aren't too many rooms, so you actually get to know most of the other travelers. The internet is very fast and free which is very nice. They also did our laundry for us while we were there and did a very good job. Go there.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank addict2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2011

We decided to stay at Tortuga Booluda after reading the good reviews in Lonely Planet.

It's relatively close to the city centre and 20 mins. away from the bus which takes to Las Peñitas Beach.

The atmosphere at this hostel is great with spacious common areas and a huge kitchen. They offer free breakfast (that means DIY pancakes and a mug of warm coffee) and free wifi.

Our big complain is the room we got... We decided to book a two bed room with an ensuite bathroom. When we entered the room, the first thing we noticed was how warm it was and it didn't get better. At night we temperature gets unbearable and the ventilators don't help at all.

After three days in our room, the smell of the bathroom was terrible. The lack of both proper ventilation and maintenance turned the room into a sauna.

I don't know how the other rooms were, but ours was an absolute cr**p.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JG_Vermeulen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tortugabooluda, Owner at Hostal La Tortuga Booluda, responded to this reviewResponded 25 November 2011

My name is Olin and I am one of the owners of Tortuga Booluda. I am so sorry your experience at our hostel was not as enjoyable as it could have been. Thank you for bringing the issues you experienced to our attention.

We take pride in the quality and cleanliness of our rooms, bathrooms, and common spaces. Our policy has always been to clean every bathroom in the house every single day. I apologize if this did not happen during your stay and as a result of your experience, have reiterated with each member of our staff this policy to assure that no one else has the same experience you did.

In addition, given your experience and Leon’s notoriety for being the hottest city in Nicaragua, we have now ensured that there are at least two fans in every room to help try to keep them cooler, and that there are additional fans on hand should any guests request more than two.
Again, we appreciate your taking the time to give us your feedback as it helps us t improve our hostel and continue to work hard to maintain the positive reputation we have earned as a clean, safe, and comfortable hostel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2011

I`m not sure what to say about this place other than its a great value for you money. we paid 30 dollars for one night in a three bed room. nice and cool even without a/c. Nice staff, free pancakes for breakfast and you can walk almost anywhere. I do not recommend sleeping on the table.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Arnevas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2011

This hostel is good because it's a little bit further from the traveller scene so is a tranquil place to stay. The bar is well stocked and there is a nice sitting area. It's also really good value and the staff are really kind.
We did an overnight trek with Quetzaltrekkers and the reception allowed us to keep our stuff in lockers there rather than going with everything to QT.
The night receptionist recommended some good places to eat-Comedor/Buffet San Benitos and Hollywood Pizza.
The downsides are that the room we had was swelteringly hot. We could only sleep if we had a fan on each of us. This was loud but OK because we were the only two in a 6 man room as there were only 2 fans. The pancakes aren't great and it takes ages to cook enough for a good breakfast. The coffee had no milk or creamer. I'd buy something in rather than this if you're staying for long. The kitchen needs a thorough clean as the units were very sticky.

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Muesli_f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Leon hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Cacique Adiact
0.7 mi away
Hotel San Juan de Leon
0.6 mi away
Hotel Leo y Pinita
Hotel Leo y Pinita
#10 of 15 in Leon
25 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Azul Hotel & Restaurante
0.6 mi away
Hotel Real
Hotel Real
#4 of 15 in Leon
190 reviews
0.3 mi away
Poco a Poco Hostel
Poco a Poco Hostel
#1 of 62 in Leon
109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal La Tortuga Booluda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal La Tortuga Booluda

Address: From the SW Corner Of the Central Park 3.5 Blocks West, Leon, Nicaragua
Region: Nicaragua > Leon Department > Leon
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 62 Speciality Lodging in Leon
Price Range: £13 - £21 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the center of the city of Leon Nicaragua, Hostal La Tortuga Booluda (The Lazy Turtle) offers a relaxing multi-cultural atmosphere, comfortable dorm beds and private rooms, free pancake breakfast, free organic coffee, open kitchen, free internet, free pool table, a complete book exchange, house guitars, self-service bar, one-on-one Spanish classes, and more. La Tortuga Booluda is a home away from home for the traveler who is looking for a mellow and comfortable base to soak in the culture and history of this great colonial town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hostal La Tortuga Booluda reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostal La Tortuga Booluda Hotel Leon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing