We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great hostel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hostal La Tortuga Booluda
Ranked #2 of 58 Speciality Lodging in Leon
Certificate of Excellence
Merida, Mexico
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“great hostel”
Reviewed 8 December 2013

I stayed at Tortuga Booluda for one week and would definately recommend this place. I had such a nice time there. The hostel is not too big, therefore it´s great to get in touch with other people. I loved the relaxing common area, I enjoyed it to hang out in the hostel. It was very clean and the pancakes for breakfast were amazing, because they made it on their own. The stuff helped me whenever I needed them and it felt like a second family, I didn´t want to leave this amazing place. If you go to Leon, you should definatley stay at Tortuga Booluda!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katharina E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

270 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    176
    77
    11
    4
    2
See reviews for
8
97
62
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City
Level Contributor
29 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 December 2013

Really well managed and nice hostel. Great shared space atmosphere with hammocks, books, etc. Easy walk to everything else in Leon even though not right in the center. Clean rooms and super helpful and friendly stuff. Did not want to leave this place! Pancake breakfast is fun - since you need to cook your own pancakes - it's a bonding experience with other travellers.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Astorianka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 November 2013 via mobile

Good hostel in Leon. We stayed in the private room which was nice and clean. AC is a bit old but works well. The private room has a nice little balcony for a bit of privacy but you could go down to the main courtyard to hang out. Kitchen was great with lots of space.

Stayed November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ashwath S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2013

We wanted the backpacker vibe but still wanted privacy so we chose room 8 which is on a floor by iteself with its own bathroom and sitting area. Well worth the 40$. I did not think it was far from any action like other reviewers mention. it was in the perfect spot for us as it was close to Cocine d'arte the vegetarian cafe we ate out meals out. I love the vibe at the hostel. we met some great people. honor system and kitchen are pluses. They even let us store our stuff for the day as we hiked cerro negro. booking any activitiy was easy and felt so secure staying there.

Room Tip: Splurge on room 8!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michelle B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
54 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2013

We spent three nights in this hostel in august and while there are many positives there were a few negatives too. On the plus side its a quiet hostel which is what we wanted, the room was very big and there was a good shower. There was free coffee and you could make pancakes there in the morning as there was mixture and bananas left out. The common area was really nice and relaxing with lots of seats and hammocks. There was also a pool table.
On the downside there was no air con and the fan was pretty poor. Our room was literally like walking into an oven! The bed was also way too soft for my liking so sleep was difficult. The electricity went out for periods at a time however i'm sure this is a town wide problem and not the fault of the hostel. Lastly, and perhaps this was just the time I was there, I found the place quite unsociable! Everyone seemed to lounge around on phones and netbooks and there was not much craic in the place! Again, this is not a fault of the hostel but it was quite noticable and the only place I stayed in Central America where I got this vibe!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CatEire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quebec City, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2013 via mobile

My boyfriend and I stayed one night at the hostal. Our experience was overall good; we had a good time because the place was loaded of backpackers.

Pros : Kitchen available to cook, a lot of space to chill out, hammocks, free wifi, pool table, staff was nice.

Cons : They don't serve food, the only drinks they had was beer or water, our room (double bed room with bathroom, no AC) was so humid it was really hard to sleep and our shower had a lot of hair in it...

We had a good time, but I think we should have checked out the other hostels in Leon before. Im sure a cheaper option was available somewhere else.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
74 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2013

My wife, I and a couple stayed here for 4 nights.
KITCHEN
Good, clean, organised, big and comfortable to cook. Free coffee all the day and you can make your own pancakes in the mournings. They also give you some bananas.

ROOMS
Good rooms, clean, big. We stayed in a private room and in a Private room with shared bath. both are nice.

COMUN AREA
Pool table really nice, some hammocks, sofa, wi-fi, bar 24 hours... No party on the hostal, but you can drink your bear or soda any time!
Atmosphere really nice.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Di_Ferro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Leon hotels
0.4 mi away
Azul Hotel & Restaurante
0.2 mi away
Hotel El Convento
Hotel El Convento
#2 of 15 in Leon
343 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel San Juan de Leon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Poco a Poco Hostel
Poco a Poco Hostel
#1 of 58 in Leon
76 reviews
0.3 mi away
Lazybones Hostal
Lazybones Hostal
#5 of 58 in Leon
324 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hostal Casa Ivana
Hostal Casa Ivana
#4 of 58 in Leon
171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal La Tortuga Booluda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal La Tortuga Booluda

Property: Hostal La Tortuga Booluda
Address: From the SW Corner Of the Central Park 3.5 Blocks West, Leon, Nicaragua
Region: Nicaragua > Leon Department > Leon
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 58 Speciality Lodging in Leon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the center of the city of Leon Nicaragua, Hostal La Tortuga Booluda (The Lazy Turtle) offers a relaxing multi-cultural atmosphere, comfortable dorm beds and private rooms, free pancake breakfast, free organic coffee, open kitchen, free internet, free pool table, a complete book exchange, house guitars, self-service bar, one-on-one Spanish classes, and more. La Tortuga Booluda is a home away from home for the traveler who is looking for a mellow and comfortable base to soak in the culture and history of this great colonial town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hostal La Tortuga Booluda reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostal La Tortuga Booluda Hotel Leon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing