We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hostal La Tortuga Booluda
Ranked #2 of 66 Speciality Lodging in Leon
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 May 2014 via mobile

La tortuga booluda is a very clean hostel. We stayed 4 nights in total and had a very relaxing time there. We stayed in the dorm, which although a little cramped, was great as every bed had it's own fan and big lockers. There is a big kitchen for guests to use which is also really clean. The communal area is great for chilling out with big hammocks and lots of seating area. The hostel is a little out of the way but it only takes 10 minutes to walk to the main square. If you want to chill out and relax in Leon this is a great place to do so.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ilkleytraveller1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (289)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

137 - 143 of 289 reviews

Reviewed 3 May 2014

We stayed there two nights, once on our way to Jiquilillo, and a second time on our way to Managua airport. The hostel is very pleasant, especially with the tree and hammock in the inner courtyard, and the make-your-own-pancakes breakfast is a great way to meet the other guests. The rooms are fine, but we had an outside bathroom the second time, which was a little bit less comfortable. The hostel has a great location, it's only a short walk away from lively streets and the cathedral plaza. We also used their shuttle service to go to the airport on our last day, and it was definitely worth staying in Leon instead of Managua for our last night! (just be sure to check with them a couple days before, we had booked the shuttle too early on and there was some confusion on the day...)

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Eidzo0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2014

Thank you to the tortuga bolooda for helping us organizing our travels around Leon! The team there is very helpful, we had an amazing time in Leon and around Nicaragua. La tortuga bolloda is well situated and it is Great place with amazing people and great atmosphere :)

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank judithNataf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2014 via mobile

Me and my friend stayed here for 4 nights. It's definetly one of the best hostels we stayed at for 4 months.
If u are looking for a partyhostel this is the wrong place. It's quiet, clean and nice and at the same time it's easy to meet other people coz of the vibe/chilled place.
The staff are both helpful and nice.
The kitchen facilites are excellent. Free pancakes with banans + free cofee is a big plus. There is a nice openspace with hammocks and a starfruit tree in the middle. A computer and bookexchange are also availble. There are partyhostels nearby if u wanna go over and party and the location itself is close to the citycenter.
I would definetly stay there again.
This made our stay in Leon a really great time!!!

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Swedenbackpackers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2014

This is a very very nice hostel. If you're looking for party, it's the wrong door, but just three blocks up the street are the bars, restaurants and clubs.
It has everything: very well equipped kitchen, calm hang out area, entrance with pool table. The stuff knows your name and is friendly. Free pancakes in the morning and coffee all day long.
They clean everything everyday and after the made washed the same floor for the third time, I told her to stop cause it's clean. ;-)
Such a good atmosphere and the internet works excellent.
Although all of this they should still made some improvement to stay in advance. I think the shower and toilet in the dorm should be bigger and they might have to replace a few things that are old like showerheads and so...
Very highly recommendable!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Toby D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2014

The hostel provided everything you needed. The dorms were clean and the staff friendly. If you are looking to be social, it's probably not the place to go though, but definitely a good stay. Nice chill-out area and kitchen space with a pancake breakfast and coffee included.

The dorm beds all had their own little fans which was great! If you are looking for something clean, friendly and a non-party spot, this is a good choice

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 1985Aga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2014

There are many party hostel options in Leon, but if you're looking for a brilliantly run, clean, comfortable and great value option this should be your choice.

There is a warm vibe and energy to this place and a fully equipped communional kitchen where the free breakfast can be found every morning. The facilities are truly what you look for from a hostel. The beds are probably the most comfortable I have slept in in over four months on the road and the staff (especially Hans the owner) are extremely kind and go out of there way to help where possible.

I have stayed here on two separate occasions now and wouldn't hesitate to stay a third if ever passing through Leon again.

Thanks again for everything guys.
All the best
Beau

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Beauziff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Leon hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Cacique Adiact
0.4 mi away
Azul Hotel & Restaurante
0.3 mi away
Poco a Poco Hostel
Poco a Poco Hostel
#1 of 66 in Leon
123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Lazybones Hostal
Lazybones Hostal
#9 of 66 in Leon
331 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hostal Casa Ivana
Hostal Casa Ivana
#4 of 66 in Leon
180 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hostel El Albergue
Hostel El Albergue
#11 of 66 in Leon
124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal La Tortuga Booluda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal La Tortuga Booluda

Address: From the SW Corner Of the Central Park 3.5 Blocks West, Leon, Nicaragua
Region: Nicaragua > Leon Department > Leon
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 66 Speciality Lodging in Leon
Price Range: £10 - £21 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the center of the city of Leon Nicaragua, Hostal La Tortuga Booluda (The Lazy Turtle) offers a relaxing multi-cultural atmosphere, comfortable dorm beds and private rooms, free pancake breakfast, free organic coffee, open kitchen, free internet, free pool table, a complete book exchange, house guitars, self-service bar, one-on-one Spanish classes, and more. La Tortuga Booluda is a home away from home for the traveler who is looking for a mellow and comfortable base to soak in the culture and history of this great colonial town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hostal La Tortuga Booluda reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostal La Tortuga Booluda Hotel Leon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing