We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Relaxed hostel with great and spacious chill-out area”
Review of Lazybones Hostal

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Lazybones Hostal
Ranked #4 of 63 Speciality Lodging in Leon
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
“Relaxed hostel with great and spacious chill-out area”
Reviewed 27 December 2011

That's the perfect place to recover after some days of travelling. We spent entire days hanging at the pool area which is just awesome. The rooms are simply furnished and spotless clean. There is free coffee, but the breakfast - opposed to what the latest lonely planet says - is NOT included in the room price.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dome72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

322 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    134
    124
    38
    14
    12
See reviews for
21
124
54
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Juan del Sur, Rivas, Nicaragua
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 December 2011

clean, beautiful, great location, good staff, pretty quiet. i haven't had breakfast yet but i'm definitely staying another night

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 26 November 2011

I have been there twice and i think it is one of the really good hostal in Nicaragua. Close to everything: the best restaurants, the cathedral, tour operator, etc. The staff are really nice and always ready to help. There is a swimming pool, free internet, free tea and coffee and the rooms are nice and clean. I strongly recommend this hostal if you go to Leon.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MariPerez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen, Denmark
1 review
Reviewed 3 October 2011

Lazy Bones is a really nice hostel. Nice common rooms, with big fans and quiet atmosphere, so you can actually get some sleep. There is a pool to cool down and a kitchen that makes nice breakfast to start the day. The staff is very welcoming, and care about making Leon a nice experience. They have deals with tour guides as do almost all hostels, but here they do an extra effort in helping you, if you are looking for something uncommon or something simple not provided by the citys tour guides. I would definitly choose Lazy Bones, if I came back to visit Leon.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kristian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
maine
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 September 2011

I had the good fortune of staying here twice. I have traveled extensively throughout Europe and North America and have stayed in many hostels. Lazy Bones is by far my favorite.
If you want to relax after a day of volcano touring or site seeing in Leon, Lazy Bones is the place to be. Pull up a chair and have a Juice, Coffee or Toña beer (my favorite); soak up some rays and meet fellow travelers. They also provide a delicious breakfast service: fresh fruit salad or delicious Gallo Pinto to start your day.

When you set foot there for the first time you will see beautiful tree gardens with hammocks and an open sky roof. Walk a little further and you will find a self -serve coffee and tea stand. Walk even further and find the lounge area with a beautiful pool. It feels like being in a charming open sky café. If you happen to bring your laptop take advantage of the free Internet service or use their Internet post. The rooms are clean and the hostel provides cheap priced accommodation as well as choice: well kept dormitory, semi private rooms or private rooms.

What to say about the staff? They are friendly, warm and generous. Any time I needed information they went out of their way to accommodate me. They were always polite and friendly and made my stay superior to other hostels anywhere.

Just a short anecdote: One day, I was supposed to meet my friends at a specific address in Leon. I could not find it and went back to the Hostel to inquire. One staff member offered to walk me there.

On one hand I want to tell people about this gem on the other I catch myself wanting to keep it all to myself, like a best kept secret. I would strongly recommend staying at Lazy Bones Hostel if you plan a trip to Nicaragua. I know I will!!!

Stayed December 2010, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Antoine A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 30 September 2011

I had never heard of lazy bones and we ended up there because everywhere else was full. They welcomed us with open arms and treated us very well. We planned on staying 2 nights and ended up staying for a week! The staff and service was amazing. The facilities are great and the pool is the best I have seen in a hostel. The breakfast is delicious and the rooms are comfortable. The staff recommended excellent restaurants and bars. They even went out with us, and helped our spanish karaoke skills! I don't think they could be any more welcoming! I HIGHLY recommend Lazy Bones. BEST HOSTEL IN LEON! If you are reading this Yesenia, you are the best!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kyle D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 May 2011

A very nice place with a big bedroom, a comfortable bed, a very usefull swimming pool during those "caliente" days, free Internet and free coffee.
I am very surprise by some commentaries about the beds and the swimming pool, according to my own experience. Of course it is not a *** Hotel, but I was looking for a nice and cheap place, and I found it in the Lazybones

I spent many time in the hamock, in the swimming pool or speaking with the team. The new owner, Patrick, is very friendly and he worries about his employees, wich is not that usual in the country. It does not change anything for the tourists but I appreciate that too.
Easy to find activities around Leon and all around

I visited Nicaragua, I stayed il different places and the Lazybones is one off by best experiences.

Go there, try it, you will not be deceipted !

Room Tip: The rooms upstairs, in both part of the Hostel
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank malhub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Leon hotels
0.1 mi away
Azul Hotel & Restaurante
0.4 mi away
Hotel Leo y Pinita
Hotel Leo y Pinita
#10 of 15 in Leon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 23 reviews
0.5 mi away
Latina Hostal
Latina Hostal
#7 of 63 in Leon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hostal Casa Ivana
Hostal Casa Ivana
#6 of 63 in Leon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 171 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hostal Casa Abierta
Hostal Casa Abierta
#14 of 63 in Leon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 24 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hostel El Albergue
Hostel El Albergue
#9 of 63 in Leon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lazybones Hostal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lazybones Hostal

Property: Lazybones Hostal
Address: Parque de Los Poetas | 2,5 Cuadras Al Norte, Leon, Nicaragua
Region: Nicaragua > Leon Department > Leon
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 63 Speciality Lodging in Leon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Lazybones Hostal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lazy Bones Hostal Hotel Leon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing