We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good but can find better for same price” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lazybones Hostal

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Lazybones Hostal
Ranked #6 of 61 Speciality Lodging in Leon
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Good but can find better for same price”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2013

We stayed here for 1 night as the place we stayed before was full

Good location
Good size room
Clean room and bathrooms. Lovely, refreshing showers
Nice pool
Very friendly and helpful receptionist

Breakfast served until 11am had run out of everything before 9:30am. Coffee had also run out and miserable kitchen staff weren't rushing to refill
No screens or mosquito nets. Not many Mosquitos but if you're prone to bites you need to keep window shut which makes the room hot
Paper thin walls which is a problem when people come in late and bang around seemingly all night....
Extra charges to hire towels

For the same price all in we had a large ensuite room at via via with tv

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank missykap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

313 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    132
    119
    37
    13
    12
See reviews for
20
119
53
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Luis Obispo, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2013

The pool was the draw at this place...along with the other reviews on TripAdvisor. In reality there are much more comfortable places to stay in Leon. The pool is nice, but the lounging areas just aren't that comfortable. The courtyard gets so much sun, and there are no shade trees, that the place turns into a sauna by early afternoon. The dorm room was just plain hot all the time. Plus there's no kitchen. I had originally booked a bed for 10 days and left after three. Was much happier at the other place I found in Leon and would not stay at Lazy Bones in the future.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank luv2explore11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Accra
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2013

Great location in Leon. Quiet and cozy. Thankfully, this isn't the party hostel but is still cool. Tons of people reading and napping on hammocks. We spent a lot of time chilling out in the (actually clean) pool sipping beers. Rooms were sparse but clean and service was really great. Would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank misstravel25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2013

This place was nice and clean. i stayed in the dorm with a fan room and was quite comfortable. I especially liked the big lockers which can accomodate most backpacks. This hostel is in an old colonial house and has a great courtyard and pool area. I spent quite some time on their hammocs by the pool. It´s in a good walkable location close to bars and restaurants. My only complaints would be that the wifi is a bit weak and the bathrooms weren´t the nicest but they were clean.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bordercoolrye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fairfax, Vermont
Level Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2013

Lazy Bones is almost always our go-to when we're traveling in Leon. We also love to stay at Sonati (because of their social programs) and in Las Peñitas, but this trip down, we decided to go with our tried and true.

Here are the highlights: clean pool; free, pretty decent coffee; hammocks everywhere; pool table; REAL mattresses in the dorms; pretty central location, and tons of different room options. It was $8 to stay in the dorms and $20 for privates with shared baths, so it's on the higher end for hostels, but I definitely believe it's worth it.

It's a hostel, so be prepared for that. However, the little bit higher price brings in a different type of budget traveler. If you're staying in the dorms, though, just realize that Leon is a great town with a ton of bars and restaurants, and people like to party into the morning hours.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alex T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2013

The staff were very helpful and welcoming from the front desk staff to the kitchen staff. The hostel has a lot of enormous spaces with lots of room to chill...very quiet - definitely not a party hostel. The downside is you probably won't meet too many people. My $20 room 9H upstairs was twice as big as the other upstairs rooms. The only negative things were the intense heat in Leon (room was hot) and sharing a bathroom - having to negotiate a huge spiral stairwell every time I had to use the bathroom as it was downstairs. Apart from that all good.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Brontechick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
84 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 February 2013

If you have been to Oasis Hostel in Granada, then this hostel is almost exactly like it. Surrounding a nice hammock lined courtyard, it has nice, clean dorms with firm beds. It has great secure lockers. Free tea and coffee. Free internet and wi-fi. It has a nice, clean pool. A TV as well. It also has a breakfast cafe that you can order from. I didn't eat there so I can't comment. The bathrooms are clean but it is cold water, which is common in Nic. It also has great painting all over the walls. What I really liked about it was the amount of backpackers there. It was great to see other travelers as I hadn't seen a lot in El Salvador. We met some great people.

Room Tip: If you can get a room towards the back - away from the road - it will be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DONNA S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Leon hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Leo y Pinita
Hotel Leo y Pinita
#10 of 15 in Leon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 21 reviews
0.1 mi away
Azul Hotel & Restaurante
0.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Las Mercedes Leon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Latina Hostal
Latina Hostal
#8 of 61 in Leon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 159 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hostal Casa Ivana
Hostal Casa Ivana
#7 of 61 in Leon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 164 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hostal Las Vacaciones
Hostal Las Vacaciones
#17 of 61 in Leon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lazybones Hostal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lazybones Hostal

Property: Lazybones Hostal
Address: Parque de Los Poetas | 2,5 Cuadras Al Norte, Leon, Nicaragua
Region: Nicaragua > Leon Department > Leon
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 61 Speciality Lodging in Leon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Lazybones Hostal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lazy Bones Hostal Hotel Leon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing