We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding - our "home" when we visit Leon”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Casona Colonial Guesthouse
Ranked #6 of 34 Leon B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Rochester, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Outstanding - our "home" when we visit Leon”
Reviewed 19 March 2014

In March we stayed at Casona Colonial for the second time and it was as outstanding as our first visit. Rosario is just wonderful, and she makes us feel so at home and safe. The Casona is stunning, simple, and quiet with a lovely garden with turtles and timeless colonial architecture. I hope someday to stay longer - we came three years ago with our two teen-age boys and another guest and felt so welcomed. My husband and I returned last week and it was great to see Rosario again. I highly recommend this guesthouse. It is not fancy, but that's ok by me.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank val868
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    60
    40
    7
    1
    1
See reviews for
7
57
26
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vernon, Canada
Level Contributor
119 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2014

We normally have only good things to say about our choices of accommodation, but this was by far our most unpleasant stay on our holidays. The good things were a great location and the place is spotless.
Our stay started off very poorly and set our feeling about our experience. The room was very small and there was no where to put our luggage. All the space was taken up by excess furniture, a bureau, standing mirror, extra bed and wardrobe. I was relaxing on the second single bed when the owner confronted me about paying an extra $18 for its use. I thought she must be kidding, I was just sitting on it.
The room was impossible to cool with the fans, so we had a very uncomfortable sleep. The patio seating were small uncomfortable metal chairs. The guesthouse was just to formal for us and we felt like we trying to keep quiet at grandmas' house.
Others did not share our experience and many were repeat visitors, although they were all single people which the rooms suited better. If I wanted A/C there is other hotels in town that give better value.

Room Tip: Check your room for comfort and size before commiting
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank clancy48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oudenburg, Belgium
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2014

Very nice place to stay - no breakfast, but you can have your own breakfast in a lovey patio, with a daily visit from the local hummingbird. Friendly host.. Good location, near the center and still very quiet. Recommended.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jo c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2014

An old colonial building with a central courtyard and lovely garden, within walking distance of all the attractions. It is very safe (controlled entrance) and comfortable.
Our host, Rosario, was always available and very helpful. There is a kitchen area available for guests to use, and a common area with a TV. Our room had AC and a ceiling fan. No hot water.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lawrie2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fernie, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2014

We just finished staying at Casona Colonial in Leon and it was a really pleasant place to stay. I will echo what everyone has said about the owner, Rosario was so genuinely kind and helpful that it made the place. We were to stay for 3 nights but changed our plans and only stayed one and Rosario never lost her smile, let us keep our stuff there while we went out for breakfast and then helped flag us a cab! The private room wasnt overly big but super clean, great bed and ensuite bath, all for $22. Nice, comfortable colonial style living area with requisite Nica rocking chairs. Agree with the wifi comment, maybe a new, stronger router? Definite recommend.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Young_alan5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2014

The owners here are very warm and friendly. The property itself is charming, but the rooms fairly small and dark, and quite warm even with the overhead fan. Still, we were comfortable and everything was very clean. You are allowed to use the fridge but not the kitchen. But there is coffee every morning, which was a nice touch, and we enjoyed drinking it in the cool of the courtyard before the sun reached there (making it too hot to sit in, just pretty to look at).
The location is good for getting about in León and we felt very safe there.
It is undoubtedly very good value for anyone on a budget just looking for a place to sleep rather than a great place to hang out in, and we would be happy to return there.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fiona M M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Forest Park, Illinois
Level Contributor
94 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 January 2014

Owner Rosario is warm and gracious, and she and her helper take meticulous care of the two beautiful garden areas in front and back of this courtyard style restored colonial home. The location is relatively convenient to most of Leon. Good coffee is available in the morning and you have run of kitchen if you want to fix your own meals. The "living room" area at the front is comfortable, with a good TV. Hot water would be nice, but you can't beat this place for the price. I met numerous interesting people from around the world during my two weeks there in mid January. My only serious concern is the wifi, which weakens, then fades out as you move more than 25 feet either direction from the central dining room area.

Room Tip: Ask for a room further to the back. The first room, which is the least well appointed, is most open...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bill D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Leon hotels
0.0 mi away
Azul Hotel & Restaurante
0.0 mi away
La Perla Hotel
La Perla Hotel
#7 of 15 in Leon
281 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Real
Hotel Real
#4 of 15 in Leon
185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel El Convento
Hotel El Convento
#2 of 15 in Leon
342 reviews
0.0 mi away
Best Western Las Mercedes Leon
0.0 mi away
Hotel Mariposa
Hotel Mariposa
#2 of 34 in Leon
110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casona Colonial Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casona Colonial Guesthouse

Property: Casona Colonial Guesthouse
Address: 1/2 Block West Of Parque San Juan, Leon, Nicaragua
Region: Nicaragua > Leon Department > Leon
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 34 B&Bs / Inns in Leon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The first thing you may notice about the guesthouse is that it is a historic colonial house located in Leon, Nicaragua. The guesthouse gives off a homey and inviting atmosphere that distinguishes it from other impersonal hotels and hostels you may be familiar with. The magic of this place is its well preserved Spanish cultural heritage which is ever present in its architecture and decor. The Casona Colonial Guesthouse is the perfect guesthouse for those who want to be at home even when they are far from home. This place is for those looking for the rich warmth of a home they know well, where they feel welcome and wanted. It is for those who want to immerse themselves into the history of Leon in a small way by spending a few nights under our roof and our care. Even the furniture housed here is antique, characterizing the old style that people who have lived in Leon for many years remember. The guesthouse is also for those who have a desire for and a little adventure. When you enter this colonial mansion, you will not be greeted by an impersonal and bland registration desk but rather you are very likely to receive the warm smile of the owner and her welcome. In place of the registration desk, your first impression will be of the two beautiful gardens located in the center of the guesthouse. The Casona Colonial Guesthouse is located a half block from the San Juan park and a short walk from excellent restaurants and the center of town, which is where the historic Cathedral of Leon sits. Wikipedia notes that the Cathedral is a significantly important and historic landmark in Nicaragua. The Cathedral was awarded World Heritage Site status with the United Nations Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organization (UNESCO). So join us! Leon, Nicaragua waits for you and we have a room reserved just for you at the Casona Colonial Guesthouse! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Casona Colonial Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casona Colonial Guesthouse Hotel Leon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing