We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Party/relaxing” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bigfoot Hostel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Leon
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Bigfoot Hostel
Ranked #3 of 61 Speciality Lodging in Leon
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Party/relaxing”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2013

Bigfoot is a really nice hostel, if you like to be in a place with a lot of people.
During the day the place is really relaxed because most guests are out doing stuff, but in the evenings it becomes wild ! The bar closes at 11 pm, which means the party moves on to other places around the city. So if you want to sleep it is possible after 11 pm.
The facilities are good; bar, restaurant, hammocks, TV area, pool table, kitchen and the smallest "swimming"pool i have ever seen. The cleaning staff are cleaning 24/7, so you shouldn't be able to find any dust.
The "fan dorms" are so hot if you are not close to the fan.
The only 2 annoying things are, that you cant bring your own alcohol into the hostel and that it takes ages for them to upload pictures from the vulcanoboarding.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MartinTrolle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bigfoot N, Manager at Bigfoot Hostel, responded to this review, 26 August 2013
Thank you MartinTrolle for your great review of our Bigfoot Hostel! We are happy to hear you had a good time as we work very hard to have an atmosphere that is fun and lively for socializing! We close our bar at 11pm so those who want to sleep can and we take our guests looking to keep the good times rolling to the next party.

We do agree we have a cozy "bigfoot" shaped pool which is more like a plunge pool to help with refresh you from the heat of the day. Leon is the second hottest city in Nicaragua and we know that it is sometime impossible to escape the heat of the day which is why we have added 2 new dorms with A/C for those wanting a bit of a vacation from the heat. We also have just opened our beachfront Bigfoot Beach House just 20 mins away on Las Penitas Beach where you can find fresh ocean breezes and you can take our complimentary shuttle for guests to either stay for the day or stay for the night.

We apologize for any delay or lack of boarding photos being posted on our Facebook page. We have taken all feedback to heart and are implementing a new system in order to get any back logged photos posted and to make getting photos uploaded faster. If you send a message on our Facebook page with your tour details we will respond and try to help asap.

Thank you again! Take care and good luck with your future travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

641 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    308
    179
    73
    33
    48
See reviews for
9
107
157
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Maynooth, Ireland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2013

We stayed in Bigfoot to do the volcano boarding which was really well organised. The hostel is nice, the staff are friendly and there is generally a good atmosphere around the place. All I know is the hostel had the cleanest floors I've ever seen as the cleaning ladies mopped, literally, every 5 minutes! The only problem we had was that our photos from volcano boarding were not put up on Facebook but you don't have to pay for them which is brilliant.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 942Aimee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bigfoot N, Manager at Bigfoot Hostel, responded to this review, 26 August 2013
Thank you 942Aimee for your review of our hostel and volcano boarding tour! We work hard to create a fun and lively atmosphere here at Bigfoot so people are able to meet and make new friends from all around the world! We are the home to volcano boarding to we pride ourselves in having the fastest boards and most inclusive tour in town so we are glad to hear that you had a great time at Cerro Negro.

We are also glad that you noticed how hard our cleaning staff works at keep our hostel clean, especially after the volcano boards get back and shack off half of Cerro Negro while enjoying their free Mojitos and checking out their pictures at the bar. I am sorry to hear that your photos have not been posted yet. If you send a message to our Facebook page (Bigfoot Hostel and Volcano Boarding) with your exact date we will respond and try to get you photos as soon as possible.

Hopefully we will see you again in the future here in Leon and then you can check out our new beachfront Bigfoot Beach House on beautiful Las Penitas Beach just 20 minutes away!

Take care and good luck on your future travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2013 via mobile

The staff here were arrogant and unless you sucked up to them they gave you little respect. We bumped into some friends here we kept seeing and when we missed the bus that the hostel used to send you to another bar (probably on commission) we were told to ditch our friends and make more respectable company. Caught horrific bed bugs and before an apology passed their lips I was shouted at and intimidated into not telling everyone at the hostel (which I had never done!) I heard the same excuse that it was not their fault and only after a few tears where I showed them the extent of my bite covered skin did they apologise for being so rude. They are pre occupied with how they are percieved on the outside rather then dealing with the issues of those staying there. As consolation I did recieve a t shirt. No doubt to promote their awful hostel further!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chaz123456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bigfoot N, Manager at Bigfoot Hostel, responded to this review, 25 August 2013
Thank you Chaz123456 for your honest review of our hostel! I apologize that you didn't have as great of an experience as we work so hard to give to all of our guests.

Unfortunately, bedbugs are prevalent in the backpacker circuit and are almost inevitable everywhere. Since we are unable to check all incoming bags for any unwelcomed guests so we end up fumigating at least every 2 weeks in order to stop and control even though we are only required by law to do so a few times a year. We have recently shut down our hostel to do a mass fumigation. We take all cases very seriously as we know this is something that is unavoidable so we go out of our way to take care of any instances by shutting down rooms after any reports to fumigate.

We have a very diverse group of local staff and international volunteers who love Bigfoot and want every guest to have a fun and friendly time as we have here. We love to have fun and joke around with our guests and we hope that something that was intended to be a joke did not come off as anything offending.

Again, we sincerely apologize for any bad luck you had will staying with us and please rest assure that we do take all bedbug reports very seriously.

Take care and good luck with your future travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2013

If you're going Volcano boarding, Bigfoot is the best hostel to stay. They are well set up with good food, a well run bar, pool table, lots of places to lounge around in hammocks or couches. There's a party vibe but the bar closes at 11pm so you can still get a good nights sleep. If you fancy more partying a truck brings everyone to a place that stays open later. Only downside really was our room was absolutely roasting and the shower curtain fell down every time we tried to use it.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TonyaEnda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bigfoot N, Manager at Bigfoot Hostel, responded to this review, 24 August 2013
Thank you TonyaEnda for your great review of our hostel. We here at Bigfoot try hard to create a fun and lively atmosphere where people can have a good time and make new friends. We also give our guests a nice place to sleep with our 11pm quiet hours that we enforce.

We do understand that Leon is a hot city, 2nd hottest in Nicaragua, and we try our best to keep our rooms comfortable, but sometimes the heat is inescapable. However we now offer 2 dorm rooms with A/C for those who want a bit of a vacation from the heat. We also have a new beachfront Bigfoot Beach House just 20 mins at Las Penitas Beach where the weather is a bit more refreshing then here in the city.

Hopefully we will see you again in the future and good luck with your future travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2013

Hostel was good value and very clean. We got robbed on a night out and Elena was extremely helpful and so nice to us. We found some of the staff a bit rude but in general they were helpful. We thought the volcano boarding was a bit of a let down but overall we had a good experience.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Holly4561
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bigfoot N, Manager at Bigfoot Hostel, responded to this review, 24 August 2013
Thank you Holly4561 for your review! We are sorry to hear about your bad luck and hopefully it didn't give Leon a bad impression and hopefully it did not impair your travels too much. We are sorry if our staff gave you a bad impression as we try hard to show all of our guests a good time.

Since I do not know exactly what happened during your volcano boarding to make it feel like a let down, but all I can do is apologize that you did not have a thrilling experience as we hope all of our guests have.

Take care and good luck with your future travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2013 via mobile

Do not stay here. This is by far the worst overall hostel we've stayed in. Try find another one that you can do the volcano boarding through, of which there are many more (as that's the big selling point of this place). The staff are so rude, and couldn't care less about you as a guest. In all honesty we felt like we were back at school with the way they treat you. On top of that all three of us got bed bugs from staying there, as did quite a few people we met. We walked past so many other hostels in leon that looked lovely and wished we hadn't been drawn in by the sociable reputation of Bigfoot, as it isnt all its made out to be in that sense either.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Helenjones3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bigfoot N, Manager at Bigfoot Hostel, responded to this review, 18 August 2013
Thank you Helenjones3 for your honest review of our hostel! I do not know exactly what happened during your stay here so all we can do is apologize that you didn't have as great of an experience as we work so hard to give to all of our guests.

Bedbugs are prevalent in the backpacker circuit and are almost inevitable everywhere. We cannot inspect all incoming bags for any tag-along guests so we fumigate at least every 2 weeks in order to prevent and control even though we are only required to do this every 3 months. This is something that is unavoidable, but we go out of our way to take care of any instances. We guarantee that once you reported bedbugs we closed the dorm as soon as possible to fumigate for 2 days.

We are the home to volcano boarding and we believe we offer the best and most inclusive tour available. There are other hostels and tour operators that also offer this tour, but they also don't offer this tour everyday and we offer ours everyday.

We understand that sometimes our hostel is not the right place for everyone and we would much rather see you happy at another hostel then unhappy here. We hope that you have found accommodations much more suited to your style during the rest of your trip.

Take care and good luck with your future travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2013

A very long story cut short...
The management of this hostel are extremely rude and unhelpful. They showed complete disrespect to me and were reluctant to accept ANY criticisms (that were completely justified) that were given to them. Their "restaurant" is hopeless and you could find yourself waiting 90 minutes for a panini if you find a few people who have an order ahead of you. Their ash boarding tour claimed you get a "volcano cookie" at the end which nobody got. A small point but another example of the lack of customer respect. There are much better Volcanic Ash tours that give their profits back to the community which we found out about too late.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sarahmcc4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bigfoot N, Manager at Bigfoot Hostel, responded to this review, 14 August 2013
Thank you Sarahmcc4 for your feedback! We here at Bigfoot try to show all of our guests the best time possible and I am sorry to hear you had a bad experience. Without knowing the full details of what happened during your stay here all we can do apologize for any troubles you had. We use our guest feedback to keep our services up to our standards to the best of our abilities here in Nicaragua. Our Volcano Cafe is a small restaurant that tries to keep up with the orders of our guests, but no matter what a 90 minute wait is unacceptable. This is something we have spoken to our cafe staff about and hopefully we can avoid this in the future.

Our Volcano Boarding Tour is our most popular activity and we try to accommodate everyone that we can. Unfortunately during rainy season (approximately June-November) we can only offer this tour once a day due to weather. This can create larger groups causing hectic mornings where smaller things, like Volcano Cookies, can be missed. Although we did not have a cookie for you after your tour we know that more important things such as your SAFETY, EQUIPMENT and FUN were not missed at all along with your free beer and mojito.

Bigfoot Hostels & Volcano Boarding works with a program called One Big Change, which was started by one of the owners well before he became the owner of Bigfoot. This program helps by educating Nicaraguan youth to help them rise above poverty by giving them a future with a college education. This is something we have been working on promoting more as we believe it is an important part of what we do here. For more information please see our webpage at http://www.onebigchange.org.

Again, thank you for your honest review and all the best in your future travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Leon hotels
0.2 mi away
Azul Hotel & Restaurante
0.2 mi away
Hotel Leo y Pinita
Hotel Leo y Pinita
#10 of 15 in Leon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 21 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Real
Hotel Real
#4 of 15 in Leon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
La Perla Hotel
La Perla Hotel
#7 of 15 in Leon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 277 reviews
0.2 mi away
Latina Hostal
Latina Hostal
#8 of 61 in Leon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 159 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hostal Casa Ivana
Hostal Casa Ivana
#7 of 61 in Leon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bigfoot Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bigfoot Hostel

Property: Bigfoot Hostel
Address: Del Banco Procredit 1/2 Cuadra Sur, Leon 21000, Nicaragua
Region: Nicaragua > Leon Department > Leon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 61 Speciality Lodging in Leon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
More than a hostel,a complete backpacking experience. Local and traveling volunteers. Staff are thoroughly trained and dedicated to making this your home away from home while visiting beautiful colonial leon! Guest kitchen is fully equipped. Billiard table,, variety of games and multiple routers for wi-fi access. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing