We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Party hostel”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Bigfoot Hostel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Leon
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Bigfoot Hostel
Ranked #7 of 62 Speciality Lodging in Leon
Albury, Australia
Level Contributor
70 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Party hostel”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 December 2013

This hostel was great for meeting people with a good bar and lots of activities and vibe. Unfortunately this means sleeping is tough. The dorms are pretty poorly lit and hot, too. Good bathroom facilities. Not a lot of local flair, feels really international - recommend if you want to party and meet people but otherwise it's pretty average.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amanda J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
boliveir, Owner at Bigfoot Hostel, responded to this review, 21 December 2013
Hi Amazdog
As you said our hostel is a great place for meet people and that our bar have a great vibe… I'm sorry that you didn't have a good sleeping experience. Leon is a very hot place, actually is one of the hottest place in Nicaragua so the dorms can be bit hot however we do offer dorms with AC for those who find hard to sleep with the heat from Leon. Our does also have fans to help but if you really have problems the AC dorms is what we recommend.
Thank you and hope you have a safe trip
Bigfoot Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

646 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    308
    180
    73
    35
    50
See reviews for
9
110
157
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 December 2013

Im surprised to read bad reviews about this place! I paid $8 for a comfy bed in a dorm room with airconditioning. They have an awesome bar and restaurant, but ALSO a kitchen (and the nicest and cleanest Ive ever seen in a hostel) if you want to cook your own food. The bathrooms were clean, the hammocks were cool, it attracted a super cool crowd of people, and most importantly, the people who worked here absolutely rocked. I felt so at home. Plus, even if you don{t stay here.... this is the ONLY place I would do the volcano boarding! Definitely the best place around!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Niva412
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
boliveir, Owner at Bigfoot Hostel, responded to this review, 21 December 2013
Hi Niva
Im so glad you had a blast in Bigfoot… Thank you for your comment and for sharing your experience with other travelers… As you said we do have comfy beds and dorms with and without AC depending on your budget. Our bar do attract a good crowed of people specially those who wants to meet new travelers and this is what makes Bigfoot a great place… Our staff rocks and we do our best to accommodate everyone as much as possible… Im very happy you liked our volcano boarding and recommend it to others as we are the best on it….
Thank you for your review and hope you have a safe trip
Bigfoot Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 December 2013

This hostel was the most horrible hostel we stayed in in our 6 week your around Nicaragua.
If you like overpriced dungeon private rooms, no towels offered-was told to buy our own towels from supermarket. Staff thought they were way too cool didn't smile, not great service. Wifi barely loaded anything. Kitchen was bare bones not much cutlery or cooking utensils. Really loud music until 11.30 at night on a Wednesday?! The manager with dark curly hair snorted cocaine right outside our room one night as I walked past. We were supposed to stay here three nights but we left and stayed at much better, cleaner, quieter, hostel just around the corner for the rest of the week. Do yourself a favour and avoid this place at all costs.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jessica J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bigfoot N, Owner at Bigfoot Hostel, responded to this review, 16 December 2013
Dear Jessica
Thank you for your review. However some of your comments are not currently correct. Our rooms have a reasonable price especially compared to other hostels as we do have the cheapest rate for dorms. About the staff you might be right as we have received a few complains about it and we are taking action to correct it. About the Wifi we do have 2 different connections. When we have too many people using the one around the bar it does make it slower and when people want to download something we do recommend the one on the other side. Im sorry you experienced bad connection during your stay. After your comment we did check our kitchen and we did replace what was missing. About the noise we do keep our bar open as late as 11:30PM however we do explain up on arrival so you did know when you checked in, and if you stayed in a private room you have to agree with me that the noise from the bar does not affect those rooms because they are way at the back.
Now about the manager, I think what you are doing is a very serious accusation that it is not true. We did check our surveillance cameras and we did not find our manager using cocaine or any other type of drugs in our hostel. He is a very professional and a serious manager who I trust. He would never do that but to be sure once again we did check our 24 cameras spread all over the hostel and did not find him doing anything inappropriate.
Im really sorry you had a bed experience
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
375 reviews
106 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 December 2013

Plus points:
Avg price
Bar & restaurant on site
Very clean floors so few bugs

Bad points:
Staff are too busy being cool to smile
The pool was ankle deep
Poor wifi
Hammocks are right outside the loos/showers
Shot challenges each afternoon give it a cheesy package holiday feel although this is only for 1 hr so easy to avoid

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GayleUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
boliveir, Owner at Bigfoot Hostel, responded to this review, 23 December 2013
Hi Gayle
Accept our apologies that our hostel did not meet your expectations. However Im glad you liked our price and the fact that we have Bar and Restaurant on the site. Also thank you for mention our cleanness as we do our best to keep that way. Im sorry you had a bad experience with our staff however I believe you had a bad experience with one staff member so I find hard to generalize our staff members. About the pool Im sorry but I have to disagree and say that its more like waist deep and this coming year we are planning on expanding so hopefully you get back to see it. About the Wifi Im really sorry you had difficulties with it however we did fix it and now we have a better and faster internet. Our hammocks are located at the back of the hostel which is near the bathroom but not right in front of it.
Thank you for your review and hope you have a safe trip.
Bigfoot Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 November 2013 via mobile

My stay here was good but I felt left down by a few things. The room was fine and good price $6! The wifi was hit and miss depending on traffic during the day. The showers really annoyed me - there wasn't any hooks or shelves to put your stuff so you have to either leave on floor where they get wet or hang them on door handle. The ladies who cleaned the room were really friendly and helpful and there was always a stench of chlorine in the loos which was comforting! I found the staff on the whole good. Most were polite and friendly while others acted like they were doing you a favour by serving you. I found the food in the restaurant hit and miss. (The lack of bacon on the "Baconator" pizza springs to mind) My real problem is partly my fault but also the reason I felt left down. I booked the bus to El Salvador for 3am. I had a few drinks and went out, came back at 1am for a nap but didn't set an alarm so I missed my bus. I talked to the guys the next day and they advised that the company that run the shuttle turn up, pick people up and leave so the onus was on me to be ready. I ended up loosing out on $50 and had to chicken bus it (at fraction of cost thank God) to the country. Anyway, I think it should be highlighted to people getting the shuttle to be ready as they may loose their seats and ergo their money - $50, which to a seasoned backpacker is a s**tload of money. Hope you make note of this so other people don't loose out and need to vent on Tripadvisor!

Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank FussyMcgee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
boliveir, Owner at Bigfoot Hostel, responded to this review, 26 December 2013
HI Fussy Mcgee
Thank you for taking the time to provide your comment on your experience at our hostel. Ok so the internet is now faster than ever and hopefully we don't have anymore problems with it. The showers you were right and again we already fixed so no more clothes on the floor. We placed hangers and rack in every shower. About our staff Im sorry your had a bad experience and every time someone complain we have a meeting and we brought this up so thank you for your feedback on it. About the shuttle as you said it was your fault and unless a guest ask to be awakened the night security don't have the right to enter any room for the guests privacy so Im sorry you lost your money. The shuttle is a private company so there is not much that we can do. I hope you understand.
Thank you once again and have a safe trip
Bigfoot Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2013

the staff of this hostel are absolutely terrible. Everytime you ask them for something it seems as though you are bothering them. Aside from that the rest of the hostel is OK. And i mean just OK...

My main issue with Bigfoot however is the volcano boarding. They make a big deal about taking photos for free, and tell you not to bring your own camera, which in theory is great, but then they go and lose the photos/dont upload the photos to the facebook group like they say. Sure, photos may not be a BIG deal, but volcano boarding was really cool, and unfortunatley we have nothing to remember the experience by. This is not the first time i have read a complaint about this. When we contacted the hostel to ask we were ignored the first time, ignored the second time, ignored the third time and are still being ignored.

Dont expect much from the hostel, and if you go boarding through the hostel, take your own camera otherwise you will have nothing to remember your experience by!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mattte2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
boliveir, Owner at Bigfoot Hostel, responded to this review, 26 December 2013
Obviously, we are disappointed that you were displeased with your stay with us. It appears you were displeased with several aspects of our hostel. Im sorry you had a bad experience with some of our staff however I can guarantee that our crew is a fantastic crew and that most of them were nice. Sometimes happens that one or other might not reach your expectation but Im sure we do our best to accommodate everyones need. About the pictures yeah you are right we do offer pictures for free and we do upload them on Facebook however we don't tell people NOT to bring their camera we just recommend that "if you have an expensive camera you better leave it and use our photos". As you probably have notice Volcano Boarding is an extreme sport and if you fall you might break your camera. So therefore we recommend it we don't impose it. Unfortunately we have had cases where we had problems with our camera or with memory card and we did loose some pictures but this is a technical problem therefore there is not much that we can do. Im sorry if you felt ignored. We try our best to reply our emails.
Once again Im sorry for the incident.
I hope you have a safe trip
Bigfoot Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
230 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2013 via mobile

Just stayed for 6 nights at this hostel and loved it. Perfect and safest location probably in all of Leon. Proximity to grocery store and ATM was amazing!

The goods:
- location was close to grocery store, ATM, restaurants, bars, and main square.
- on site tour office which can help organize the infamous volcano boarding, shuttles, etc.
- great bar with happy hour and tons of cocktail options to choose from if you get sick of Toña (local cheap beer).
- on site kitchen if you get sick of local food and/or want to save some cash.
- restaurant that serves breakfast, lunch, and dinner until 10. Tons of pizza options! (Chicken/vege burgers weren't that good so I'd steer clear of them)
- large common area which encourages people to socialize with hammocks and swinging chairs.
- daily $1 shuttles to the beach (las Penitas - return trip).
- SUPER friendly staff that is always willing to take part in social activities and help you out if you need some tips.
- free wifi (although it only works in the front quarter of the building).
- staff organizes many nights out to clubs, salsa, rooster fights, etc. at discounted prices in some cases.

The bads:
- you probably won't meet any Nicaraguans - most people here are from the usuals (UK, Australia, New Zealand, USA, Canada).
- they didn't fill up the "pool" the entire time I was there...which was a pity because Leon is hot.
- not all showers/bathrooms lock.
- no free breakfast :(

Overall, I would definitely go back in a heartbeat! I had a wonderful time.

Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Andrea S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
boliveir, Owner at Bigfoot Hostel, responded to this review, 26 December 2013
Hi Andrea
We are happy to hear you had a great time here. About the internet as you mentioned works more in the public areas to encourage people to socialize. We have notice that when people have access to internet in the rooms they are less likely to socialize so thats why. About the crowed yeah you are right we are more of international hostel and very few Nicas come but we do have some Nica clients that come and join the party. About the pool Im really sorry and you are right Leon is very hot. We will make sure that it won't happen anymore. Thank you for your feedback on it. About the showers and bathrooms we have changed the doors and placed towel rack in all of them. Thank you so much for recommending us and hope you have the dance to come back and see our changes.
Have a safe trip
Bigfoot Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Leon hotels
0.2 mi away
Azul Hotel & Restaurante
0.2 mi away
Hotel Leo y Pinita
Hotel Leo y Pinita
#10 of 15 in Leon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 22 reviews
0.3 mi away
Lazybones Hostal
Lazybones Hostal
#4 of 62 in Leon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 318 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Poco a Poco Hostel
Poco a Poco Hostel
#2 of 62 in Leon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 57 reviews
0.2 mi away
Latina Hostal
Latina Hostal
#6 of 62 in Leon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 162 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hotel Mariposa
Hotel Mariposa
#2 of 34 in Leon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bigfoot Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bigfoot Hostel

Property: Bigfoot Hostel
Address: Del Banco Procredit 1/2 Cuadra Sur, Leon 21000, Nicaragua
Region: Nicaragua > Leon Department > Leon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 62 Speciality Lodging in Leon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
More than a hostel,a complete backpacking experience. Local and traveling volunteers. Staff are thoroughly trained and dedicated to making this your home away from home while visiting beautiful colonial leon! Guest kitchen is fully equipped. Billiard table,, variety of games and multiple routers for wi-fi access. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing