We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great times will be had”
Review of Bigfoot Hostel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Leon
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Bigfoot Hostel
Ranked #6 of 63 Speciality Lodging in Leon
Huntington Beach, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“great times will be had”
Reviewed 12 May 2014

very fun hostel with a great staff. stayed in a shared dorm and beds were comfortable and clean.
Volcano boarding is one of the must do things if you are traveling around Nicaragua. Not only is it a thrilling experience but the views are amazing and it is a pretty fun hike up to the top.
Big shout out to Nick and Mike for helping out along the way

Room Tip: pay the extra $2 for a room with AC. it is by far worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bconopask
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
boliveir, Owner at Bigfoot Hostel, responded to this review, 18 May 2014
Hi Bcono
Sounds like you had a blast in Bigfoot and we are happy to hear that. We are glad Nick and Mike helped you to make your experience memorable. I agree with you the $2 extra for the air is worth.
Take care and have a safe trip
Thank you
Bigfoot Family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

657 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    313
    182
    75
    37
    50
See reviews for
9
112
159
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Antigua, Guatemala
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2014 via mobile

I went into bigfoot really excited and looking forward to the boarding. The place is a mess so disorganized- no cohesion between workers. The volcano boarding was with a huge tour group and took 3 hours longer than anticipated. The tour was with maybe 10 travelers and then crammed with a group of about 30 kids on spring break. Before we went boarding, the guides told us to leave our feet on the sides of the board and grazing the volcano at all times. As I watched with anticipation as people began to board down the hill, I noticed something was up. Everyone was moving so slowly. It was as if the board was moving through molasses. After an anticlimactic wait on the volcano for everyone to go down, it was an even greater disappointment going down on my own. Later after I inquired with the guides on why everyone's speeds were so slow. They replied "we were told that the tour of students come from a lot of money and that if anything were to happen to them, we would be sued. Usually, to go fast, you lift your feet off the ground completely"

I was so angry and understood the hostel's liabilities, but perhaps the big tour group could have been organized separately.

The rooms are stone cellars and mine was equipped with a tiny ceiling fan. The room was like an oven, I woke up and slept on the cement floor because it was so hot. I would avoid this hostel and choose one that is more organized and less interested in their Facebook presence and more interested in the functions of the business.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank memarevisited
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
boliveir, Owner at Bigfoot Hostel, responded to this review, 18 May 2014
Hi Mema
Im really sorry to hear that you had a bad experience with us. In fact it is true what you said about the large group of kids so therefore I apologize on behalf of Bigfoot Family. After seen your comment we decided to change and every group now is sent separate from our daily tour. About the rooms unfortunately there is not much we can do about it since Leon is a very hot city and to avoid complains we offer rooms with AC for an extra $2
Im so sorry once again.
Have a safe trip and hope one day you can come back and we can make it up for you
Thank you
Bgfoot Family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
Reviewed 11 May 2014

The best thing about Bigfoot is the staff who are really helpful, really friendly and lots of fun. Hostel is really clean with comfy beds and the air conditioned room is definitely worth the extra 2 dollars! We did the volcano bording with Nick and Michael who made it a great experience. Would recommend to anyone heading to Leon!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenny5395
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
boliveir, Owner at Bigfoot Hostel, responded to this review, 12 July 2014
Hi Jenny
Thank you for your great review, Bigfoot family is glad to hear that you had a great time. Thank you for mention our amazing staff and how helpful they are, this is very important to us. Also for mention our guides Nick and Michael and their amazing job.
We hope you have a great trip
Bigfoot Family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Cristobal de las Casas, Mexico
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 May 2014

This hostel is ideal for the party. If you want a good night sleep avoid at all costs. The facilities here are decent, bathrooms, kitchen etc.. The wifi is atrocious, very intermittent, only real connection is in the bar/restaurant, not strong enough for Skype. If you are young footloose and fancy free, it's for you, looking for relaxation try across the road!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 9Kanu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
boliveir, Owner at Bigfoot Hostel, responded to this review, 12 July 2014
Hi Kanu
Thank you for your review and Im sorry to hear that you didn't enjoy our hostel as much as the other travelers. Our bar is open until 11PM so it can be a bit noise but after that is pretty quiet and you also have the option of the far away dorm and privates for those who are looking for a more quiet night. About our internet we did solve this problem as this is an old review so don't worry if you ever get back we promise you that you will have a proper connection.
Thank you once again and have a great trip
Bigfoot Family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
58 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2014

I only stayed one night at Bigfoot, but had an absolute blast, even without the partying!

Bigfoot is known to be a pretty big party hostel, and my friends that did go out said they had a great time. All of the staff are friendly and helpful, and their side business of Volcano Boarding was worth the 24 hour trip!

The rooms are big, the bathrooms and showers are kept relatively clean and there is always at least one open it seems, except when a large group gets back from boarding.

Only downside would be to budget travellers staying longer, as there is no kitchen available for use.

Also, make sure all of your belongings are constantly locked up in the available lockers, as I even had my towel out for three minutes and it got stolen.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sharissa j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
boliveir, Owner at Bigfoot Hostel, responded to this review, 12 July 2014
Hi Sharissa
Thank you for taking your time to write your review. Every review is important to us so we can improve our service to better serve everyone. We are very happy to hear that you liked our Volcano Boarding and our party hostel. Now about the downside the kitchen problem. Im soooo sorry but we do have a kitchen for guests only and its located on the other side from the dorms so I think you didn't ask or you didn't know about it. Now about the stolen towel i feel really bad about it since we don't have much problem with stealing however there is always a traveler looking for something they need…lol…
Anyway thank you once again for your review and have a safe trip
Bigfoot Family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stuttgart, Germany
2 reviews
Reviewed 7 May 2014

I arrived after a long travelling day in Leon, tired and just looking forward to a bed. Walked in bigfoot hostel, the atmosphere was incredible! Mood changed immediately, seriously incredible! Nice service (travellers as well, big plus !) Showed us our dormes, we layed down our bags, returned to the bar and had an amazing night with the amazing guys from bigfoot, staff as well as guests! Next day vulcanoboarding, after that relaxing at the beach. A wonderful time of action, relaxing and partying, surrounded by the cool, friendly "bigfoot-staff-family".
Felt like home, thank you guys ! :-)

Room Tip: When its hot try to get a dorm with ac :-)
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Johannes R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
boliveir, Owner at Bigfoot Hostel, responded to this review, 12 July 2014
Hi Johannes
Thank you for taking your time to write this great review. Im very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay at Bigfoot Hostel. We have a lot of people that get late at night and ready to go to bed but nee they see the party going on they changed their mind immediately just like you and everything is good again. Nothing like a fresh drink after a long trip. Thank you for mentioning our amazing staff and how helpful and friendly they are as they work as hard as they can to provide everyone with the best service.
Thank you once again and have a great trip
Bigfoot Family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 May 2014

Amazing adventure! A must do when in Nicaragua!! Nick was an awesome guide. A great moderately difficult hike but short and sweet up to the top with amazing views and then a ride down of a lifetime. Did not stay at the hostel, just did the boarding tour.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Missyzderadicka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
boliveir, Owner at Bigfoot Hostel, responded to this review, 12 July 2014
Hi Missy
Thank you for your review and for letting everyone know how great Volcano Boarding is. Also thank you for mention our awesome guide Nick, he is full of energy and knowledge.
Thank you once again and have a great trip
Bigfoot Family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Leon hotels
0.2 mi away
Azul Hotel & Restaurante
0.2 mi away
Hotel Leo y Pinita
Hotel Leo y Pinita
#10 of 15 in Leon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 23 reviews
0.3 mi away
Lazybones Hostal
Lazybones Hostal
#3 of 63 in Leon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 321 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Poco a Poco Hostel
Poco a Poco Hostel
#1 of 63 in Leon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 71 reviews
0.2 mi away
Latina Hostal
Latina Hostal
#7 of 63 in Leon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 162 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hotel Mariposa
Hotel Mariposa
#2 of 34 in Leon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bigfoot Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bigfoot Hostel

Property: Bigfoot Hostel
Address: Del Banco Procredit 1/2 Cuadra Sur, Leon 21000, Nicaragua
Region: Nicaragua > Leon Department > Leon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 63 Speciality Lodging in Leon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
More than a hostel,a complete backpacking experience. Local and traveling volunteers. Staff are thoroughly trained and dedicated to making this your home away from home while visiting beautiful colonial leon! Guest kitchen is fully equipped. Billiard table,, variety of games and multiple routers for wi-fi access. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing