We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My Second Home”
Review of Bigfoot Hostel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Leon
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Bigfoot Hostel
Ranked #3 of 60 Speciality Lodging in Leon
Sydney, Australia
1 review
“My Second Home”
Reviewed 26 May 2014

I stayed at this place more times than I can counts. Its up beat, fun and always has something going on. The staff with the previous owner wasn't that good but the current owners have this place rocking. They have AC dorms for 8 bucks which is the only hostel I found in Leon with AC.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jeromek992
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
boliveir, Owner at Bigfoot Hostel, responded to this review, 12 July 2014
Hi Jerome
Thank you for this amazing title "My Second Home". It makes us feel very special and very proud of our job. We do our best to give everyone new guests and for sure even more to our regular customer the best experience and I couldn't be happier to see your comment "The staff with the previous owner wasn't that good but the current owners have this place rocking."
Thank you once again Jerome and have a safe trip
Bigfoot Family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

673 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    322
    186
    76
    39
    50
See reviews for
11
113
163
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Jinotepe, Nicaragua
1 review
Reviewed 26 May 2014

Jeremy was absolutely GREAT! Best tour guide I've ever had. He was friendly and told us a lot of great facts about the volcano. If you book a tour with Big Foot, make sure to go on one with him! He kept us motivated and made us laugh he also took great pics :) it was a fun trip because of him.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank StephanieZamb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
boliveir, Owner at Bigfoot Hostel, responded to this review, 12 July 2014
Hi Stephanie
Thank you for taking your time to write this great review. We are very pleased to hear that you had a great time Volcano Boarding with our amazing guide Jeremy.
Thank you once again and have a safe trip
Bigfoot Family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
1 review
Reviewed 25 May 2014

Really great hostel with awesome food! The bar staff with Nick, Mike, Antonius and the others were really friendly and frequently arrange parties (90s party was great!), also big thanks to the owners Cleo and Cadi!
They also of course do the volcano boarding where Jeremi was my guide, he was very enthusiastic and fun!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank simon796
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
boliveir, Owner at Bigfoot Hostel, responded to this review, 12 July 2014
Hi Simon
Thank you for your great review. Its nice to hear when people have a great time with us. Thank you for mention our outstanding staff Nick, Mike, Antonio, our guide Jeremy and our lovely owners Cadi and Cleo. We are like a big family and we are glad to hear that you became one of us.
Thank you once again Simon
Bigfoot Family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whistler, Canada
2 reviews
Reviewed 23 May 2014

Jeremy is awesome! Best tour guide i've had for a while! Speaks 3 languages, friendly and told us a lot of great facts about the volcano. If you book a tour with Big Foot, make sure to go on one with him!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PaulyDubois
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
boliveir, Owner at Bigfoot Hostel, responded to this review, 12 July 2014
Hi Paul
Thank you for your review and for mention our amazing guide Jeremy. He is for sure a great guide full of knowledge.
Take care and have a safe trip
Bigfoot Family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 May 2014

Great place! I recommand it for sure to any traveler who wants to meet great people and have some good time! The volcano was really great so do it for sure! The bigfoot hostel at the beach is great to!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank L0uislap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
boliveir, Owner at Bigfoot Hostel, responded to this review, 12 July 2014
Hi Louis
Thank you for you great review. We are very pleased to hear that you had a great time with Bigfoot Family. For sure people have to check it out our Bigfoot Beach House. Its our little brother beach front located in las Peñitas.
Thank you once again for your review Louis.
Bigfoot Family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Worth, Texas
1 review
Reviewed 22 May 2014

Nicaragua, when I first heard of this country's name, I was little worried that I am going to this place. Not much information about the country, the only thing I knew was volcano boarding, and its the poorest country in Central America.

However, Bigfoot Hostel changed my whole experience! The staff members at Bigfoot treat you like a family. When I walked in, they first asked for my name, and since then, they called me with my name. The staffs make, Im gunna say the best Mojito in town.The kitchen staffs are amazing at cooking (believe me and try Joe's Hot BBQ Pizza of theirs, or any pizza; its amazing!), and there are kind maintenance staffs and security guards who say hi to you whenever you walk in.

The volcano boarding is a blast. The guide, Jeremy, is full with energy and explains about the volcano so well. It is indeed intimidating at first to see the volcano, how high it is and when you go up, looking down the hill is frustrating. However, Jeremy makes the hike fun by using jokes, and he taught us how to control the board exactly so that I don't have to be worried about falling down.

I definitely recommend this place, a family-type hostel you can enjoy. Oh I forgot to mention, there are parties like every other day, so make sure you check it out!!

Room Tip: Choose the A/C room, makes your life so much easier.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yun L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
boliveir, Owner at Bigfoot Hostel, responded to this review, 12 July 2014
Hi Yun
Thank you sooooo much for taking your time to write this amazing review. This is one of the best review I saw today. We feel like we have accomplished what we promise, FUN FOR EVERYONE!
Im so happy to hear that you and your family felt welcome and part of our huge family. Just one fact that might shock you is that Nicaragua is the second safest country in the Western Hemisphere after Canada. Nicaragua is a beautiful country that people are slowly discovering as they get more facts out there. Anyway we are very happy to hear about your experience with Bigfoot Family. Thank you for mention our great guide Jeremy and for sure he is full of energy and fun jokes that keep people relaxed while hiking one of the most active basaltic cinder cone volcanos in the world.
By the way Joe's Hot BBQ pizza is also one of my favorite pizzas.
Yun thank you once again for this amazing review. We couldn't be happier than receive a review like this. Its what make us work harder and harder to serve people like you.
Take care and have a safe trip
Bigfoot Family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 18 May 2014

Bigfoot hostel has an incredible atmosphere. There's always something going on, the rooms are great and the staff are very friendly.

Make sure you do the volcano boarding, Jeremy was an excellent guide

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Calum710
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
boliveir, Owner at Bigfoot Hostel, responded to this review, 18 May 2014
Hi Calum
Thank you so much for your review. We are glad you had a great time in Bigfoot and thank you for recommending our Volcano Boarding.
Take care hope to see you again .
Bigfoot Family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Leon hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel El Convento
Hotel El Convento
#3 of 15 in Leon
344 reviews
0.2 mi away
Best Western Las Mercedes Leon
0.2 mi away
Hotel Leo y Pinita
Hotel Leo y Pinita
#10 of 15 in Leon
24 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Cacique Adiact
0.2 mi away
La Perla Hotel
La Perla Hotel
#7 of 15 in Leon
284 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel San Juan de Leon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bigfoot Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bigfoot Hostel

Property: Bigfoot Hostel
Address: Del Banco Procredit 1/2 Cuadra Sur, Leon 21000, Nicaragua
Region: Nicaragua > Leon Department > Leon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 60 Speciality Lodging in Leon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
More than a hostel,a complete backpacking experience. Local and traveling volunteers. Staff are thoroughly trained and dedicated to making this your home away from home while visiting beautiful colonial leon! Guest kitchen is fully equipped. Billiard table,, variety of games and multiple routers for wi-fi access. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing