We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No fun sweatbox!!”
Review of Bigfoot Hostel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Leon
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Bigfoot Hostel
Ranked #5 of 69 Speciality Lodging in Leon
Reviewed 30 May 2014 via mobile

If you like school camps with plenty of rules then stay here. Lights off at 11pm and told to go to bed. Wi Fi is terrible at best, can only get it in the bar area. The whole place is unbearably hot unless you are in the air conditioned dorm. Bar service is pretty poor. Wouldn't recommend staying here. Stay somewhere else and do the volcano boarding with them... It's the only positive.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
Thank 915asherh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bigfoot N, Owner at Bigfoot Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2014

Dear Asher
Thank you for your feedback. We are glad you enjoyed our volcano boarding tour. However, are sorry to hear that you didn't have a great experience with us.
So now regarding to your review which is similar to the preview one and I know you both were together at the pool causing problems so I will reply in the same way.
We do have 2 powerful fans at the reception, 2 at the restaurant and the common area is open to create breeze, and because Leon is a colonial city the ceilings are high making the place even fresher. So maybe the day you were in Leon, there was no wind at all and there is nothing we can do about that and as you said yourself the air-conditioned rooms are great to sleep.
Now about the bar, please note that you are not the only traveler in the hostel. You might like to get drunk and be loud all night but we have guests that like to have a rest and wake up early to explore the city or take one of our tours. They pay the same amount as you do and they were the ones complaining about you being loud. So therefore we kindly asked you guys to stop and either go to sleep or go elsewhere to have fun. The pool is located right in front of the dorms so any noise people make can bother other travelers. Our staff member complain about you and your friend being rude and loud so in those kind of situation we have to be restrict and tough about it.
Lastly, with respect to our staff. We have repeatedly received compliments as to their helpfulness and friendliness. We have just received the Tripadvisor Award 2014 for our service and quality. Perhaps, you had a negative experience with one staff member, but it hardly merits a generalization as to the entirety of our Bigfoot Family.
Thanks again for you review and we hope that the remainder of your travels are pleasant!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (694)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

304 - 310 of 694 reviews

Reviewed 29 May 2014 via mobile

We first arrived at this hostel and it was a complete sauna. No breeze and stinking hot place. We were playing a game of pool at 11:10pm. They turned the lights off mid game and said go to bed. Extremely rude staff. It's like a kindergarten not a hostel. They treat you like children here. The worst menu as well. They only serve pizza and pasta. No selection at all. No healthy selection. It takes 10 minutes to get a drink from the bar because the bar staff are to distracted. The volcano boarding was great. Air conditioning rooms are a great sleep. Bathrooms are fantastic. But overall I would never recommend this place because you can't have fun.

Stayed: May 2014
Thank darrenbrissy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bigfoot N, Owner at Bigfoot Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2014

Dear Darren
Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback on Bigfoot Hostel & Volcano Boarding. We are glad you enjoyed our AC rooms and our tour. However, we are so sorry to hear that it was not a pleasant experience for you.
So now in regards to your review I would like to start with the complete sauna statement. We do have 2 powerful fans at the reception, 2 at the restaurant and the common area is open to create breeze, and because Leon is a colonial city the ceilings are high making the place even fresher. So maybe the day you were in Leon, there was no wind at all and there is nothing we can do about that and as you said yourself the air-conditioned rooms are great to sleep.
Now about the bar, please note that you are not the only traveler in the hostel. You might like to get drunk and be loud all night but we have guests that like to have a rest and wake up early to explore the city or take one of our tours. They pay the same amount as you do and they were the ones complaining about you being loud. So therefore we kindly asked you guys to stop and either go to sleep or go elsewhere to have fun. The pool is located right in front of the dorms so any noise people make can bother other travelers. Our staff member complain about you and your friend being rude and loud so in those kind of situation we have to be restrict and tough about it.
Now about our menu. Our Volcano Cafe have a quiet large menu option compare to its size. We have a selection of burger, salads, pizza, pasta and other dishes however guests can make their choice and try other restaurants. Our Volcano Cafe is an extra service not a full menu restaurant.
Lastly, with respect to our staff. We have repeatedly received compliments as to their helpfulness and friendliness. We have just received the Tripadvisor Award 2014 for our service and quality. Perhaps, you had a negative experience with one staff member, but it hardly merits a generalization as to the entirety of our Bigfoot Family.
Thanks again for you review and we hope that the remainder of your travels are pleasant!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

If you want to have real fun and a real goodtime in your travel, you have to stop by the bigfoot hostel. Its THE place in León. The staff is awesome and you get to meet very nice people. There is always something to do and no time to be bored. We had a great time at the volcan boarding with an amazing host name Jay. Plus, the food is delicious!

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank laurenceouim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
boliveir, Owner at Bigfoot Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2014

Hi Laurence
Thank you for your great review. we are pleased t hear that you enjoyed your stay in Bigfoot and you liked our food. Thank you for mention our staff and in special Jay. Jay is a great guide that have a great knowledge and is always willing to give the best experience to our guests.
Thank you once again and have a great trip
Bigfoot Family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Overall pretty much the best hostel I ve been to in Nica. Good service and staff. Cleaned each day from bed to floor! They offer a great volcano boarding experience with Jay who makes the experience only grater. It s a can t miss. The only danger is never leaving..

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wilachance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
boliveir, Owner at Bigfoot Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2014

Hi Wilachance
Thank you for your awesome review. I couldn't be happier than see a comment like yours "Overall pretty much the best hostel I ve been to in Nica. Good service and staff. Cleaned each day from bed to floor!" This kind of comment is way makes us work harder to give people like you the best experience. Also thank you for mention our amazing guide Jay and for using our philosophy
"The only danger is never leaving"
Thank you once again and have a great trip
Bigfoot Family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

The hostel told us they were going to show is State Of Origin, a famous Australian Football Game. When we asked to watch it they asked for money, then deniened ever having aknowledgeing it in the first place. There was over 10 Australians here for the game and they wouldn't let us watch it, then when we streamed it they got angry when we showed a but of excitement about the game. I am extremely Dissapointed about my stay and wond be staying here tomorrow night. Guys somewhere that appreciates the business a bit more because we are not impressed here.


I hate to write a bad review but hostels don't promise sporting matches you can't deliver!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lukasp123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
boliveir, Owner at Bigfoot Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2014

Hi Lukas
Thank you for your review and Im sorry you didn't have a good experience with us. However I think you are overreacting. The game was late at night due to the time zone and you and the other 10 Australian were very noise so regardless if you streamed or watched in our TV the problem wasn't where you watched but how noise you and your friends were. As far as I can see this is the only complain you have so I don't think you should have written this kind of review due to one problem, but if this is how you see it once again Im sorry about what happened.
Thank you and have a safe trip
Bigfoot Family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2014

I stayed at this place more times than I can counts. Its up beat, fun and always has something going on. The staff with the previous owner wasn't that good but the current owners have this place rocking. They have AC dorms for 8 bucks which is the only hostel I found in Leon with AC.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jeromek992
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
boliveir, Owner at Bigfoot Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2014

Hi Jerome
Thank you for this amazing title "My Second Home". It makes us feel very special and very proud of our job. We do our best to give everyone new guests and for sure even more to our regular customer the best experience and I couldn't be happier to see your comment "The staff with the previous owner wasn't that good but the current owners have this place rocking."
Thank you once again Jerome and have a safe trip
Bigfoot Family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2014

Jeremy was absolutely GREAT! Best tour guide I've ever had. He was friendly and told us a lot of great facts about the volcano. If you book a tour with Big Foot, make sure to go on one with him! He kept us motivated and made us laugh he also took great pics :) it was a fun trip because of him.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank StephanieZamb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
boliveir, Owner at Bigfoot Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2014

Hi Stephanie
Thank you for taking your time to write this great review. We are very pleased to hear that you had a great time Volcano Boarding with our amazing guide Jeremy.
Thank you once again and have a safe trip
Bigfoot Family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Leon hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Cacique Adiact
0.4 mi away
Poco a Poco Hostel
Poco a Poco Hostel
#1 of 69 in Leon
131 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hostal La Tortuga Booluda
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Lazybones Hostal
Lazybones Hostal
#8 of 69 in Leon
334 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hostel El Albergue
Hostel El Albergue
#9 of 69 in Leon
127 reviews
0 mi away
ViaVia Leon
ViaVia Leon
#7 of 39 in Leon
80 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bigfoot Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bigfoot Hostel

Address: Del Banco Procredit 1/2 Cuadra Sur, Leon 21000, Nicaragua
Region: Nicaragua > Leon Department > Leon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 69 Speciality Lodging in Leon
Price Range: £4 - £19 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
More than a hostel,a complete backpacking experience. Local and traveling volunteers. Staff are thoroughly trained and dedicated to making this your home away from home while visiting beautiful colonial leon! Guest kitchen is fully equipped. Billiard table,, variety of games and multiple routers for wi-fi access. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing