We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“To BIGFOOT con mucho gusto!”
Review of Bigfoot Hostel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Leon
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Bigfoot Hostel
Ranked #5 of 66 Speciality Lodging in Leon
Reviewed 12 June 2014

I didn't know what to expect when i arrived, and i am glad i made the trip! if you love to meet new people and have a great time, then this is the place to be! I was treated so well by the owners, Cleo and Cadi, not to mention the wonderful staff that livened the place from dusk til' dawn. Volcan boarding was the icing on top of the cake, and offered a new thrill compared to all of the other activities in Central America. I recommend everyone who visits Leon, Nicaragua to spend at least two days with Bigfoot. They also have a beach house!

My only problem (minor) is that the prices of alcohol and food there compared to the rest of the city are high.

Room Tip: Come early as the beds fill very quickly!!! Air conditioned dorms are good, but it get's cold. A...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
boliveir, Owner at Bigfoot Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2014

Hi David
Thank you for your great review. We are pleased to hear you had a great time with us. Thank you for mention how well the owner and the staff treated you. We are a family working together to provide every guest with the best experience. I love your comment "Volcan boarding was the icing on top of the cake, and offered a new thrill compared to all of the other activities in Central America". Its always good to hear how much fun people have doing Volcano Boarding. Im sorry if you though our prices are bit higher than the rest of the city but our dorm prices help you to save some so you can drink the difference. LOL.
Thank you once again for your review and have a safe trip
Bigfoot Family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (687)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

295 - 301 of 687 reviews

Reviewed 11 June 2014

Bigfoot is an amazing hostel for backpackers, it has its own energy is a quiet town like Leon. The staff is unreal, the rooms are clean, the parties are fun, volcano boarding is unforgettable. If you are in Nicaragua you MUST stop at Bigfoot Hostel. The only job of the staff is to make sure you are having a good time, and let me tell you, they are very successful

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Courtney C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
boliveir, Owner at Bigfoot Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2014

Hi Courtney
Thank you for your great review. We are happy to hear how much fun you had in Bigfoot. Sounds like you had the time of your life. I couldn't be happier to see a comment like this one "The only job of the staff is to make sure you are having a good time, and let me tell you, they are very successful"
Thank you once again Courtney and have a safe trip
Bigfoot Family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2014 via mobile

We arrived after 15 hours on the road to a huge Bigfoot party but this didn't deter the staff who welcomed us with big smiles, an overview of facilities, tours we can do and showed us to our room efficiently - the guy who showed us had to step away from a busy bar but he made us feel like his top priority - he was great!

Once we had freshened up we joined the party and we're encouraged to join in for photos etc- they really made us feel welcome.

Once in our room later on, we could only hear the party in the distance - it didn't keep us awake.

The pizzas at Bigfoot are amazing but there is also a basic kitchen which we also used. Supermarket just around the corner and another bar just opposite is also good - bit more authentic/less gringo-ish!

We loved Bigfoot for its atmosphere and ease of getting around/tours etc AND for the cute turtles and rabbit that wander around near the pool! (The pool is not for guests by the way.)
But it was slightly pricey for our little budget and didn't include towels/free coffee which are things that we have got at other places for the same price (sometimes less) so it's not what we would have usually paid but we arrived so late that we were happy with it. It's very much geared towards backpackers and we did extend our stay to three nights total as we enjoyed it!

Brilliant staff and brilliant atmosphere!

Thank you Bigfoot!

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FNathalieA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
boliveir, Owner at Bigfoot Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2014

Hi Nathalie
Thank you for taking your time to write this awesome review. Im very happy to hear that our staff took a really good care of you even though our bar was packed. Bigfoot is like a big family and our goal is to make sure everyone feels welcome and a member of our family. I know you mentioned about us being a bit pricey compared to other places but I think its a good value. We do offer a kitchen to help with your budget and another reason I don't think its too bad is because you extended your stay another 3 nights LOL. Just kidding.
Anyway we are very happy to hear about your experience with Bigfoot and how happy you sounds.
Thank you once again and have a safe trip
Bigfoot Family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2014 via mobile

If you like school camps with plenty of rules then stay here. Lights off at 11pm and told to go to bed. Wi Fi is terrible at best, can only get it in the bar area. The whole place is unbearably hot unless you are in the air conditioned dorm. Bar service is pretty poor. Wouldn't recommend staying here. Stay somewhere else and do the volcano boarding with them... It's the only positive.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
Thank 915asherh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bigfoot N, Owner at Bigfoot Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2014

Dear Asher
Thank you for your feedback. We are glad you enjoyed our volcano boarding tour. However, are sorry to hear that you didn't have a great experience with us.
So now regarding to your review which is similar to the preview one and I know you both were together at the pool causing problems so I will reply in the same way.
We do have 2 powerful fans at the reception, 2 at the restaurant and the common area is open to create breeze, and because Leon is a colonial city the ceilings are high making the place even fresher. So maybe the day you were in Leon, there was no wind at all and there is nothing we can do about that and as you said yourself the air-conditioned rooms are great to sleep.
Now about the bar, please note that you are not the only traveler in the hostel. You might like to get drunk and be loud all night but we have guests that like to have a rest and wake up early to explore the city or take one of our tours. They pay the same amount as you do and they were the ones complaining about you being loud. So therefore we kindly asked you guys to stop and either go to sleep or go elsewhere to have fun. The pool is located right in front of the dorms so any noise people make can bother other travelers. Our staff member complain about you and your friend being rude and loud so in those kind of situation we have to be restrict and tough about it.
Lastly, with respect to our staff. We have repeatedly received compliments as to their helpfulness and friendliness. We have just received the Tripadvisor Award 2014 for our service and quality. Perhaps, you had a negative experience with one staff member, but it hardly merits a generalization as to the entirety of our Bigfoot Family.
Thanks again for you review and we hope that the remainder of your travels are pleasant!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014 via mobile

We first arrived at this hostel and it was a complete sauna. No breeze and stinking hot place. We were playing a game of pool at 11:10pm. They turned the lights off mid game and said go to bed. Extremely rude staff. It's like a kindergarten not a hostel. They treat you like children here. The worst menu as well. They only serve pizza and pasta. No selection at all. No healthy selection. It takes 10 minutes to get a drink from the bar because the bar staff are to distracted. The volcano boarding was great. Air conditioning rooms are a great sleep. Bathrooms are fantastic. But overall I would never recommend this place because you can't have fun.

Stayed: May 2014
Thank darrenbrissy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bigfoot N, Owner at Bigfoot Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2014

Dear Darren
Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback on Bigfoot Hostel & Volcano Boarding. We are glad you enjoyed our AC rooms and our tour. However, we are so sorry to hear that it was not a pleasant experience for you.
So now in regards to your review I would like to start with the complete sauna statement. We do have 2 powerful fans at the reception, 2 at the restaurant and the common area is open to create breeze, and because Leon is a colonial city the ceilings are high making the place even fresher. So maybe the day you were in Leon, there was no wind at all and there is nothing we can do about that and as you said yourself the air-conditioned rooms are great to sleep.
Now about the bar, please note that you are not the only traveler in the hostel. You might like to get drunk and be loud all night but we have guests that like to have a rest and wake up early to explore the city or take one of our tours. They pay the same amount as you do and they were the ones complaining about you being loud. So therefore we kindly asked you guys to stop and either go to sleep or go elsewhere to have fun. The pool is located right in front of the dorms so any noise people make can bother other travelers. Our staff member complain about you and your friend being rude and loud so in those kind of situation we have to be restrict and tough about it.
Now about our menu. Our Volcano Cafe have a quiet large menu option compare to its size. We have a selection of burger, salads, pizza, pasta and other dishes however guests can make their choice and try other restaurants. Our Volcano Cafe is an extra service not a full menu restaurant.
Lastly, with respect to our staff. We have repeatedly received compliments as to their helpfulness and friendliness. We have just received the Tripadvisor Award 2014 for our service and quality. Perhaps, you had a negative experience with one staff member, but it hardly merits a generalization as to the entirety of our Bigfoot Family.
Thanks again for you review and we hope that the remainder of your travels are pleasant!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

If you want to have real fun and a real goodtime in your travel, you have to stop by the bigfoot hostel. Its THE place in León. The staff is awesome and you get to meet very nice people. There is always something to do and no time to be bored. We had a great time at the volcan boarding with an amazing host name Jay. Plus, the food is delicious!

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank laurenceouim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
boliveir, Owner at Bigfoot Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2014

Hi Laurence
Thank you for your great review. we are pleased t hear that you enjoyed your stay in Bigfoot and you liked our food. Thank you for mention our staff and in special Jay. Jay is a great guide that have a great knowledge and is always willing to give the best experience to our guests.
Thank you once again and have a great trip
Bigfoot Family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Overall pretty much the best hostel I ve been to in Nica. Good service and staff. Cleaned each day from bed to floor! They offer a great volcano boarding experience with Jay who makes the experience only grater. It s a can t miss. The only danger is never leaving..

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wilachance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
boliveir, Owner at Bigfoot Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2014

Hi Wilachance
Thank you for your awesome review. I couldn't be happier than see a comment like yours "Overall pretty much the best hostel I ve been to in Nica. Good service and staff. Cleaned each day from bed to floor!" This kind of comment is way makes us work harder to give people like you the best experience. Also thank you for mention our amazing guide Jay and for using our philosophy
"The only danger is never leaving"
Thank you once again and have a great trip
Bigfoot Family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Leon hotels
0.2 mi away
Azul Hotel & Restaurante
0.2 mi away
Hotel Cacique Adiact
0.4 mi away
Poco a Poco Hostel
Poco a Poco Hostel
#1 of 66 in Leon
123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hostal La Tortuga Booluda
0.3 mi away
Lazybones Hostal
Lazybones Hostal
#7 of 66 in Leon
331 reviews
0 mi away
ViaVia Leon
ViaVia Leon
#6 of 37 in Leon
78 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bigfoot Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bigfoot Hostel

Address: Del Banco Procredit 1/2 Cuadra Sur, Leon 21000, Nicaragua
Region: Nicaragua > Leon Department > Leon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 66 Speciality Lodging in Leon
Price Range: £4 - £19 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
More than a hostel,a complete backpacking experience. Local and traveling volunteers. Staff are thoroughly trained and dedicated to making this your home away from home while visiting beautiful colonial leon! Guest kitchen is fully equipped. Billiard table,, variety of games and multiple routers for wi-fi access. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing