We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Bigfoot Hostel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation but we can search other options in Leon
See available hotels
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (718)
Filter reviews
718 results
Traveller rating
339
198
84
45
52
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
339
198
84
45
52
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsvolcano boardingbeach housebeer ponggreat guidebig footdrinking gameshave a good timeour tour guidepool tableshuttle servicegreat atmospherecerro negroair conother travelerslas penitassmall poolcommon areas
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
293 - 298 of 718 reviews
Reviewed 10 August 2014

After being recommended this hostel from a few different travellers we could not get our heads around what all the fuss is about. The staff were very unfriendly and unwelcoming. There is nothing around in the town to do. I guess if all you are going for is the volcano boarding then you are fine

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank camillayates
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014 via mobile

Deadly backpackers hostel, with friendly and really helpful staff. I left my phone behind when I was traveling on to Granada and all it took was one phone call and the staff made sure my mobile was on its way to me the very next day! Absolute legends! Great craic, great food (especially the pizza), great people, what more could you want. Stay here or you'll regret it more than your first kiss

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Neil M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2014

I've waited for several months before posting this review because I want it to be very fair. We had a GREAT time staying at Bigfoot. The food, the staff, the accommodations all exceeded our expectations and we truly loved the hipster vibe. But the volcano boarding ended up being a horrific experience for us. I ended up with a compound ankle fracture and needed emergency surgery in nearby Leon. We waited on the side of Cerro Negro for 2 hours for an ambulance that never came. The Bigfoot staff did not have any emergency training nor did they have a stretcher or access to any basic first aid supplies. Our guide forgot his walkie-talkie so even basic communication between the staff was very difficult or impossible. Fortunately, a passing tourist (with a different group) was able to contact the Red Cross and arranged for my evacuation from the mountain several hours later. The risk of blood loss, infection, exposure and dehydration left me in a very dangerous situation. I do think that my accident was a fluke but Bigfoot staff was completely unprepared, untrained and unable to respond to this type of emergency. Hopefully, they've made some changes. If so, I welcome their response. PS - this story has a happy ending. I received excellent emergency medical care in Leon and was lucky enough to find a great surgeon in the US for reconstructive surgery. They were able to save my foot and I'm able to walk. I have zero animosity toward Bigfoot. But I hope they've made some necessary changes in their emergency response training and I look forward to their response.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank Lynda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2014 via mobile

I bloody loved this place. Fell in love with the town, the staff and the hostel. Cheap to stay, nice kitchen, very clean and VERY fun. I went back to Bigfoot three times, I couldn't stay away. The staff were awesome and the guests there were always fun. The volcano shot challenge was a special kind of hell but I didn't puke so it's also kind of a point of pride. Beware that the aircon rooms are Baltic and that you will be drunk nearly all the time. Ps the boarding is cool too.

Stayed: August 2014
Thank Sophie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2014

This is one of the best Hostels ive ever stayed in my life. The staff is really friendly the pizza and sandwiches which are offered are for nicaraguan prices a little expensive but still alright and reaaaaally delicious! We did the "Vulcano Shot Challenge" as well as the Volcano Boarding and both was really fun! The Vulcano Shot challenge is only for people with strong stomachs though! Be carefull!

We arrived on Monday and there was a free Hostel Beach Party with shuttles. It was really fun and as i said completetly free!

If you want to meet people, have fun and do perhaps some crazy stuff this Hostel is perfect!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Lasse1304
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews