We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent value”
Review of Hostal Casa Ivana

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hostal Casa Ivana
Ranked #5 of 60 Speciality Lodging in Leon
Certificate of Excellence
Victoria, BC
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Excellent value”
Reviewed 23 February 2013 via mobile

We stayed at Casa Ivana for a week. Our room was great: bright and spotlessly clean. The hotel is quiet and secure, with great chill-out areas - and the location couldn't be better. We are a mature couple, traveling on a budget, and we found it to be excellent value.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank spacevoyager100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

174 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    106
    44
    12
    8
    4
See reviews for
10
73
45
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2013

I had the chance to stay at Casa Ivana last weekend during a quick weekend getaway from Managua. The hostel was located right in the center of everything - a quick walk to the Cathedral, and close to the terminal to head to the beach. Pim, the owner, was super helpful in deciding where to explore and the easiest way to do it. They have a tour company attached to the hostel if you're interested in organized tours. Free water and coffee are bonuses!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Teryll H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
Reviewed 31 January 2013

Casa Ivana is a very clean and a nice place. The beds are good, you have your own bathroom and their is a shared(clean) kitchen. There is a garden where you can read your book quietly in the hammock or have breakfast (or free coffee). It is next to the centre of leon, so everything is in a walking distance.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marloes v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cesena, Italy
Level 6 Contributor
1,186 reviews
200 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3,070 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2013

pim and johanna, the new owner of this hostel are doing a great job restoring it from the past management. rooms are really clean, spacious, lighten and, slowly they r restoring each of them in a very colonial style.
the hostel is located really close to the main square of leon and the cathedral and the cool night life of the city although it keeps the athmosphere of an old colonial house with its charm and relaxing and peacefully air.
it has 9 rooms, some double beds, some familiar and a single bed one.
free wi fi in the whole area, good showers, clean sheets and towels, the chance to use the kitchen with all the facilities annex (fridge, pots for cooking and so on).
small and pretty garden with some hammocks, chairs and deckchair.
perfect price/quality balance and very recomended it.
born2travel.it

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mark B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2013

We had a hard time finding a hostel in Leon and ended up at Casa Ivana which turned out to be a great place to stay. We really enjoyed the clean room, the very well equipped kitchen as well as the nice patio - the perfect place to hang out after visiting the Cerro Negro (tours can be booked at the hostel). Also worth mentioning is the supercute and supercrazy cat :-)

Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Honigmelonenmond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2013

Last week me and my girlfriend arrived at hostal Casa Ivana. Planned to stay 2 nights, we ended up to stay 5 and left because we had to, timewise. Its obviously no fancy hotel, but what you get for a simple doubleroom with shower and fan that costs less than €15 makes it really a perfect deal: the Dutch/Nigaraguan owners speak Spanish, English, Dutch and a bit of German. Its a family business with granny cleaning the floor all day, sister looking after baby Janus and owner Pim running around, serious and hardworking. The hostal lies supercentrally, the best touroperator, Vapues is next door, there is wifi, big rooms which are spotless clean, there is a kitchen (we loved to buy our groceries in the big supermercado only 5 min away, to cook after all these weeks restaurants our own dish), there is a beautiful garden to read or chill. And the surroundings are also close by; around the corner the best bars, 45 minutes away the volcano boarding from the Cerro Negro, the hike to the El Hoyo volcano, (both you can book with Vapues bext door) the bus to the beach for surfing. So yes, definately an excellent stayover due to the price/quality.

Room Tip: Book your volcanoboarding not with the bigger companies, but for example wih Vapues, what we did, sm...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tomvanderleij
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand Cayman
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 November 2012

We were two friends who shared a three single-bed room, with no additional placement into our room. There was toilet paper as well as a bar of soap, shampoo, bath towels, sheets, and a covered pillow each of us. We were even more happy to see that there were two ceiling fixed fans that worked quite well and a warm enough shower after a day out on the volcanoes! The owner and his family was very nice and friendly. You could use the kitchen for whatever needs you had, but just buy your own food to bring in. There wasn't a cafeteria inside the hostel but a cafeteria is about two blocks up the road that locals also frequented as well as many other restaurants close by. Great location as it is connected to Vapues Tours in Leon so our tour guides had to use it as their base!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Laura M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Leon hotels
0.2 mi away
Best Western Las Mercedes Leon
0.4 mi away
Hotel Leo y Pinita
Hotel Leo y Pinita
#10 of 15 in Leon
24 reviews
0.3 mi away
La Perla Hotel
La Perla Hotel
#7 of 15 in Leon
284 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel El Convento
Hotel El Convento
#3 of 15 in Leon
344 reviews
0.0 mi away
La Posada del Doctor
La Posada del Doctor
#9 of 15 in Leon
68 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hostal La Tortuga Booluda
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal Casa Ivana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Casa Ivana

Property: Hostal Casa Ivana
Address: La renta, 75 mtr ariba. of Costado sur del Teatro Municipal, Leon, Nicaragua
Region: Nicaragua > Leon Department > Leon
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 60 Speciality Lodging in Leon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hostal Casa Ivana 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hostal Casa Ivana is a friendly and welcoming family-owned hostel located in the heart of Leon's historic district, just a short walk from several attractions. At Casa Ivana, we offer our guests a number of services and facilities, including volcano boarding tours for only $30 per person, private bathrooms in every room, a beautiful patio area, book exchange, kitchen. free wifi, tourism information, and 24-hour security. Please see ourwebsite for more information about volcano boarding, our facilities, or any other questions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hostal Casa Ivana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing