We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Long term -5 months- and had a good experience!”
Review of Hostal Casa Ivana

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hostal Casa Ivana
Ranked #4 of 71 Speciality Lodging in Leon
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 September 2013

I have stayed here for over 5 months, because I had my internship in León. The hotel is located just 2 blocks away from the central park, which makes it the perfect spot to stay. Although right in the center of León, Casa Ivana misses most of the chaos going on in the city. Lovely place if you look for a good quality, relaxed hotel. The family who owns it (a Dutch-Nica couple) is very friendly and always willing to help when this is needed. The offer free coffee and every rooms has its own bathroom with shower and toilet. I had a great stay here. I came here looking for a hotel which doesn't play loud music, and I found it. Thank you for the great experience Pim and Johanna! :)

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tlandheer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (186)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

128 - 134 of 186 reviews

Reviewed 23 February 2013 via mobile

We stayed at Casa Ivana for a week. Our room was great: bright and spotlessly clean. The hotel is quiet and secure, with great chill-out areas - and the location couldn't be better. We are a mature couple, traveling on a budget, and we found it to be excellent value.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank spacevoyager100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2013

I had the chance to stay at Casa Ivana last weekend during a quick weekend getaway from Managua. The hostel was located right in the center of everything - a quick walk to the Cathedral, and close to the terminal to head to the beach. Pim, the owner, was super helpful in deciding where to explore and the easiest way to do it. They have a tour company attached to the hostel if you're interested in organized tours. Free water and coffee are bonuses!

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Teryll H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2013

Casa Ivana is a very clean and a nice place. The beds are good, you have your own bathroom and their is a shared(clean) kitchen. There is a garden where you can read your book quietly in the hammock or have breakfast (or free coffee). It is next to the centre of leon, so everything is in a walking distance.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marloes v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2013

pim and johanna, the new owner of this hostel are doing a great job restoring it from the past management. rooms are really clean, spacious, lighten and, slowly they r restoring each of them in a very colonial style.
the hostel is located really close to the main square of leon and the cathedral and the cool night life of the city although it keeps the athmosphere of an old colonial house with its charm and relaxing and peacefully air.
it has 9 rooms, some double beds, some familiar and a single bed one.
free wi fi in the whole area, good showers, clean sheets and towels, the chance to use the kitchen with all the facilities annex (fridge, pots for cooking and so on).
small and pretty garden with some hammocks, chairs and deckchair.
perfect price/quality balance and very recomended it.
born2travel.it

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mark B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2013

We had a hard time finding a hostel in Leon and ended up at Casa Ivana which turned out to be a great place to stay. We really enjoyed the clean room, the very well equipped kitchen as well as the nice patio - the perfect place to hang out after visiting the Cerro Negro (tours can be booked at the hostel). Also worth mentioning is the supercute and supercrazy cat :-)

Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Honigmelonenmond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2013

Last week me and my girlfriend arrived at hostal Casa Ivana. Planned to stay 2 nights, we ended up to stay 5 and left because we had to, timewise. Its obviously no fancy hotel, but what you get for a simple doubleroom with shower and fan that costs less than €15 makes it really a perfect deal: the Dutch/Nigaraguan owners speak Spanish, English, Dutch and a bit of German. Its a family business with granny cleaning the floor all day, sister looking after baby Janus and owner Pim running around, serious and hardworking. The hostal lies supercentrally, the best touroperator, Vapues is next door, there is wifi, big rooms which are spotless clean, there is a kitchen (we loved to buy our groceries in the big supermercado only 5 min away, to cook after all these weeks restaurants our own dish), there is a beautiful garden to read or chill. And the surroundings are also close by; around the corner the best bars, 45 minutes away the volcano boarding from the Cerro Negro, the hike to the El Hoyo volcano, (both you can book with Vapues bext door) the bus to the beach for surfing. So yes, definately an excellent stayover due to the price/quality.

Room Tip: Book your volcanoboarding not with the bigger companies, but for example wih Vapues, what we did, sm...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tomvanderleij
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Leon hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Leo y Pinita
Hotel Leo y Pinita
#10 of 15 in Leon
27 reviews
0.2 mi away
Poco a Poco Hostel
Poco a Poco Hostel
#1 of 71 in Leon
141 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hostal La Tortuga Booluda
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hostel El Albergue
Hostel El Albergue
#8 of 71 in Leon
129 reviews
0.3 mi away
Lazybones Hostal
Lazybones Hostal
#7 of 71 in Leon
336 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hostal Guardabarranco
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal Casa Ivana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Casa Ivana

Address: La renta, 75 mtr ariba. of Costado sur del Teatro Municipal, Leon, Nicaragua
Region: Nicaragua > Leon Department > Leon
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 71 Speciality Lodging in Leon
Price Range: £13 - £16 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hostal Casa Ivana 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hostal Casa Ivana is a friendly and welcoming family-owned hostel located in the heart of Leon's historic district, just a short walk from several attractions. At Casa Ivana, we offer our guests a number of services and facilities, including volcano boarding tours for only $30 per person, private bathrooms in every room, a beautiful patio area, book exchange, kitchen. free wifi, tourism information, and 24-hour security. Please see ourwebsite for more information about volcano boarding, our facilities, or any other questions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Ebookers, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Hostal Casa Ivana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing