We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to meet like-minded individuals”
Review of Hostel Sonati Leon

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hostel Sonati Leon
Ranked #8 of 60 Speciality Lodging in Leon
Certificate of Excellence
Fairfax, Vermont
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great place to meet like-minded individuals”
Reviewed 29 September 2012

The great thing about staying in a place that focuses on social business instead of profit is that its clientele is also very socially-minded. I've stayed at Sonati several times now, and each time that I've stayed there, I've overheard some of the most intelligent conversations and stories of people doing awesome things with their time.

Beyond that aspect, Sonati offers a very nice hostel expierence. Keep in mind that it's a basic hostel. That's why it has $5 and $6 rooms. However, you get to sleep on real mattresses -- not the little foam pads that you get in the backpacker dungeons. The kitchen is decent and open to everyone to use. And they have a pretty decent communal room that inevitably turns into movie night around 8 or 9 o'clock.

I'd stay there based on the amenities and price alone. Throw in the fact that they employ several locals and the money goes back into the community, and it's hard to say no to Sonati.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alex T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

175 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    94
    39
    31
    8
    3
See reviews for
10
45
68
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bridport, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 July 2012

Sonati Hostel has been the best place I've stayed in so far in Central America. Accommodation was basic but comfortable - I opted for a single room which was in a building across the road from the main hostel, but it was clean with a bed with a really thick comfortable mattress, a fan and a private bathroom for $10 a night. It had no windows, which was a downside, but no mosquitos either which is always a bonus! Free wifi was available both in the main building and in my annexe. The best points about the hostel were the people. A range of really interesting backpackers and volunteers were passing through the hostel all with stories to tell. It was friendly, laid back and sociable and provided a safe place to hang out. There were some great cats wandering about too, all looking healthy and well cared for. The kitchen had excellent coffee on tap and was well-equipped for self catering. I didn't really fall in love with Leon itself and found it hard to find desirable eateries, but with supermarkets and markets all close by it would have been great for self-catering. One backpacker was in making banana bread one afternoon, which is particularly impressive! I organised a two day tour to Telica volcano through Sonati, run by their volunteers. They didn't laugh in my face (I'm unfit and overweight!) but prepared me well for the tour, told me what to take, leant me additional equipment and then really looked after me when I was struggling during the tour. The volunteer tour guide knew her stuff and was able to share knowledge about the flora and fauna of the area as well as providing us with lots of decent meals. The fact that the organisation is not-for-profit and that my money will be going to environmental education endears me to Sonati even more. Definitely should be on the agenda if you're staying in Leon, a great place.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank okapi_jo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2012

I am sure that the hotel is going to respond to this but I have to share my opinion. I felt like it was overpriced for what it was. I think it is great that they are a nonprofit, helping out Nicaraguan kids. That is a plus for staying here. BUT because everyone is using the kitchen it is not very clean (there were ants everywhere). And the 24 hour coffee, is just coffee that has been sitting in a percolator for 24 hours. Also, my private room with a bath was not very clean. There were lots of hairs attached to a soap bar left in the bathroom, and while I was brushing my teeth a cockroach RAN UP MY LEG. That was seriously gross.
On the plus side, the location was pretty good, and safe. The staff was always available to ask questions (although they did not know that the Ruben Dario Museum was closed on Monday).
Overall, I would say find another place. Or don't come to Leon at all, and just do Granada instead...

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BradyBraun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2012

Sonati Hostel is a great place to stay with great staff, tv room with lots of DVDs, garden in the centre of the house, kitchen, dorms with ensuites and perfect for back packers. There are lockers too

the garden attracts humming birds and has hammocks

the wifi is fast and the location is 10 minutes from the centre and near cinema, supermarket and markets in Leon.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelButtefly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2012

We stayed here over the weekend to go volcano boarding. The hostel was really nice, very clean and not too hot at night thanks to all of the fans. Even though it wasn't a hostel to easily meet other travelers, the staff was really nice!

The hostel was just a few minute walk away from an ATM machine and the hostel Bigfoot. Since Sonati didn't have any tour guides for the day we were there, we ended up joining a group from Bigfoot.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank D C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rotterdam
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2012

great room, great atmosphere, great people,
do remember it is a backpackers, so it is not always quiet at night

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rolando V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2012

Very friendly and affordable hostel close to everything you need. We stayed in a small double with shared bathroom at a good price. They have wifi and a kitchen, and a small sheltered garden with hammocks and rocking chairs. Laundry is good value, quick and clothes were very clean and fresh.

We decided to stay an extra two weeks in Leon and moved to a new hostel with a larger room, Mozzies which is just fabulous. Leon is a very warm city and the higher ceilings in the room help the air circulate better.

I would be happy to return to Sonati for a 2/3 night stay again.

Room Tip: There's just no escaping noise from the kitchen if you take a double room. People get up early t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thomas M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Leon hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Leo y Pinita
Hotel Leo y Pinita
#10 of 15 in Leon
24 reviews
0.2 mi away
Best Western Las Mercedes Leon
0.0 mi away
La Posada del Doctor
La Posada del Doctor
#9 of 15 in Leon
68 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel El Convento
Hotel El Convento
#2 of 15 in Leon
344 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Cacique Adiact
0.1 mi away
La Perla Hotel
La Perla Hotel
#7 of 15 in Leon
284 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostel Sonati Leon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostel Sonati Leon

Property: Hostel Sonati Leon
Address: From NE Corner of Cathedral, 3 Blocks Northward and 1/2 Block Westward, Leon 505, Nicaragua
Region: Nicaragua > Leon Department > Leon
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 60 Speciality Lodging in Leon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
SONATI is an environmental education organization working to increase knowledge, love and care toward the environment. All profits from our hostel and tours finance our environmental activities. SONATI Mission: The mission of SONATI is to encourage environmental stewardship and preservation, and to promote responsible environmental projects through education programs, community outreach and self-sustaining resources. SONATI Vision:* To increase knowledge, love and care toward the environment.* To empower community members with the tools and knowledge to take action in their communities and become a voice for environmental change.* To become a resource for leadership development for environmental change.* To create programs in different sites, with sites cooperating with one another in an international arena. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hostel Sonati Leon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostel Sonati Hotel Leon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing